We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Utila Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Utila Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Camrose
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Gayle and I spent the 1st 2 weeks of February diving with the Utila Lodge, I had been down in November and enjoyed it so much that I re booked with Gayle as soon as I got home.
The February trip was everything we expected and more, the staff were great made us feel like old friends. Gayle is gluten intolerant and shortly after we arrived Shannette came to talk to her about the menu for our stay, they had gotten several special things and managed to keep them close enough to the rest of the food so Gayle never looked out of place at meal times. She never had a single reaction in the 2 weeks. Kisty, Alice and Rebecca as well as the rest of the staff always had a pleasant comment and enquired how things were going. Our Dive Masters were Willie and Joe, they were excellent and we saw lots of tiny sea life exactly the type of diving we like to do, as well as octopus, squid, turtles, seahorses, pipe fish and all kinds of fish. I did 77 dives in the 2 trips and enjoyed every one of them. Captains Seth and Albert were great as well, we got to swim with dolphins and explored several fish boils but the whale sharks eluded us again. Thank you everyone at the Lodge we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor both times rooms E & F and found them clean and comfortable. Enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1wandererCamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    22
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
43
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comayagua, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

When I saw the review entitled, "This place rocks" I almost didn't write a review because I share the same thoughts. I visited the island for US holiday Jan 19, 2013 without singing up for a hotel dive package. This gave me the leverage to visit multiple dive shops and designed my own package.
Utila Lodge is by far the best well put together organization on the island. With spacious dive boats, up to date dive gear, experienced Instructors/Dive masters. With the hotel, dive shop and restaurant all in one location I wish that I had stopped her first. The Dive shops guys and girls all very friendly and helpful. We stopped in and ask for a wreck dive, immediately the lady at the desk spoke with someone (I wish I could remember her name) and they combined there open water deep dive with a wreck dive to accommodate us. I love you guys and will visit and recommend you to everyone…. Mitch and Dave

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

awesome staff
fun place to Be

Queen Anne is the Best Barkeep in town
the Staff is good and the docks are right there....infact the room is over the water w amazing view

Great food
Im actually returning and wish I had reserved before because now they are booked
Highly reccomended good clean quality w/out uppity feel and yet nice enough to not have shoestring travelers all over :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We just returned from a 2 week diving holiday in Utila, Honduras! We stayed at the Utilia Lodge and our stay exceeded my expectations! I am gluten/lactose intolerant and the staff catered to my dietary needs by providing a special menu for me which was varying and delicious! I did not have even one negative reaction during my 2 week stay which is amazing in itself. Our room was clean and spacious and had a screened sun room which we enjoyed especially in the morning when coffee was delivered to our room! The diving in Utila was spectacular and our Dive Master Willie was wonderful at pointing out numerous fish and other sea creatures that I would not have found on my own. The diving was the best that I have enjoyed and the boats efficent. I enjoyed my three dives a day and loved the relaxed atmosphere of my diving experience! Staff at the lodge were courteous, warm and friendly and my only complaint was that my holiday was too short!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Forks, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have been to Utila on several occasions now due to the superior diving and a true Caribbean culture and hospitality. Utila Lodge is clearly the best the island has to offer. The rooms are clean as can be, over the water, and housekeeping even did our laundry perfectly! The staff is very friendly and attentive. Big dive boats, great captains and the most diversity in marine life we have seen anywhere on this side of the planet. The best part of Utila Lodge and Utila itself is that it is the safest Caribbean island we have been to. We have witnessed 0 theft, even petty theft in 4 trips. We have seen or been victim to theft in Costa Rica, Bonnaire, and Florida but not here. It is a very friendly safe place with real culture. Thanks Utila Lodge for great Trips! It is hard to go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Our Favorite is room H but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeFunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Very knowledgeable and fun divemasters, new equipment, comfortable boats, and best dock for relaxing on the island. I would recommend Utila Lodge ahead of all other lodges. The owners were always around for advice and assistance if needed and you can't beat the beauty of the wood walkways and buildings.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just got back from 2 incredible weeks at the Utila Lodge. From getting met at the airport for the short ride to the hotel to the return trip Kisty and all of her staff were incredible. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food excellent. The weather was a little damp, it is the rainy season but we went out for our 3 dives everyday even on the days when I was the only diver on the boat. They have several boats, the one we used was the Sea Sprite lots of room a covered in area for shelter from the sun or rain and easy to get on and off of. Bright sunny days we had fresh fruit and lots of water for our surface intervals on the cooler days they added hot chocolate. The diving was varied with wreck dives, incredible coral, and all maner of marine life, sea horses, pipe fish, spotted eagle rays, southern sting rays, nurse sharks, eels an octopus and more types of other fish than I can mention. I didn't get to see any whale sharks but that is a good reason to go back. The main dive master Joey was excellent as were the Captains Willie and Seth.
There were dive masters Ben and Jonas who helped out and took video as well. I had my own gear but the gear supplied by the Lodge looked new and in great shape.

Room Tip: I had a top floor room and it was excellent, a screened in balcony area, fans plus air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1wandererCamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
1.0 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.6 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
23.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utila Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utila Lodge

Property: Utila Lodge
Address: Main Street, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise as it was intended! Set out over the turquoise Caribbean waters in the calm Utila Bay, surrounded by spectacular coral reefs, Utila Lodge is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway or adventure vacation. Let us greet you with personalized service and five star hospitality! Come and experience the casual charm of this family owned and operated resort. Purchased in 1993 by Jim and Kisty Engel, Utila Lodge has been transformed into the warm and welcoming haven that it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Utila Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utila Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing