We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“set your expectations before you go”
Review of Hotel Kayla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kayla
Ranked #6 of 15 Utila B&B and Inns
Seven Mile Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“set your expectations before you go”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 4 days in Hotel Kayla and that was enough for us. We expected a basic place for the price but the room itself was less then basic. The common area was serviceable with dated look and old furniture. If you think cheap hostel with individual rooms you will not be far off the mark for setting your expectations.
The room, there was not even a chest of drawers or table in the room. It had a double and a single bed and both had very thin sheets. There was a small en suite bathroom. The hot water worked sometimes and if you tried to adjust it you got zapped. The location in the cays is unique and maybe that is what you are paying for but the cays themselves are not a place you want to hang around on because of the scenery or nightlife or culture.The people managing the place were nice enough and the dive shop guy actually seemed to run the show.and the others handled housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was there recently and had an amazing time. The view was gorgeous, the diving was world class and the people were very friendly and welcoming. I have already made plans to go back and will take my friends with me. 100% recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala Department, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just returned from my trip, I had an accident on the boat because of the boatmans irresponsibility: the boat flipped and we fell into the sea, the guide left us alone, and the only thing the boatman told us was to swim to shore, which we couldn't see because it was 9pm, and when we swam in the ocean, late at night, and got to an island, the villagers helped us get to the hotel. The hotel don't want to be held responsible for anything that, they didn't help us with anything, and they even avoided talking to us, they didn't help us recover any legal document or passport, we had no money, no food, and had to ask the locals for clothes and things to eat, the locals were the only ones that helped us, and on top of that, we were even told that because the hotel was full (we already had reservations) they made us sleep in filthy, shared cabins with more people, THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Badexperienceinkayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I didn't know what to expect when I booked a room at Hotel Kayla. But when we showed up, we were pleasantly surprised. The guests of the hotel were lounging on the large outdoor patio, and welcomed us as we arrived. There is a large common area inside that was only used for a short while during a rainstorm on our stay. The room was comfortable with two beds (a double and a twin) a fan, open windows (with blinds), and a private bathroom (with a door, long story, but the door is a good thing). A common kitchen area sits beside the hotel. If you don't bring food or don't want to cook, there are restaurants in town that serve tasty food, no matter what you get. I had barricuda for the first time on Jewel Cay, and it was tasty!!!! For divers, the dock is just down the stairs, with the boat waiting each morning to take you on dives. For snorkelers, you can get plenty just off of the same dock, right in the front yard. THE SERVICE AT HOTEL KAYLA IS NOTHING SHORT OF THE BEST I'VE EVER GOTTEN. If you are unhappy with something, one of the awesome staff will do what ever they can and go out of their way to make you happy. Just a jaunt from Utila and Water Cay, I stayed for days longer than I planned because I loved it so much. Now I'm home, with 12 months of waiting to get back there!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place is managed by the operators of Utila Cays Diving (see other review), and is perfect for those diving with them. You literally roll out of bed and walk 30 seconds to the boat (grab some coffee from the pot first, and maybe a bite of locally made cinnamon roll that can be found on the communal table sometimes). The common area is great for lounging and getting to know other divers or others staying at the hotel, and the management (Bogdan and Catherine) make sure you feel at home. Upon arrival, Bogdan gave us a tour of the Cays to point out where to eat, drink, and buy groceries, etc. The cays are quiet and the people are lovely; this is the perfect place for relaxing and taking things slow for a while. The only qualm we had with the hotel was the bed and the shower. We never really had hot water (I think it was just our room), and we took a while to get acquainted with the type of shower they use. As for the bed, we could feel the springs all over, which was at times unpleasant (again, this could have been just our bed); we slept alright given how tired we were from diving and sunbathing.

Room Tip: Get a room with an air conditioner if you have trouble sleeping in humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SousLeCiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
5.2 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
5.1 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
2.6 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kayla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kayla

Property: Hotel Kayla
Address: Jewel Cay | Utila Cays, Utila 34201, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A locally owned small hotel in the heart of Jewel Cay, a small "old-time" fishing village about 6 miles away from Utila Town. Come see for yourself the way the Caribbean used to be, no cars, no traffic, a few small stores, bars and restaurants close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing