We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food not to be missed”
Review of Foo King Wok

Foo King Wok
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food not to be missed”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This place is next to parrots dive shop and tranquila and the smell radiates out like an invitation.
I visited on one of the days they were not open normally and so it was specially for an event we had.
I was the only vegetarian and they made me a special stirfry that could have happily have served 2 people, as well as 2 types of rice.
Absolutely amazing! The staff are genuine and friendly, it was a pleasure to eat here and I would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Xravia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    29
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Favourite place for dinner on Utila!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This place has amazing large portions of food, and the ginger cordial is so yummy. The Thai food leaves a lot to be desired, but stick with the Chinese dishes and the appetizers and you can't go wrong!
Also, ask the chef about the chocolate balls ;)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miranda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Asian food if you can catch them when their open”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived early to reserve a table before they even opened. Food was delicious and a great addition to the food options on Utila.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese and Thai food on the Planet”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It is such a small and inconspicuous place located next to Parrots Dive Center and in front of Tranquila Bar. It is open only Monday, Wednesday and Friday evenings for just a few hours but it is a must for anyone visiting Utila. I love this type of food and I have experienced it in many countries but I have to say that the quality of this food that Scotty produces is head and shoulders above any of its kind I have experienced anywhere. I am partial to his Szechuan Chicken but Scotty you really outdid yourself last night with the Szechuan Beef.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Rethinking Foo King”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have to say I never thought I'd eat here based on two failed attempts and a rude encounter with the chef but I guess everyone is entitled to an off day. Food is expensive BUT really large servings would feed two so maybe not as much as originally thought.
The chef actually was very personable.
The food was yummy and bountiful.
A must for Chinese food lovers on an island where mediocrity is a standard for dining.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foo King Wok also viewed

Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to Foo King Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing