We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THis one is not going to be easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral View Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THis one is not going to be easy”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at the Coral View Beach resort in january 2014. Rainy season was late and weather was not all that good. I am a scuba dive, so I did a dozen of dives. My girlfriend is not, she had a hard time, she was hoping for sun and sand. She didn't get much of each. There is nothing that feels like a beach, only stairs at the end of the dock to go snorkeling on the reef, which is great.
The room......our room was the one called the PENTHOUSE, I figured it was going to be the best room in the place. That room need an urgent refresh, the mattress is good for the garbagge, the linnens are so worn out the you can see through them, the bug screens are thorn off, when there is one on a window. The closing mecanism on the windows are not functional, the window in the bathroom doesn't close. My girlfriend was eaten by sand flies inside the room, and one night a big cockroach invited itself in.
The people there are very nice, very good service all around, from the cleaning lady, the cook, the hostess (miss Tonya) That is why this review is hard to write.
We had a problem going back. The resort had arranged for a transport that never showed up so we missed the ferry. Tonya arranged for a private plane to pick us up and take us to LaCeiba so we could catch our flight back.
In conclusion, the people are great, the hotel is not so hot. GUYS.....don't take princess there, you ll hear about it for a while.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugues D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I spent 8 days at the Coral View Beach Resort in March of 2013 along with a few other friends of ours. We enjoyed it so much that we're going back in 2015, despite the fact that neither one of us speak a word of Spanish! (Just about everyone on the island speaks English though, so it's not an issue.)

The rooms are a bit spartan, to be sure, but anyone expecting "Club-Med" accommodations in Honduras is out of their mind. (Especially at the incredibly affordable prices that this resort offers!) That being said, the rooms are usually finished with lots of solid wood paneling and flooring, and we thought that they were quite nice, if only a little bit rustic.

The pictures posted here on Trip Advisor are very accurate to what we saw during our stay, so have a look at those and you'll see what everyone is talking about. (Note that the dive-training pool near the beach was recently re-done with new decking, and a new beach area was added west of the dock, so these features may not be apparent in pictures taken prior to the summer of 2013 when the work was completed.)

The views from the rooms are great, whether you are on the ocean side or the lagoon side. Both offer a great view of the water, and you can always head out to the dock for an even closer look. (The dock out front is also a great place to watch the sunset, preferably with a drink in hand!)

The staff is amazingly friendly. After just a day or two, I felt as if I had re-connected with some long-lost relatives. Miss Tonya (the resort manager) is very sweet, and she went out of her way to cook special food for my wife and I, who are both diabetic, at no extra charge. When it was time to leave, it felt like we were losing a sister. Sounds hokey right? But really - I'm serious. They're just the sort of people you warm up to right away.

As for the people claiming bed bugs, this is absolutely not true. The problem is the sand flies (or sand gnats, as they are also known) and anyone who has spent any time at all in the Caribbean should be more than familiar with these little devils, since they are everywhere. (We even have them in South Carolina near the beaches in the hottest summer months.) They come out in the early dusk hours, but once the sun is down for good they aren't a problem.

That being said, if you aren't prepared for them, they will bite you, and they do leave red bumps that some inexperienced people might mistake for bed bugs. But no, it's just your typical sand flies that you'll find on any island in the Caribbean. Commercial bug repellent works somewhat, but the best defense seems to be just slathering on some skin lotion (like the famous Avon "Skin-so-soft") so that when they alight on your skin they basically drown in the lotion before they can bite you. Sounds strange, but it's what the locals do, and they weren't covered in bites like some of the tourists were.

For those of you who enjoy snorkeling or SCUBA-diving, this is quite possibly the best resort in the Caribbean to stay at. You can leave right from the dock, and within 50 feet you are on the reef surrounded by all kinds of fish and coral. You can actually see the reef from the observation deck at the end of the dock (above the bar). That reef encircles the entire island, and there are over 140 dive sites that are within a 15 minute boat ride from the resort. Diving is incredibly affordable at Coral View too.

Rich, Sara, and the rest of the cool folks at the dive shop are just as easy to get along with as the family that runs the resort. Whether you are an experienced diver or someone who has never been in the ocean before, they will make you feel relaxed and at ease. They are very professional, but they are also quite personable. They're the sort of people you'd want to meet up with after a day of diving over a beer and a good meal to chat about the days events. (Something which we did quite regularly!)

We had one guy in our group who had never even snorkeled before, and by the time he left he had his open water certification. (Despite the fact that he had no intention of doing so when he booked his trip.) They run the classes at your pace, so you don't feel pressured. As for my buddy, he's completely hooked now, and he also plans to return with us in 2015 to get some more diving in (and probably to get his advanced certification while he's there).

The diving is absolutely amazing in Utila. Whether you want wall-reefs, shallow drift-reefs, wrecks, night dives, or even cave, deep dive, and other advanced sites, the folks in the dive shop have you covered. (Rich has been a dive master for over a decade, and he really knows the area well.) One of the wrecks we dove was near the entrance to the harbor, and even though the keel sat at 92 feet, we could see the entire wreck from the surface. (How's that for water clarity?)

You will see an amazing variety of fish and coral. Spotted Eagle rays, Moray Eels, Sea Turtles, plus all varieties of Parrot Fish, Tangs, Wrasses, Trumpet Fish, Angel Fish, and too many others that I've already forgotten the names of are all in abundance on just about any reef you dive on, including the one right off the dock! And even in March, the water was warm enough that we probably didn't need the 3 mil shorty wetsuit we wore. (None of us wore anything more than a bathing suit when we snorkeled, and we never got cold.) Also, all of our gear was supplied by Rich at the dive shop, and we didn't have any equipment issues at all.

If you plan to do any diving or snorkeling, be sure to bring an underwater camera! A GoPro works great, but there are other options too. You'll want to have something to record your experiences though, because you'll never see diving like this anywhere else.

In conclusion, the Coral View Beach Resort is a wonderful little gem that's tucked away on the west end of Utila. Their prices are very affordable, their staff is friendly and helpful, the views of the ocean are breathtaking, and the dive shop is staffed with first-rate people who will make sure you enjoy every minute in the water. And if by some strange coincidence you happen to be interested in laser light shows, mention this fact to Rich at the dive shop and maybe he'll show you one of his cool laser projectors! Quite the amazing fellow, Rich is!

As for me, I can't wait to go back... 14 months and counting!

Room Tip: Upper-deck rooms are quieter and have better views, but even the ground floor rooms are very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Coral View during NYE 2013-2014 week and we really enjoyed our time there, from the service to the location and the food... everything was excellent! So I'll break it down for you:

THE GOOD
- The service was really nice, Miss Tonya (hope to spell it right) and the girls (I remember Karen) were at the counter and they were very happy and helpful and always made us feel like home.
- The location was perfect, right by the side of the coral reef; far enough from town to avoid the noise but also close enough to get there on a bike in less than 15 minutes. Is also very close to Chepes Beach (about 10 minutes walk).
- The rooms are very clean and have AC, the beds are nice and you have a bathroom with plenty of hot water. We had a view of the lagoon but there are other rooms with a sea view.
- The Bar is beautiful and very relaxing, located at the end of the dock is perfect for tanning and chilling with a nice cold beer at very reasonable prices. (Hellen, the bar tender, is a sweetheart and can help you with advice of what to do and how to get around the island)
- The diving was amazing! even with only a snorkel you can see every kind of colorful fish and coral right by the side of the docks...tons of fun! and for those more experienced divers there is also a 120ft drop right ahead... simply marvelous!

THE NOT SO GOOD:
- The bar closes too early (about 19:00) and you have to go to Chepe's Beach for a beer.
- The swimming pool is nice but is salty so is kind of pointless if you have such a beautiful sea to swim right beside.
- Even with the clean rooms and the mosquito net in every window you can have a little problem with the sand fleas, repellent can come in handy. (is not that bad... they really don't disturb your sleep).

So that's about it... The place is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL, you'll enjoy going there no matter what you're looking for! :)

Room Tip: Miss Tonya can exchange you'd Dollars to Lemps with a very fair exchange rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetinBoesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I spent two weeks here for Operation Wallacea, and I could have had a better experience here. The staff here was absolutely amazing and cared so much for every single one of us. The dive shop is run by to extraordinary people who are very knowledgable and organized. I felt like I gained another family while I was down there and I have created life long friendships while here. Coral view is lucky enough to have the only house reef on Utila, which has amazing diving and a beautiful view! I would recommend Coral View to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieLRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were staying in town and wandered down to see what there was when we ran into the Coral View. It was early so we went into the dining area which was not open yet. The manager came over, sat down with us to chat, got us orange juice and within minutes we were like old friends and even showed us around.
We rented sit on top kayaks and snorkeled when we got back. Fantastic coral canyons, plenty of different types of fish, coral and even a spotted ray that came up along the wall to check me out.
This is the first place that I've seen that had a coral nursery. We kept coming back the next few days to get in the water and sit up on the jetty with a SalvaVida beer afterwards. Ask for a "Tourist Burger". (Like a fat taco, but better.)
If you want to get certified, there is a great salt water pool with great instructors. You can shore dive or go out. The water is warm and very little chop the week we were on the island. The town is about a 20 minute walk on a road along the ocean. We even saw a big stingray about 2' off the shore feeding. The area appears to be building up so if you want to go somewhere to enjoy yourself the way it used to be, where the water is warm and the drinks are cold, Blue Bayou, Honduras is the place.

Room Tip: We found the place by accident so did not stay overnight but did get a tour and saw enough of the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandseeker_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I spent 2 weeks here diving with Operation Wallacea. Being about a 25 min walk from Utila Town the hotel was more relaxing and more secure than other locations on the island. If you don't fancy walking there are usually tuk tuks available and they're really cheap. The staff are approachable and friendly. It has its own bar which is great to relax in and has steps down into the sea which you can snorkel off.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLT956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munxar
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week diving with OPWALL in Utila and stayed at the Coral View Resort. Even though we were a big group on a budget, the service, food and care shown during the week really made you feel sad to leave. Being 25 minutes walk from the town made it feel more exclusive and the breezy bar at the end of the jetty was superb.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
1.0 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 8 in Utila
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Beach Resort

Property: Coral View Beach Resort
Address: Blue Bayou, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are seeking relaxation or adventure, Coral View Beach Resort has the perfect tropical vacation in store for you. Experience incomparable personal service at this family-owned and operated resort. Stay in a luxury room with air-conditioning, hot water, a private bath, wireless internet access and an ocean or lagoon view. Dive with our full-service PADI Dive Center (packages and certification available). Make your trip an adventure with our whale watching, snorkeling and kayaking excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Beach Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing