We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay - Staff is like family”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deep Blue Resort Utila
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This little gem was such a nice place to spend a diving holiday. The staff were extremely hospitable and there were fresh meals prepared daily. You had your choice between fish, vegetarian, and typically another meat. The non alcoholic drinks are in a fridge in the dining area and are purchased on the 'honor system.' You put a tally mark down every time you get a coke.

It's a very interesting crowd too -- you can meet divers from all over. There were a few Australians while we were there. They joined us on many of our dives too.

The dive instructors were also great. They were always there to lend me a hand when needed. I remember once my boyfriend was having trouble equalizing and by the time we reached a good depth, we couldn't see the group. Ended up, of course, getting caught in a bit of a drift which took us further away from the boat than we would have liked. When we emerged, we saw how far away we were (probably a good quarter mile) and started swimming toward the boat. The boat captain spotted us and drove over to pick us up. He even threw out a life preserver because he could see that I was tired from swimming through all of the choppy waves.

In all, a great stay. Did I mention that our Instructor took us on an extra trip to find a whale shark? He patiently tracked it with all of us for at least 45 minutes. This was "extra" dive time at no charge.

We saw the whale shark finally and her baby. GREAT trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Deep Blue Resort Utila
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

It was a sort of family outing with my son, his wife and her sister and hubby just to see whale sharks. however, we didnt see any, but the resort was wonderful, food fantastic and the dive guides and boat captain were friendly and patient with all guests. they looked over us like "mother hens" - for which we were thankful. Looks like we will hv to make another trip as this past week they saw 7 of those creatures.

Utila, here we come again...

Room Tip: all rooms were comfortable and adequate
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpledoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We traveled to Utila in Feb 2012 with a total of 11 in our group. The resort hosts a max of 20 and only one other couple was there, making it a very personalized trip for us.
The trip in was interesting, with standard commercial air to San Pedro Sula, then a local airline to Utila.
Utila's airport is an asphalt strip, adequate for Caribbean travel and better than some island runways. There are no services at the airport and transport was in the back of a pickup to Deep Blue Divers and then a boat to the Resort.
The grounds are beautiful, native flora and fauna, well kept up and welcoming. Hermit crabs and land crabs scoot around all night, fruit bats take over the humming bird feeders at night and iguanas ply the seawall with the crabs in the sunlight. Spectacular views from all rooms toward the mainland will greet you from your private balcony.
Diving was 3 boat dives per day with unlimited shore dives, if you are up to more than 3 dives at excellent sites. Our boat was captained by Swinford Jackson (Swin) who displayed the skill of a man who was born and worked the waves all his life. Dive masters Bel and Ricky were attentive and professional, as well as downright fun.
The island is small, with little to do but dive at the resort. limited internet connectivity,limited cell phone access, no TV and the secluded location of the resort make it an escape from civilization.
The meals were always adequate and usually very good. Nothing fancy, but nourishing and energy rich for multiple dives per day.
Hosts Steve, Susan and Shirley were eager to please and able to get pretty much whatever we wanted within a day from the nearby town.
Available shuttle by boat to Utila Town and it shops and bars was as easy as asking to be taken over. There are several local bars and restaurants to enjoy, but again, nothing fancy. Just good old fashioned Caribbean laid back fun. the native language is English which is a bonus for many, although Spanish is common as well.
Rooms at Deep Blue are clean, neat and again, nothing fancy.
All in all, I have to say this was a fantastic trip, fun people, great diving and at unique and wonderful accommodations.
I would recommend this for a great dive vacation with friends.
I do not give it a 5 rating because it is not a spit and polish "Resort" al a Cancun or the US. It is a fantastic, secluded, dive resort with proprietors who understand the needs of divers and have put together a great place for a dive adventure.
Would I go back? you betcha!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdoccny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Deepblue with friends of our for ten days the end of March and had a fantastic time. We met some wonderful people and made some new friends (divers and staff). Tex and Belle were awesome dive leaders and Captain Swinn a great local boat Captain. The resort was away from the main town, a short water taxi ride away, which was perfect The accomadations were excellent with a beachfront view of the ocean and distant mountains of La Ceiba. The food was also very good and plentiful with Susan and her girls in the kitchen doing a marvelous job keeping our palettes full. We never had a bad meal and always walked out very happy. The diving was great, with plenty of creatures I had never seen before. Hoping to see Whale Sharks which we didn't, but had about 24 spinner dolphins give us a bit of a show early in the week. The house reef was also very nice and made for an easy third dive of the day. Thanks to everyone at DeepBlue Resort for making our vacation our home away from from home for 10 days. We hope to return soon.

Carol and Nestor Kopko, Canada

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing stairs, ask for a room on the lowest level. The rooms are still elevat...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eezydivr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This resort is absolutely serene. I recently got back and the experience was amazing. I work at a dive shop, and this was nothing short of great. The staff was very accomodating and really nice. The food and meals were good, specially those roasted potatoes! Most of the home dive sites were a little boring for us, but then again we dive and work on these waters all the time. We were taken to several dive sites to the north and northwest of the island, trully breathtaking walls. With the top being between 15'-20' and the bottom reaching over 150'-200' these were trully amazing. The boat staff was very nice as well and you could see their determination in getting us to see a whale shark. On the last day, luck was on our side and we got to swim with a 30' whaleshark for over 45 minutes!!! Trully an unforgettable experience. Thank you to all the staff in the hotel and the boat. If I could I would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and chosen for you.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was a great place for diving. The dive masters were thoroughly knowledgeable about the reef and the marine life. The diving was definitely the highlight. The rooms were adequate, with hot water. The screens had holes in them, though, so the only way to keep the bugs out was to keep the windows shut, which blocked out the cooling breeze and the sound of the waves. The view was spectacular, but again, because of the bugs (sandflies, bigger flies and mosquitos with Dengue!), it wasn't easy to relax in the hammock on the porch and enjoy it (or the breezes). They provided 3 meals a day. The food was plentiful, but not too exciting or exceptionally healthful. There were no snacks available before dinner (and no store to walk to for snacks) and the bar was pretty pricey. The porch in front of the dining/lounge area had nice chairs - but again, the bug problem. The dining area, while screened, was also kept closed to keep the bugs (and the breezes) out.
Next time I would stay at a locale closer to town, with its variety of restaurants, people and bars. The whale sharks no-showed, but they are on their own schedule.

Room Tip: pick a room on the top floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiralb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The resort is a boat ride away from town. Not accessible by vehicle. The only noise is the rolling waves crashing on the shore. (And the AC if you have to have it.)
The diving around Utila is very good. Not as many fish as some places but the terrain and the condition of the coral is outstanding. The crew that Deep Blue has to help you dive is fantastic. They have your gear ready every morning. They set it up for each dive. Help you in and out of the water and clean your gear each afternoon. We are quite capable of doing all that ourselves and ususally do but these folks almost insist, with the words 'It is your vaction let us do it."
The dive masters read our group quite well and let us have a little rope to dive for ourselves. For novice divers this may be a problem but I do think the dive masters would be more attentive if the situation requires such. Both of the leaders on our boat, Bell and Ricky, are capable, knowledgable, and love what they do, which makes for a great underwater adventure.
The resort staff are almost invisable. Each day the sand paths are raked, the beach manicured, the rooms made up and the people doing the work are hardly ever seen but it sure makes for a good impression.
Susan, is in charge of the meals. Each morning a full breakfast is laid out to help prepare for a days diving. Lunch is a hot meal and ready for when we return from the morning's dives. Dinner is a three course affair, with four choices for the entree. Susan will have special meals prepared if you have any dietary concerns and in fact she seems to revel in the challange to find a way around the no gluten, no dairy and no eggs stipulation. The food is excellent. I have not had even one so-so meal. The biggest problem is to rein in the amount consumed.
Steve has a lot of diving experience and is quite knowledgable. Given a cryptic description of some animal seen during the day's diving, he is able to come up with a name for it. Later I look up the animal in the fish book under the name Steve gave me and damned it he isn't correct.
Steve, Susan, Shirley, and Swin, Bell, Ricky, Eddie and the rest of the staff are all exceptional. They are all there for the guest and want to make your vacation a time to remember.
If we return to Utila we dive with Deep Blue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the west building.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.0 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.0 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Blue Resort Utila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Blue Resort Utila

Address: Utila, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PADI Resort and an all inclusive scuba diving vacation venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deep Blue Resort Utila Hotel Utila
Deep Blue Hotel Utila
Deep Blue Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing