We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Last time we were in Utila, we were directed to the Jade Seahorse by our dive master, who said "For beautifulness, it can't be beat." We walked in, and our jaws dropped in wonder.

The best way to describe this place is a cross between a mosaic tile work museum made from recycled stuff and the Swiss Family Robinson's tree house. Every square inch of this place is covered in art. You can stare at something in a square foot for hours, but it's all part of a part of a greater masterpiece.

The bar, Treetanic, well...it's IN A TREE!!! How cool is that? They play an excellent and eclectic mix of music. We were there during a blackout, and the staff simply handed out candles, which people stuck in their empty Salva Vida bottles, until the place had a strange romantic glow to it.

The "Botanical Gardens" consist of walkways, ladders, bridges, gazebos, swings, winding stairs, all made of gorgeous mosaics of everything ranging from old teacups, old bottles, seashells, and bizarre artwork. Glass sculptures hang from nooks and crannies, among the lovely tropical plants and carefully planned lighting. It goes on and on forever too! If every human being on Utila decided to come into the Jade Seahorse on one night, I'm fairly sure that they could all fit.

We stayed three nights in the Mono Lisa Cabin, for $50.00 per night. That might seem expensive compared to diver hostels, but, hey, by American hotel standards, that's dirt cheap, and totally worth it. The cabins are as amazing and artful on the inside as the gardens and bar are on the outside. The shower was lined with little marbles. The ceiling boards were burn-etched with patterns, and no two were alike. A collection of bizarre, yet fitting art, all derived from The Mona Lisa were covering the walls. The four-poster bed was comfortable and beautiful. The blue gauzy curtains and red wooden floor added just the right touch.

We noticed a pattern that sometimes the air conditioning didn't work...usually when the bar was open...which...um...encouraged us to go to the bar. Good thing too. The bar was full of the coolest people I'd ever met: a guy from Alaska who'd white-water rafted with bears, a girl from Rhode Island who'd hiked the Appalachian Trail, European backpackers from various countries with stories to tell about trekking it up to Hondouras from Panama, an Aussie who'd just done some volcano boarding. Utila draws divers...divers love adventure. The stories I heard and the people I met were just fascinating!

On the last day of the trip, I sat out in the gazebo by our house for hours, contemplating our week, while chatting with other tourists.

I've read other reviews where people said that the cabins were too close to areas where people were talking. I didn't have much of this going on, but if I did, I'd take it as a sign that there were people outside I should probably meet, because they're probably having a good time.

Absolutely magic!

I will DEFINITELY stay here again!

Room Tip: We really liked the Mono Lisa cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    9
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I visited Utila for the second time recently and after a pleasant and peaceful stay at the Jade Seahorse in 2010, I stayed again. The grounds are beautiful, artistic and uncommon something truly fascinating to see. Cabins were kept clean and were nicely decorated. There's a cool bar up in the trees however never poised a problem or anything with noise or rowdiness. Utila is a very laid back so if you're looking for a really nice chill place to stay I'd definitely recommend this place, Honduras is not America so don't expect everything to be exactly like it would be if you were staying in times square, it's different country learn, explore and enjoy the differences.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roatan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Jade seahorse is an amazing, fascinating oasis where you can dream or just admire an artists dream that became a reality - his hotel and magical garden. I've been coming to Utila every year for the past nine years and always stay at one of the Jade Seahorse' magical cabins. This time we also listened to impromptu cello and guitar concert in the garden. Great service with a smile, quirky and well kept, magical landscape... Utila at its best. 

Room Tip: 'camasutra' cabin is quiet and quirky. We loved the design and details...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomektomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copan, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Don't get me wrong, the Jade Seahorse is gorgeous!

However, it is a place you visit and take pictures, not a place to stay. And don't worry, visitors are welcome at all hours of the night, so feel free to stop in and snap some photos. As there is no security random guests are encouraged to loiter outside of your cabin rooms.

Being one of the more expensive accomodations on the island I would expect a little more from this hotel. The service was shameful, in fact any service at all would have been an improvement. We didn't see a single staff member or another guest during our whole stay. It took us 20min to even check-in because an employer just wasn't available.

To top things off the water and electricity were shut off, we shared our accomodations with spiders, the wifi connection was weak and the presence of a cleaning staff was non-existant.

My recommendation is stoping in and having a beer at the Treetanic Bar, but leaving once you've taken a photo or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divequeen19, Manager at Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
We missed you too. The last time we saw you guys was the day you checked in. We imagined you were having as much fun as the rest of the Easter bunnies.

We apologize for our wild and crazy Easter Week on Utila, and we hope to see you again at a less stressful time of the year.


JS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomita, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

One of my favorite spots in all of Honduras is the Jade Seahorse; once you walk through the gates into a magical Fantasea garden (yes, this is how you spell Fantasea in Utila) you know you're in for a treat. I can't wait to go back and sit at the Tree Tanic Bar and see the new creations in the garden since my last stay.

Room Tip: Each room is different and I recommend you try each one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

It is the most amazing place to visit during the day as it is a work of art BUT:
1. During the night you have a Bar in the middle of the cabins, therefore people get drunk and scream, vomit or whatever you can imagine on your same door. There is no control from the hotel so people dont go to the place where the cabins are and EVERYBODY (is THE bar in town) goes... so if you are lucky you get to sleep when the bar closes around 3-4 am.

2. They say you have internet. Well this is only partially true. No Cabin gets internet as the wifi signal is not good. Therefore if you want to have internet you have to go outside under the bar (hopefully is not full of people) and try to use it.

3. Everytime you make a reservation you get a different price, if you send an email they tell you is 50 dollars, when you are there they tell you is 60 or sometimes 55, depends on who attends you the morning you want to pay.

4. We stayed for days here with no hot water on the bathroom and absolutely nobody came to fix it for us and give us a solution, and we asked for this at least 3 times
we have been several times in the cabins and before it was better but recently is not good. there are much better places to stay in this island that here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolina_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divequeen19, Manager at Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Up till a month ago we were lucky to have internet ourselves, but thankfully the problem has been fixed.
As for the different prices you get, it's always cheaper if you book online and in advance.
The hot water issue was a one cabin problem, and has also been fixed.

People love it here so much, that it's nearly impossible to get them to leave here on time. We do make a back check and make sure everyone is down from the cabin area at 10pm.


Sincerely....JS staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I am SO glad we stumbled upon The Jade Seahorse during our stay in Honduras. We arrived around 9am, and there wasn't any one at the service desk yet, so we took it upon ourselves to take a look around.

The moment I stepped back into this mosaic wonderland I couldn't help but let out a, "Oh my goodness"...it was the most amazing space I've ever seen! Everywhere you looked there was an interesting piece of artwork and each time you see something new.

The service was very friendly, although it does have "island time" feel when you arrive and no one's there yet! Nevertheless, the people that worked there were very helpful when they were around!

In addition to artwork, they also have jewelry pieces for sale and the Tree Tanic Bar attached, which we went to a couple times and enjoyed a quiet, yet fun & quirky atmosphere.

Definitely a place you want to check out, even if you're not spending the night!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaritaLaGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.6 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
2.7 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse

Property: Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse
Address: Utila, Bay Islands, Utila 34201, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightland sits on a hill beneath the caribbean sky, surrounded by old tamarind trees. Designed by an artist, the cabins reflect a unique architectural style inside and out. Gardens cascade down the hill toward the Jadeseahorse restaurant and Treetanic bar, an elevated ship's deck built between three huge mango trees. Utila welcomes you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing