We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
near NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfection”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

After driving the winding road in the dark for what it felt like hours, we arrived at Yat B'alam quite late. The owner or the manager was waiting for us outside to help us into our room. Very nice and friendly. The hotel is very charming with a terra cotta roof top, rot iron details to the windows and beautiful tile works on the floor and the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and room immaculately clean and well decorated. Suspect the owner himself or he hired a true decorator as color of the wood, and bedding were very beautifully selected.

The town itself reminded us of Spain. Cobble streets, quaint shops and restaurants.
Nice view of clouds suspended on the roof / tree tops.

We did not spend too much time there but wish we could have.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebbynearNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
114
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My family and I stayed here for two nights during a trip to Honduras and Nicaragua. It was the best place we stayed the entire trip.

The rooms are lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. They really seem to enjoy what they do in providing an excellent place. The attention to detail and care shows in the rooms and throughout the hotel, in the balconies and the small water features with flowers and candles. Just a lovely place. It would do well for couples or families.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Rina met us upon our arrival and from that moment on we felt like old friends being welcomed into someone's home.The rooms were immaculate and charming with wonderful fresh water showers. All the staff were very accommodating and friendly. This was a peaceful haven in the middle of a busy city.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreezinDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2010

By far one of the hotels that my friend Jenn and I stayed at in all of Honduras. Yat B'alam has so much charm to it down to every last detail. The outdoor areas and the rooms make for a a warm and relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are so cute and most importantly SO CLEAN!!!

We met the owner, who even offered to upgrade us to a larger room that was available for no extra cost. Because it was so small the staff is willing and ready to help you with While we were there it rained about every night at 6:30pm, but was gorgeous during the day. One night in particular was the first big storm of the season. It rained so much that the water came under the door. The young man at the desk that night was so nice and swept, mopped, mopped some more, and towel dried our floor for us.

Yat B'alam is right in the center of town so it's easy to walk anywhere, although if you're tired or can't walk the taxis are ridiculously inexpensive. Also, we went on and amazing hiking tour to a Mayan Village and waterfall and then zipline one day(Talk to Jesse at Kassa Sueno (I think that's what it's called ), a store next to Cafe VIaVia. Then, toured a Coffee Planation on horseback at Finca al Cisne (Visit their Office at Cafe ViaVia to book a tour) & stopped at the Luna Jaguar Hot Springs another day, and of course checked out Las Ruinas!

After being out and about everyday I was ready to pass out by 10:30-11 at night everyday, so it's also a great place to rest in between adventures. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earth2TheDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We initially planned to stay at Yat Balam 3 nights, but ended up extending our stay to 5. What a gem this place is! Just four rooms, but many of the amenities (coffee shop, video library, wonderful gift shop with a discount for guests) of a much bigger place. Rina and Hugo are both wonderfully helpful, and the cleaning staff is outstanding.

The room was spacious and thoughtfully appointed. There is plenty of hot water in a big, airy shower, and plenty of room to just hangout in the room and watch movies if (when) that's what you feel like doing. It felt like home to us, and Rina, especially, felt like family.

Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGypsyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Yat Balam is truly a gem: Immaculately clean, recently renovated and exceptional service. We spent Christmas 2009 in Copan as part of a larger trip around Honduras and the staff at Yat Balam made it a wonderful experience. The reviews on Trip Advisor pretty-much say it all.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belvie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Yat B'alam. It was absolutely spotless with comfortable furnishings and a terrific very recently remodeled bathroom. It was blazing hot during our visit so the airconditioning was quite welcome. The room we had (#1) faced the street but the soundproofing was top notch. Our room was also quite large with a nice queensize bed and 2 additional sofa/daybeds in the TV sitting area.The staff are all quite service oriented and helpful. They helped us to find cabs (tuk tuks) and I felt the small cafe was really very good. I liked not having to wander around to find a place for breakfast or a snack. They even had a small library of movie DVD's which we could use in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.2 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel

Property: Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle la Independencia | Barrio el Centro, Copan 00504, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Copan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Copan
#3 Business Hotel in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 6 rooms. Our cafeteria serves delicious breakfasts, great coffee and homemade cakes. For lunch we offer tasty pitabread sandwiches and salads. Our rooms have hot water all day, A/C, refrigerator, ceiling fan, cable TV, DVD player with free movies, and soundproofed windows. The hotel offers free WiFi, a generator, laundry service, a reading lounge, and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yat b Alam Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing