We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Copan Ruinas
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Copan. Great rooms and marble tiled showers. Amazing cafe downstairs, internet as I had to do some work and great service that aims to please. We'll be back again. The Mayan ruins are a 10 minute three wheeler taxi away.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henryed1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Yat Balam is a lovely little boutique hotel in the center of the small town of Copan Ruinas. The owners and the staff are incredibly friendly and go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable and happy. Our room was clean and comfortable - the windows blocked out much of the music from a nearby bar, but you could sit on the balcony and enjoy the music if you wanted. The room has an AC and a ceiling fan so you're comfortable no matter the weather.

The property is very pretty but what really stands out is the customer service - so very friendly - in the gift shop, the restaurant, and the hotel itself - I cannot say enough nice things about our stay.

Room Tip: We had the large room - number 2 - balcony overlooking the street (but it is too loud to sleep with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It's been over a year since I stayed at Yat B'alam (I just recently started writing reviews), but I remember it as if it were yesterday. The place is absolutely beautiful - I took more pictures of the hotel than I did of the ruins! The entrance at street level is inviting, the gift shop is very classy yet inexpensive (think locally-made crafts), and every nook and cranny is filled with artwork - fountains, pictures, pottery, vases .... A reading nook upstairs is a peacefl retreat - the whole place is just exquisite! The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom clean and well-equipped, and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Copan!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieH169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Cannot fault Yat B'alam the staff and the always smiling and delightful Rena. Lovely room, the cafe serves a great coffee by lovely ladies.
Enjoy the wonderful museum at the ruins on your own, those people who visited with a guide looked rushed to us.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Like most of the other reviewers, we found Rena and her staff to be engaged and caring hosts. The level of service they provide is extraordinary, from assistance coordinating local excursions, to walking us down to a local tienda and helping with wine selection (which the owner did personally).

We were fortunate enough to stay in Room 1, the most spacious with a private balcony, but all the options there are wonderful. We are already looking forward to returning with friends next year.

You will not regret your stay at "The Jaguar."

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

stayed a few nights to visit las ruinas... very nice atmospheric rooms, small breakfast includes wonderful local coffee, & easy access to archeological sites... authentic small restaurants all nearby as is the plaza... very good stay.... unless you prefer a larger hotel this is a good place to base...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spend 3 amazing days in Copan Ruinas and stay at this beautiful Hotel with such a nice people always ready to help you, the room was very very nice and clean, the breakfast at their coffee house was delicious and they have a little store with very nice things for your house or gifts, I really recommend this Hotel small, beautiful and cozy :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan Ruinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
312 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
#15 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda San Lucas
Hotel Hacienda San Lucas
#3 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle la Independencia | Barrio el Centro, Copan Ruinas 00504, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan Ruinas
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Copan Ruinas
#3 Business Hotel in Copan Ruinas
Price Range: £62 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 6 rooms. Our cafeteria serves delicious breakfasts, great coffee and homemade cakes. For lunch we offer tasty pitabread sandwiches and salads. Our rooms have hot water all day, A/C, refrigerator, ceiling fan, cable TV, DVD player with free movies, and soundproofed windows. The hotel offers free WiFi, a generator, laundry service, a reading lounge, and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yat b Alam Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing