We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay”
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Lighthouse is the perfect place to stay in Utila. We loved it. The rooms were very clean and fresh. It was fun staying out over the water. The view was magnificent. Thelma is a world of information. She made our stay so easy for us. She was a very gracious hostess. You can't go wrong staying at the Lighthouse. Rick & Jan, San Diego, CA

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We really, really loved this place. I almost didn't write a review because I don't want the place packed if we ever make it back. It kind of feels like you are on a ship. It is built out over the water and sways a little. Great hosts were always looking out for our best interests. We stayed 4 nights and should have done a week instead. Interesting and safe town as long as you don't get run over by the moto taxis. Spotlessly clean and quiet hotel. Not a party hotel. This is a much cheaper place than Roatan. Wonderful food all within walking distance

Room Tip: Second floor corner rooms toward ocean cannot be beat and worth added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very hard to come up with anything that hasn't been said already. We stayed in the lighthouse for 5 nights in February 2013. We had no booking, there was a problem with the phone number in the lonely planet so we just chanced arriving there. As soon as we met Thelma we just knew this was the place for us. She even told us to leave our bags with her and go checkout other places to stay on the island before we agree to stay in the lighthouse, but as soon as we saw the rooms we were sold. Spotless modern spacious rooms, amazing views. Perfect place to chill after a day in the sun and watch the sunset. If you're staying in Utila, stay at the lighthouse. Thanks Thelma. James & Linda

Room Tip: Obviously second level rooms facing the ocean are better for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Beautiful setting,spotless rooms,adorable inn keeper.Loved that we could look right down from our doorway into the water & watch the fishes.Hamocks are a plus.Thelma is SO helpful! She made sure our trip was as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This place really does have it all, spotlessly clean, fantastic view, plentiful sea breezes and a very charming hostess.
Thelma ensures you get the most out of your stay with her "Lighthouse 101" and her "Utila 101"
briefs. It is no wonder people return again and again as you are now part of the family.
An update relevant to some prior reviews is that internet is now available throughout the Lighthouse, which we understand has been a slight glitch in the past.
Make sure you keep your eyes open for the Spotted Eagle Rays who cruise by mornings and evenings. A truly special place.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms do have the best views, these are a little more, however whichever room you have you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YourEscapeBluePrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Lighthouse is a really beautiful building located right over the water - from outside your room, you can see fish in the clear water below. We were picked up at the ferry in a golf cart and taken to the hotel, a short stroll away. Thelma greeted us at the hotel - she is an incredible host and great source of information. She was like a second mother to use during our stay. We had one of the corner bay facing rooms, which I highly recommend. You get a hammock that you can hang outside your room and relax in - perfect for whiling away the afternoon with a book. There were beach towels as well, and newly installed wifi in the rooms thanks to Thelma's son. There was just one issue with the hot water and water pressure while we were there, but Thelma was on it. Prior to arrival, Thelma always responded to any email very quickly and was very easy to communicate with. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bay view corner room on the upper floor, which we loved, but honestly, you'll be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessaki_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Who knew that we were going back to Utila and The Lighthouse so soon! My wife and I stayed at the Lighthouse in March 2011 and loved it so much that when we came back to Utila in November 2012, we did not want to stay anywhere else. Thelma is an amazing host - very carying and full of useful Utila information. She makes sure that guests get as much rest and relaxation as possible and is always ready to help. The place itself is simply stunning with the breathtaking ocean views and unforgettable sunsets. The prices are great for what you get - cleanest rooms, ice-cold A/C, small fully stocked kitchen and a peaceful atmosphere. I hope to be back here again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Splurge and get an ocean view room - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yakov16ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.6 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.0 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Address: Main St, Utilia Bay Islands, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range: £38 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Utila
Lighthouse Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing