We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¡Muy recomendado!”
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“¡Muy recomendado!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We definetely recommend staying at the lighthouse. There're nice places to stay at in Utila but the Lighthhouse is the best in our opinion.

Nice owners, clean, safe, nice breeze throughout the day, a/c, tv, wifi and spectacular views are some of the thing you can expect.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TuriHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
101
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days, and did not want to leave. The location, the staff, and the room itself were hands down, some of the best I have come across in Central America. The price was very reasonable, and the family owners take a great amount of pride in everything they do. Our room was on the second story facing the bay. It was quiet and very comfortable. The hotel is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town that it is quiet just about all the time. It's also situated where the breeze blows the most consistently, which meant no bugs and nice cool temps. Our room also had A/C, and very good Wifi (a rarity on Utilia) which was a great bonus. We will definitely stay here again when we go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are off the road and over the water. They are all quiet. The ones facing the bay have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zmontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horn Lake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with the lighthouse. Very clean , friendly staff . It's in the best spot on the island,lots of wind. View was great. I felt very safe coming in late with the night watchmen. 5 stars!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Decided to stay at the Lighthouse based on reviews and was not disappointed. Thelma was responsive and detailed in her correspondence prior to our arrival and was great about letting us know what we should expect (taxi costs, travel time, etc). A quick orientation upon our arrival at the hotel helped us feel more at home on our first trip to Utila. I found the location to be perfect for us - located at the southern end of the town it is only minutes walk from dive shops, restaurants, the supermarket, etc but is quiet at night. The whole property is kept very tidy and has a safe, secure feeling.

We stayed in a harbor facing room with a double bed and a second smaller bed. The price was great, the room was clean and had the amenities we wanted such as a small kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, ceiling fan and a/c. The view was wonderful overlooking the usually calm waters of the bay. The in-room wi-fi was strong and worked as advertised. Another great feature is that the property has a back-up generator for those nights when the island's power goes out. You really appreciate this when your fan or a/c kicks back on in the middle of the night and the rest of the island is suffering with the heat and humidity.

I was very pleased with the whole experience and would highly recommend. It will be my go-to place when coming back to Utila.

Room Tip: Splurge for the larger rooms facing the bay. Floors are hardwood so lower level can be slightly nos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meine_Heimat_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemmonbears
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Lighthouse Hotel on Utila. Thelma and her son did everything to make our time relaxing and comfortable. They have an amazing place, beautiful and clean, just what we were looking for.

We had a great time relaxing, I really enjoyed the hammock! But we did find a couple great snorkel places. And we had fun trying all the different little restaurants, great food and very reasonable prices.

I can't say enough good things about the Lighthouse, Thelma and her crew. Everything was perfect! We will be going back!!

Room Tip: We had the best room! Bayview and on the corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemmonbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I cannot say enough good things about The Lighthouse and the owners Thelma and O'Neill! Perfect, quiet location. Clean, tidy and air conditioned rooms within a short walking distance to everything else in Utila. If you go to Utila, STAY HERE, you will NOT regret it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I just go back from Utila yesterday and had to rave about The Lighthouse and Thelma. We have dubbed her our Island Mama since she takes care of you the moment you step through the well kept gates of The Lighthouse. Everything is spotless, quiet and serene. Thelma and her husband, O'Neill keep a beautiful property in Utila with great views overlooking the harbor. The rooms are beautifully well kept and clean. Her orientation may make you giggle when you arrive but if you haven't been to Utila before, the information she gives you is invaluable (especially if you prefer not to spend your vacation on the commode, if you know what I mean). The location is perfect, just a short walk to the hustle and bustle of Utila but quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. O'Neill is helpful and funny and he even helped us with our golf cart when it wouldn't get going the morning we left. Thelma is sweet, caring and even suggested cocoa butter to help some of the bug bites I had. With affordable rates, great location and a great staff, this place can't be beat! I will be back! :)

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are the best, the middle rooms are well insulated and great for a good night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.8 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.0 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
23.3 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Property: The Lighthouse
Address: Main St, Utilia Bay Islands, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Utila
Lighthouse Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing