We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and full of hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda la Esperanza
Ranked #2 of 21 Copan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The Hacienda la Esperanze was a great place to stay. Rodger was a great host and helped arrange for us to get around to see all the interesting places in the Copan Valley. The food was great and all the staff were very warm and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was very relaxing to sit on the porch and have a morning coffee or watch the birds dart in and out of the trees.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenKitchener_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Everyone was very friendly. Roger was able to help us get to places in the afternoon or give us advice for site seeing. The food presentation was excellent and very colourful. We were able to try many traditional foods as well as some we were more used to. It was only a short walk to town to visit the many interesting stores.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end I think would be a little quieter if you want to sleep in when others are havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Educational201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I, and our Labrador pup, have made a road trip through Mexico, Belize, Guatemala and Honduras. Hacienda la Esperanza was without a doubt the highlight of our trip. Rodger has a special talent to make you feel right at home and he's like a warm friend you forgot you had. We loved the Old Spanish colonial style of the house. The whole place looked very well maintained and immaculately clean. The King size bed in our suite was the most comfortable we ever felt. We own a small B&B Hacienda El Sol in Mexico and we think that Rodger really understands what it means to run a B&B and entertain your guests and make them feel special. Rodger has a special place in our heart.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulala65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Great place to stay. You couldn't find a better host than Rodger. Besides being delightfully entertaining, he gave us valuable information to make our stay in Honduras safe and enjoyable. The breakfasts are filling and delicious, and the rooms are clean and inviting. I considered Hacienda la Esperanza my little "Enchanted April" of Honduras.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Hacienda la Esperanza was my home away from home and it couldn't have been a better stay. Waking to the songs of various birds prompts you to explore the great outdoors and view their beautiful colours. Our rooms with hot water and Americanized plumbing were spacious and clean. Very relaxing sitting on the porch watching the water flow in the fountain and entertaining on the nights of guitar playing and singing. Good variety of food and nicely presented. Owners and staff made me feel at home accommodating us in every way. Close to the Ruins, McCaw Mountain, zip lining and walking distance to town. Wifi also available. B&B helps support the community. I would recommend a stay at Hacienda la Esperanza to anyone traveling to Copan.

Room Tip: The rooms I viewed were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I was completely satisfied with my stay at Hacienda La Esperanza. Here's why.
Clean spacious rooms - Relaxing atmosphere - Great Food - Friendly staff - Secure environment - Free WiFi - Plumbing built to North American Standards
I also enjoyed watching a variety of colourful birds drink from the fountain and perch in the trees in front of the porch. I will stay there again, and would recommend it to my friends.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cousinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

When you travel a great deal, you meet and remember good people. This happened at Hacienda Esperanza with Rodger, who runs the place. He is such a character and such a storyteller--he is the perfect foil and fit for a morning breakfast chat before embarking into the timeless smile of Copan Ruinas. The facilities were modern and roomy. The doors were unique and secure. The fountain kept a soothing and methodical gurgle in the background. The breakfast by Siappa was homemade and delicious. The dog--Jack--barked a little too much for my taste in the night, but he was just doing his job on a Saturday night. And 100% of all room rentals go to support the medical clinic for the poor that is located on the premises. Copan is a marvelous place to visit, and you will be on solid footing when choosing to stay at Hacienda Esperanza

Room Tip: La Chacha was near the fountain and the bed was comfortable for my wife and me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
157 reviews
1 mi away
Hacienda San Lucas
Hacienda San Lucas
#3 of 21 in Copan
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa de Cafe
La Casa de Cafe
#1 of 21 in Copan
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#10 of 21 in Copan
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#16 of 21 in Copan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda la Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda la Esperanza

Address: Barrio Titichon en Copan Ruinas, Copan 504, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range: £37 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Esperanza (The hacienda of hope), the only bed and breakfast in all of Honduras, or perhaps the world, whose sole reason for existing is to help the indigenous poor of Honduras. Tourists who stay with us find that we are donating back 100% of all room revenues to support our medical clinic to treat the Mayan Chorti Indians of Central America, who are some of the poorest people on the planet. Indeed, Hacienda La Esperanza has a cause worth supporting. This Spanish Colonial Estate is a welcome relief for many travelers who come to Central America, and it is known for its incredible attention to detail. For example every component of the Hacienda had to be made by hand from authentic period materials From the hand crafted iron work, to the it lovely antique rustic furniture, you will feel as if transported back in time to the late part of 18th century Central America. As you look around you will discover that the Hacienda La Esperanza is filled with all sorts of period antiques, as well as original painting from some of the best artists in Honduras. Visitors are inspired by the peaceful setting of the Hacienda, and often remark about the way the way the world seems to take on a slower pace the moment they arrive. Abundant green vistas, lovely flowers, and numerous native birds, top off the picture perfect effect. With great attention to service, details, and a cause that helps others, you have the winning combination that defines the spirit of Hacienda La Esperanza. Ours is a mood of spirit, combined with a deep respect for our guests. The term "mi casa es su casa" is not a cliche at the Hacienda La Esperanza. We really mean it, and when you enter our gates you become a member of the family.. We care about your needs, and will do everything in our power to see that you are amazed and enchanted with everything about the Hacienda. The heart of the Hacienda is found in our Kitchen. Here we make the magic that you expect. Our breakfasts are famous, and our Honduras dishes and desserts will make your mouth water. All of our vegetables come either from our own organic gardens or from the local markets. All of our guests are free to enjoy our homemade bread at any time. Upon request we are always happy to brew you a cup of our special organic coffee that is grown in the mountains nearby. All of which is complimentary. If you seek, you will find that we are into wildlife and fauna. Here we value, and work in harmony with nature to bring an incredible experience to you. We are very popular with the birding set, and the Hacienda has been listed as a Central American hot spot with sighting of up to 36 different species of birds here on the estate grounds. We are located just outside of the town of Copan Ruinas. The walk into the town is 5 minutes and we offer complimentary rides to town as well as many of the sites. The advantage of this is the serene quietness and great sleep that our guests talk about. The entire Hacienda is enclosed private and gated, with secure parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing