We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda la Esperanza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda la Esperanza
Ranked #2 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I agree with everyone else, this place is wonderful. Not only are the accommodations excellent, the food great and the birding outstanding, Rodger is an amazing host. We were there with our grown children and another couple, taking the three available rooms. All were very happy with their accommodations. Glendy, the cook, served simple Honduran breakfasts, but all were good and generous. Glendy also takes amazing care of the rooms, and did laundry for us. She's a jewel.
Rodger really does take on whatever situations arise as if you were part of the family. When we arrived, my husband and I had not received two of our bags, containing all our dive equipment for a later part of our trip. Rodger was on the phone with the airline and the airport, making sure we were covered. He took us the next day to the bus station down the road where our wandering bags were retrieved without problems.
When my children had an early morning flight from San Pedro Sula, Rodger worked very hard to contact our driver, Gustavo, to make sure he understood how early they needed to be picked up, like at 2 a.m. He was tireless in helping us. We all had to leave at that ungodly hour, and only felt bad that we had disappointed Glendy, because none of us were hungry. She really wanted to feed us!
Rodger seemed always ready to take us up to town, if we wished, and to be generally helpful. He's a wealth of information on everything from what bars to avoid to what guide to look for at the ruins.
The b&b is also connected to the la Esperanza clinic, which it supports. This turned out to be extremely important for me, when I got gastroenteritis. I finally realized it was silly not to see about getting some help, and was glad I did. The doctor was a lovely man who prescribed me two different local medications that he said would fix me up, and they did, almost immediately. I had no more problems in a 5-week trip. The charge for the visit and meds was $8.
As a birding destination, this place is superb, as described in the Watsons' review. There is also excellent birding along the river which runs next to the b&b.
There isn't a pool, but there is one down the street, and there are the amazing hot springs to visit. The ruins are fantastic, the town has a number of restaurants and shops, and none of us felt at all worried for our safety. We enjoyed the walks back to the B&B after dinner in town. It was a wonderful trip and a great place to stay to enjoy the beauties of Copan. Thanks to everyone at Hacienda la Esperanza.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
46
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I, together with three friends, occupied three of the four rooms at this charming B&B for two nights in February. The inn is owned by and serves as the base of operations for "Paramedics for Children", a non-profit NGO that runs a free clinic adjacent to the hacienda. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like members of the family. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, breakfasts are scrumptious and made to order, with lots of fresh fruit, choices of eggs and/or pancakes, fresh-squeezed o.j., etc. all served family style at the large dining table. Rodger, owner and founder of the operation, serves as the gracious host, offering tips and advice on things to do and see in the area, rides to the village center (5 minutes by car, but a bit of a hike for seniors), even how to raid the refrigerator. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of accommodations, and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budhaupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate your staying with us. Please come back soon.

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The folks at Hacienda de Esperanza couldn't be more helpful and hospitable. The lodgings are comfortable; the setting is secure and beautiful; the breakfast is huge (don't miss the toasted home-made bread) and tasty; plus they work together with Gustavo, a guide with a wealth of knowledge about the Ruins and the area. He even picked us up in Guatemala City and drove us to Copan, pointing out interesting facts along the way (the views from which are beautiful)! In addition we felt like one of the family and were very impressed with the medical clinic for the local people that is part of the Hacienda. 5 stars for Roger and his crew!.

Room Tip: Any of the 4 rooms available are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
On Behalf of the entire team at Hacienda La Esperanza we want to thank you for your review of the Hacienda La Esperanza. Please come back soon.

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a wonderful place and great hosts for a visit to Copan. Beautiful grounds with flowers the birds love, so there were many to look at. We saw about 25 species by relaxing before and after breakfast on the terrace. The rooms were very well appointed and Rodger (Suyapa was gone while we were there) and his staff member Glendy were unbelievable. Glendy made sure everything was spotless and neat. The breakfasts she served were full of fruits and typical foods of Honduras, all served in grand style. She even managed to do some laundry for us before we left. Rodger knows the meaning of customer service, although, you are more like family than guests and he makes sure you have everything you need. The location is out of town but close enough to walk, however, many times Rodger was available to give us a ride to town, the Mayan ruins and Macaw Mtn. If you weren’t sure what to do with your time, he knows the area so well, he was full of suggestions. One of the best things about staying there is you are funding the medical clinic for the indigenous Mayan Indians of Central America. This USA non-profit has helped countless children and adults alike live a better life through the money raised by the nightly fee paid to this bed and breakfast. I would be very happy to stay here again when visiting Honduras.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A and B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hello Kennebunkport, Maine,

The nice folks at TripAdvisor say that I can't use your first names but I know who you are and I wanted to say ( after I stopped blushing) please accept our heartfelt thanks for your kind review of the Hacienda. We do our best because we like helping others, and if we fail to give the best service, then we also fail the children that we support through the funds we receive. Thanks so much, and please return super pronto!

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Staying at Hacienda la Esperanza was like staying with friends or family for us. Rodger made us feel at home from the first moment on. Everything easy and relaxed.
My impression was: It's about people, not money. You pay a fair price for wounderful accommodation and food, and the money you spend goes to a hospital that helps local children for free. In otherwords: It's a place full of good vibration :).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Mr.T,

I use that name because the guidelines of Trip Advisor tell us not to use your real name, so I just want to thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, it is not about the money. It is about making our guests feel like they have made a new friend rather than just stayed at some Bed and Breakfast.

We are driven to do our best for our clients because so much depends on it. Blessings to you and your family. I hope we see you again.

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

A couple of friends rode their motorcycles from Mexico and the US to visit me in Honduras this past month. They are fantastic hosts when I ride to their countries so I wanted to show them a special time while in Honduras. Of course hotel selection was crucial and Hacienda La Esperanza did not disappoint. Rodger´s hospitality is unmatched. It is really like being part of the family. Beautiful property plus you get the best breakfast and homemade bread in Copan. Like the title says we only wish we could have stayed more days. If you are looking for a special place to stay while in Copan this is it. If theme hotels are your idea of special then there´s a Clarion right in front of the ruins.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustav01967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hello mi amigo,

The only person, other than yourself who wanted you to stay more days than you did, was us.

You guys were great. TA does not allow me to say your names, but please tell the others in your party that we enjoyed them staying with us as much as you enjoyed visiting with us. I have always said that a stranger/guest is just a friend that you haven't met yet, and you proved it.

We will always remember you and I hope we see you again on your next visit to Copan.

Keep your lumber stacked neatly and be sure to keep dat bike between the ditches! Varooooom!

Your friend,

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

For the best in hospitality, delicious food, authenticity, and to bring additional meaningfulness to your time in Copan, stay at Hacienda la Esperanza. This B&B operates as a non-profit in partnership with the adjacent medical clinic and your stay helps fund this important work. Rodger is deeply invested in the Copan community and has a wealth of information and insight to share. We appreciated the tranquility and beautiful surroundings of the property while also being within walking distance of downtown. We immediately felt at home here and were welcomed with warmth and generosity in the homelike atmosphere. The rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed our time spent here as much as our time exploring the Copan area; it is not simply a place to sleep. Our only regret was not staying longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Ms "C"

Thanks so much for the great review. It means a lot to us to know that we have pleased you. If there is anything you ever need from us please do not hesitate to call. If in your future travels around the sun, you ever find your self on a course, to our part of the world, please know that you are truly a welcomed, and honored guest.

Blessings,

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
2.4 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Berakah
Hostal Berakah
#4 of 22 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda la Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda la Esperanza

Property: Hacienda la Esperanza
Address: Barrio Titichon en Copan Ruinas, Copan 504, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Esperanza (The hacienda of hope), the only bed and breakfast in all of Honduras, or perhaps the world, whose sole reason for existing is to help the indigenous poor of Honduras. Tourists who stay with us find that we are donating back 100% of all room revenues to support our medical clinic to treat the Mayan Chorti Indians of Central America, who are some of the poorest people on the planet. Indeed, Hacienda La Esperanza has a cause worth supporting. This Spanish Colonial Estate is a welcome relief for many travelers who come to Central America, and it is known for its incredible attention to detail. For example every component of the Hacienda had to be made by hand from authentic period materials From the hand crafted iron work, to the it lovely antique rustic furniture, you will feel as if transported back in time to the late part of 18th century Central America. As you look around you will discover that the Hacienda La Esperanza is filled with all sorts of period antiques, as well as original painting from some of the best artists in Honduras. Visitors are inspired by the peaceful setting of the Hacienda, and often remark about the way the way the world seems to take on a slower pace the moment they arrive. Abundant green vistas, lovely flowers, and numerous native birds, top off the picture perfect effect. With great attention to service, details, and a cause that helps others, you have the winning combination that defines the spirit of Hacienda La Esperanza. Ours is a mood of spirit, combined with a deep respect for our guests. The term "mi casa es su casa" is not a cliche at the Hacienda La Esperanza. We really mean it, and when you enter our gates you become a member of the family.. We care about your needs, and will do everything in our power to see that you are amazed and enchanted with everything about the Hacienda. The heart of the Hacienda is found in our Kitchen. Here we make the magic that you expect. Our breakfasts are famous, and our Honduras dishes and desserts will make your mouth water. All of our vegetables come either from our own organic gardens or from the local markets. All of our guests are free to enjoy our homemade bread at any time. Upon request we are always happy to brew you a cup of our special organic coffee that is grown in the mountains nearby. All of which is complimentary. If you seek, you will find that we are into wildlife and fauna. Here we value, and work in harmony with nature to bring an incredible experience to you. We are very popular with the birding set, and the Hacienda has been listed as a Central American hot spot with sighting of up to 36 different species of birds here on the estate grounds. We are located just outside of the town of Copan Ruinas. The walk into the town is 5 minutes and we offer complimentary rides to town as well as many of the sites. The advantage of this is the serene quietness and great sleep that our guests talk about. The entire Hacienda is enclosed private and gated, with secure parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing