We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - And landlady was so kind and helpful”
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Location - And landlady was so kind and helpful”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Awesome place, clean, tidy, Thelma was very easy to talk to and always willing to help. I have stayed at this location twice now. Once when it first opened and then about 1 year later. Every time I have been there I was always made very welcome and was very well looked after.

The second time was when Hurricane Felix hit and Thelma was very helpful, she managed to get us off the island by chartered flight when everyone else was queuing for the ferry.....

I am definitely planning to go back either this November or early next year.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those that face the sea which is a bit obvious. But generally all rooms looked great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
103
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The design of the hotel brings plenty of advantages. As soon as the evenng breeze starts you will benefit from a fresh, mosquito free environment which will be a blessing after a hot day. One more reason to relax on your balcony over the bay!

Tips (from restaurants to activities) from the owner will allow you to make the most of your stay on Utila.

The softeness of the linen will do the rest...

Only one very minor complaint: the noise of the room fridge at night (but i haven't asked to switch it off).

The 50USD asked for the room are very reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: Corners are better but the owner will propose them to you if they are availabe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Very clean, and convientent, one of the only places to have a generator. Convientent to all the best dive centres. Clean, great beds, has some of the best views of Utila. It also has a dock under the building where you can get dropped off.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The lighthouse must be the nicest accommodation on Utila! It is clean, comfortable and it has amazing views of the ocean! Watching the pelian's diving into the sea at sunset is fantastic. Thelma is kind and helpful, although we found the introductory talk a little overwhelming!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Service - top notch. Thelma, the owner, was so helpful and such a comfort to have someone to approachable and helpful whilst away travelling. I was sick from my time in Guatemala when I arrived here. Thelma could not have been more helpful with this - advice re doctors, rest, medicines, prices, etc. Made the unplesant experience of being sick whilst away so much less stressful. Also included in price are pick up and drop off at boat terminal.

Price - excellent value for the amenities provided and quality of acommodation.

Location and atmosphere - ideal for relaxing. Thelma creates a peaceful and calm atmosphere.

Cleanliness - the cleanest hotel I have ever experienced.

All in all, 110%

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishcouple2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We recently stayed at The Lighthouse, and had a very positive experience. Thelma was helpful prior to our arrival with suggestions on the ferry, and met us at the dock to take us to the hotel. Upon arrival, we had a moment to settle in before attending the "orientation". I suspect Thelma may have had some guests in the past lacking common sense, so she lays down all the rules in advance and offers suggestions on where to go on the island. For the most part, her suggestions were right on track.

The rooms are simply appointed and clean, with everything you need for your stay. The corner rooms upstairs get a wonderful breeze, but the room we were in had the bed nestled against a wall so no breeze reached it. For this reason, we used the air conditioner at night even though the breeze was nice. The rooms all have sliding glass doors that face the walkway, so there isn't any privacy if the curtains aren't drawn. Neither of these points should be a deterrent to your stay though, it's just informational.

The hotel is at the end of the main strip where all the bars, dive shops and restaurants are located at. It's very convenient to walk to anything you would need to get to. We popped into a couple of other hotels, and chatted with others staying on the island, and were very happy we picked the lighthouse to stay at. It was safe, friendly, clean and the setting is pretty amazing.

Room Tip: I'd recommend an upstairs corner room if it's available, preferably facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amusez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yakov16ru
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at the Lighthouse with Thelma and O'Neil in April 2011 and we simply loved our time here. The location is great - not too far from the dive shops and restaurants but also far enough from the main strip and all the bars for those quiet nights. Rooms are very clean and well decorated. Our room had an excellent A/C unit, fridge, two beds, cable TV and everything else one would need for a comfortable short/extended stay. The views from the bay rooms are spectacular and can be enjoyed for hours in the provided hammocks.

Overall, we really enjoyed this place and in fact plan on coming back here in November 2012 for some much needed R&R.

Thank you Thelma & O'Neil!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yakov16ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.8 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
23.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.3 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Property: The Lighthouse
Address: Main St, Utilia Bay Islands, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Utila
Lighthouse Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing