We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool !”
Review of Mango Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Inn Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Utila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Mango Inn is the hostel/hotel connected to the UDC (Utila Dive Center). And it is located a 10-15 minutes walk away from the diveshop.
Mango Inn is a really sweet spot, looks a little like a resort. They got a big swimming pool and a good restaurant. The private rooms are really big and with AC, but the dorms are terrible ! They are really small and fans are only pointing at the lower bunk beds. So pick a lower bunk bed or sweat to death ;)
Overall a good place.

Room Tip: If you are going to sleep in a dorm, pick a lower bed where the fan can reach you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinTrolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Mango Inn for the first 2 days of our trip. We had received one week free for purchasing the Divemaster program in advance, so we were excited to have one week to look for an apartment while we stayed at the Mango. The first day waking up, we had bites all over our bodies. Thinking that they were mosquito bites, we went along our business at the dive shop.

Day 2.... our bodies were filled with bites when we woke up, with the traditional line that can been seen from bedbugs. After researching bedbugs, we determined that these were bedbug bites. We immediately went to the room to investigate to find little blood patches all over the bed and 2 live bedbugs on the mattresses. Disgusting.

We decided to move out immediately. The Mango offered to switch rooms for us, but we wanted nothing to do with the hotel. We asked the hotel if they could simply wash all of our cloths, since the room had been infested. They agreed.... After 2 days, we went back to the hotel to gather our clothes..... but they had not been washed, yet even touched yet. Mind this.... we were still wearing the only shirt and pants that we had salvaged from the clothes. They told us to come back the next day...

Day 3... we returned to the hotel. They brought us to the laundry room and told us that our clothes had been washed. I began to investigate and could tell the clothes had not been washed, as it still was in the original folds that I had brought them in. When I told this to the lady, she said, "well the laundry ladies said they did not see any bed bugs in the clothes so they are not going to wash it".

We ended up taking the clothes and spending $50 to have all the clothes washed at the local laundry in hot water.

Terrible experience..... and they way the situation was handled was the worst part. I would have not written a bad review if they had handled the situation in a more professional manner. I was very discouraged by these events.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elis_isle, Public Relations Manager at Mango Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hello mdldiver,
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences during your stay. We take your opinion seriously and try to improve our service constantly so that guests are treated with the utmost customer service and personal attention.

We would appreciate if you could please send us your email to reservations@mango-inn.com to follow up on the situation and the people involved on how the problem was handled and would like to compensate you on a future visit.

The hotel constantly does maintenance and fumigates to prevent this sort of situation, but sometimes they are brought in by other travelers on their luggage or clothes and are detected after they leave (a problem that affects many hostels).

Thank you once again for the time to raise your comments for us to address our mistakes, and as part of our Divemaster family you are always welcome to dive with us at no extra charge at anytime with Utila Dive Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Anafrey was an appetizer that tasted like refried beans with melted cheese in it served kind of like a fondue with corn chips. It was a good way to start off our meal. Pizza was good and the portions were huge...we had left overs for the next day. There was a selection of hot sauces for your pizza. It's a bit hard to find up the hill from the main drag but worth the walk. It was one of my favourite meals during our stay. We did not get a room there only dined at the restaurant but the pool looked nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank multitravelorrkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I love the pizza, I love the place. The best place to eat something delicious, beautiful place to visit with friends, the pool is nice, mango is a good place to meet people they have spiders in the place and this make it incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReginaPappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The swimming pool makes this place run of with the gold medal! It's possible to find private rooms elsewhere down to 5USD (Monkey Tail Hotel across the street) but that pool definitely made it worth spending the 10USD on a dorm bed. There's a nice vibe at the Mango and it's a good place to meet people. Beds/rooms are cheaper if you're diving with UDC and free if you're doing a course with UDC.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We traveled to Utila in the group of 14 people.On this island you see a lot of young people who come here for diving. This hotel is most likely a perfect stay for the youth but if you are 40-50 years or older I do not think this hotel provides in the regular rooms a standard that you expect.Rooms are small, old looking, need a major update. There are two apartments in this hotel which I think are OK.If you are ready for some minor discomforts it is OK to spend there 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom5671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Outstanding dive trip to Utila last week. Mango Inn was very cozy with nice accommodations. Resort management was very friendly and responsive. Our A/C stopped working on the weekend and Sammy made the repair very quickly. He is a great asset to Mango... If owners are smart they will realize the value of their employee's and show them much appreciation.. The only negative of our stay was witnessing one of the owners having a not so kind conversation with Sammy.. Not very professional.. Hector was fantastic as well. He picked us up at the airport and dropped us off on our last day. Hector and Sammy hauled us to and from the Utila Dive Centre every day. The food at Mango was FANTASTIC... Kathy provided excellent service at the restaurant. Now the diving.. It was disappointing to say the least. We did 8 dives and other than swimming with some dolphins on one dive, the only thing we really saw was a spotted eagle ray. We went out for 3 hours with Utila Dive in search of whale sharks one afternoon. We saw three boils but no sign of the whale sharks surfacing so we did not get off the boat. We also went out for 4 hours the very next morning with Deep Blue and didn't spot any boils at all. Others were fortunate to spot and swim with a whale shark so they were out there but we were not lucky enough to spot one. Next trip..... :-)

The dive shop was great. Hannah is the best!!! Suzanne and Brian were great as well. The captains on each boat were also very nice, helpful and fun. Be sure to each at the Buccaneer, Munchies and Big mamma's!! All terrific food.

Be sure to say hi to Lola in the front office.. She is a beautiful black lab that loves to swim in the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divebuddy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.4 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.3 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#2 of 8 in Utila
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#4 of 8 in Utila
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
80 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Inn Resort

Address: Lozano Road, Utila 34201, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Price Range: £64 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mango Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a calm residential area of town, the Mango Inn is within walking distance of all amenities and beaches and just a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. Nestled in a beautiful tropical garden, all rooms and cabins have the comfort you expect to make your stay as enjoyable and perfect as possible. We offer 5 types of rooms designed for the budget of every visitor: Shared dorm rooms (for divers at Utila Dive Centre), Standard private rooms, Deluxe private rooms, Standard cabins, Deluxe cabins and the Mango Cottage. Our restaurant and bar, the Mango Inn Bar & Grill, is situated in the same tropical gardens as the Hotel itself, creating the most pleasant and peaceful surroundings and offer our famous brick oven pizzas, freshly made on the premises. We also offer free wi-fi and guest computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mango Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing