We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgotten stay in Paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Quiet a very nice place in the heart of Copan Ruins. A very cozzy place and a home away from home. About one block away from the park ,The rooms very elegant,the services very excellent, the prices very confortable,the staff was very excellent and the owners Rina and Don Hugo made our stay very pleasant,this is a place you don't want to miss while in Honduras ,when you visit them once you want to come back again in your next trip. Norma Paz & Jorge Paz.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2011

Yat B'alam is a small hotel in a good location, just a couple of blocks from the main square. The rooms are simple but very clean and spacious. There is a small balcony/reading area for guests that overlooks the street. I also enjoyed the three small souvenir stores and the restaurant on the main floor of the hotel. However, the best feature of this hotel is the staff. Everyone we met were friendly, helpful, smiling and accommodating. The service gets 5 stars. The only negative about my stay at this hotel is that there was a party going on across the street one night and I could hear the loud music from my room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We arrived on Sat the 11th of Dec My husband and I were traveling with our adult son and his partner who are both US diplomats at the US Embassy in Tegucigalpa. As we pulled up to the hotel we were met at our car by Heinz and the entire hotel staff anxious to unload our car and deliver all of our bags to our respective rooms. We felt like family who had just arrived for the holidays. After unloading the car we were shown to the gated off street lot where we kept the car most of our stay.
This lovely boutique hotel of 4 rooms was so quaint and cozy and warm. We stayed in room 1 with the balcony over looking the street (we had our coffee each morning there) and our son was in the smaller room 3.
Because of the timing of our visit there were all night fireworks so that first night was pretty noisy..but hey Hondurans like their fireworks! Our room was neat and spotless with air conditioning and a ceiling fan and a refrigerator which had a new bottle of water each morning for us . My son had ordered fruit plates for us as a surprise. They were full of delicious native fruits..yum and in the refrigerator waiting for us after our days excursions. The shower was hot with great water pressure and the towel fluffy and clean. We bought wine at a local shop and the hotel staff brought us wine glasses and an opener on a silver platter right upstairs. We used the common patio area on the second floor every eve to sit , relax over our wine and discuss the day and plan dinner..We had at least one breakfast in the cafe on the first floor, it was reasonably priced and absolutely delicious. Plus it was lovely to sit over coffee and watch the day beginning out on the street. Rina and her staff arranged for our guides each day who were just wonderful. Mike met us the first day and walked with us to the Mayan Ruins while talking about the history of the area on the way. He was wonderful at the ruins. You could not possibly understand what you are experiencing with out him. He even sent us to the perfect place to buy coffee beans to bring home. Then Jesus met us at the hotel and we went horse back riding to a Mayan village, He was so informative and it was interesting to see how these Mayan descendants still live. The last guide was arranged actually by Mike for the 3 guys to do the Canopy Zip line..He made sure the transportation to and from was set and everyone was comfortable. Since we had a long drive back to Tegucigalpa on Tuesday we were leaving very early in the morning. The staff made sure they were ready to help us leave and even offered to get us coffee tho the cafe didn't open until 7am. This wonderful little find was perfectly set in town, it is a block or so from the town center and right by so many delicious restaurants! Our favorite was the papooseria(sp) with yummy papoosas and the best liquidas in town (and we tried a lot of them hahaha)The town is so safe to walk around both day and night.. When Rina asked what we could suggest to make the hotel even better we could think of nothing to say.. We all highly recommend this hotel. While walking around we saw many of the other choices we had thought about and we still believe there is nothing in the world better than a stay at Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnymas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This is probably the nicest small hotel I've ever stayed in. The room was lovely, with elegant furnishings and a very nice balcony. The bed was just perfect--- the linens were soft, the mattress firm and comfortable and the pillows just the right size. The location is smack dab in the middle of the downtown, within two blocks of the town square and archaelogy museum. The staff were extremely helpful and accomodating. We actually ended up a little late for check out and they were very kind and flexible on this score. There are all sorts of nice touches--- around ten at night, I found myself very thirsty and lo and behold, there was a complementary bottle of bottled water waiting in the room refrigerator for us. The room was immaculately clean, as was the whole place. After the shops associated with the hotel closed at 7, the guard closed the gate and waited to re-admit us. A special treat is the the lovely second floor sitting area where one can find books to read, guides about Copan and Honduras and enjoy the view of the green hills of the Copan valley in the distance.

All in all, I heartily recommend this place. When I return to Copan (which is awesome), I'll be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiMMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I can't recommend this place enough, we stayed two nights and the owner was so helpful and nice made us feel at home straight away. The room was beautiful and spotless ,all the necessary furnishings are provided. The food in the cafe was tasty and the shop had some gems as well. First time ever to take the time to put up a review but had to this time cause this place is a find that everyone should know about.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky_116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Perfectly located, very clean, spacious, comfortable, quiet, hot water with good water-pressure (there are people who really care about this!). Nice litte café with good honduran coffee! And Thank You, Konrad, for organising my horseback-riding incl. the Canopy tour. That was awesome! Ahhh and Thanks that you let me use one of your umbrellas ;-)... Everyone interested in going to Copán Ruinas - stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamaraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

A great find in Copan, an upscale inn at a reasonable price. We stayed in room 1, besides a queen bed it also has 2 day beds & a small balcony overlooking the front street. The only downside would be the noice coming from the nearby club, but they close at midnight so it wasn't that big of a deal. Besides you can always go & join them! Heinz & Rina will go out of their way to help with any of your needs, they gave us money since all the ATM's were down at the time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CABoundfromATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.2 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
300 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
428 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle la Independencia | Barrio el Centro, Copan 00504, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Copan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Copan
#3 Business Hotel in Copan
Price Range: £64 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 6 rooms. Our cafeteria serves delicious breakfasts, great coffee and homemade cakes. For lunch we offer tasty pitabread sandwiches and salads. Our rooms have hot water all day, A/C, refrigerator, ceiling fan, cable TV, DVD player with free movies, and soundproofed windows. The hotel offers free WiFi, a generator, laundry service, a reading lounge, and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yat b Alam Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing