We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
Review of Mango Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Inn Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Utila B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed on the Mango Inn while doing the Open Water Course on Utila Diving Center. We were five friends on different bookings, but the staff said they could move us all in to the cottage for no extra charge. This was great as the dorms seemed pretty small, but the cottage was large and with its own bathroom, two bedrooms.
Although the Wi-Fi could have been better, we have no complaints about the hotel and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Utila.

Room Tip: If your a group, try to get a cottage instead of sleeping in the dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Oddvar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    52
    27
    17
    6
See reviews for
7
54
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

dont go to this hostel.

I was traveling for two months and this was the unclean one!
the doorms is old the bad uncomfortable, the fan with full of dust.
there is share toilet and showers but they are not clean!!! I think in the whole three days they cleaned it once..
the pool at first look good but all over you could find old cigarettes.
for ending very unclean hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom123332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here as part of the package with UDC. Perfect spot that is walking distance to all Utila has to offer while quiet and of the beaten path as well. The staff is lovely and knew me by name the entire time while I traveled alone. The pool is lovely to chill at and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. There doesn't seem to be a better place to stay on the island....ENJOY!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poolesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I don't kow where these other people are staying but this place is a dump. The room was dirty and the bathroom was disgusting. The bed sheets where so worn they would not stay on the bed. The stairs leading to our second floor room where so ver grown with vegitation we had to ask the to cut it back, which they did, but that was the only place they trimmed the bushes. Never saw the advertised menu just the "bar" menu. One good point about the restaurant is the pizza.....very good. Don't expect to pay your bar/restaurant tab with a credit card. The restaurant is seperate from the hotel and does not accept them. Would have been nice if they told us that up front. In short would I stay here again...NO

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawdawg653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Mango Inn is the hostel/hotel connected to the UDC (Utila Dive Center). And it is located a 10-15 minutes walk away from the diveshop.
Mango Inn is a really sweet spot, looks a little like a resort. They got a big swimming pool and a good restaurant. The private rooms are really big and with AC, but the dorms are terrible ! They are really small and fans are only pointing at the lower bunk beds. So pick a lower bunk bed or sweat to death ;)
Overall a good place.

Room Tip: If you are going to sleep in a dorm, pick a lower bed where the fan can reach you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinTrolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Mango Inn for the first 2 days of our trip. We had received one week free for purchasing the Divemaster program in advance, so we were excited to have one week to look for an apartment while we stayed at the Mango. The first day waking up, we had bites all over our bodies. Thinking that they were mosquito bites, we went along our business at the dive shop.

Day 2.... our bodies were filled with bites when we woke up, with the traditional line that can been seen from bedbugs. After researching bedbugs, we determined that these were bedbug bites. We immediately went to the room to investigate to find little blood patches all over the bed and 2 live bedbugs on the mattresses. Disgusting.

We decided to move out immediately. The Mango offered to switch rooms for us, but we wanted nothing to do with the hotel. We asked the hotel if they could simply wash all of our cloths, since the room had been infested. They agreed.... After 2 days, we went back to the hotel to gather our clothes..... but they had not been washed, yet even touched yet. Mind this.... we were still wearing the only shirt and pants that we had salvaged from the clothes. They told us to come back the next day...

Day 3... we returned to the hotel. They brought us to the laundry room and told us that our clothes had been washed. I began to investigate and could tell the clothes had not been washed, as it still was in the original folds that I had brought them in. When I told this to the lady, she said, "well the laundry ladies said they did not see any bed bugs in the clothes so they are not going to wash it".

We ended up taking the clothes and spending $50 to have all the clothes washed at the local laundry in hot water.

Terrible experience..... and they way the situation was handled was the worst part. I would have not written a bad review if they had handled the situation in a more professional manner. I was very discouraged by these events.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elis_isle, Public Relations Manager at Mango Inn Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hello mdldiver,
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences during your stay. We take your opinion seriously and try to improve our service constantly so that guests are treated with the utmost customer service and personal attention.

We would appreciate if you could please send us your email to reservations@mango-inn.com to follow up on the situation and the people involved on how the problem was handled and would like to compensate you on a future visit.

The hotel constantly does maintenance and fumigates to prevent this sort of situation, but sometimes they are brought in by other travelers on their luggage or clothes and are detected after they leave (a problem that affects many hostels).

Thank you once again for the time to raise your comments for us to address our mistakes, and as part of our Divemaster family you are always welcome to dive with us at no extra charge at anytime with Utila Dive Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Anafrey was an appetizer that tasted like refried beans with melted cheese in it served kind of like a fondue with corn chips. It was a good way to start off our meal. Pizza was good and the portions were huge...we had left overs for the next day. There was a selection of hot sauces for your pizza. It's a bit hard to find up the hill from the main drag but worth the walk. It was one of my favourite meals during our stay. We did not get a room there only dined at the restaurant but the pool looked nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multitravelorrkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.4 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.6 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Inn Resort

Property: Mango Inn Resort
Address: Lozano Road, Utila 34201, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mango Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a calm residential area of town, the Mango Inn is within walking distance of all amenities and beaches and just a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. Nestled in a beautiful tropical garden, all rooms and cabins have the comfort you expect to make your stay as enjoyable and perfect as possible. We offer 5 types of rooms designed for the budget of every visitor: Shared dorm rooms (for divers at Utila Dive Centre), Standard private rooms, Deluxe private rooms, Standard cabins, Deluxe cabins and the Mango Cottage. Our restaurant and bar, the Mango Inn Bar & Grill, is situated in the same tropical gardens as the Hotel itself, creating the most pleasant and peaceful surroundings and offer our famous brick oven pizzas, freshly made on the premises. We also offer free wi-fi and guest computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing