We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget option”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada de Belssy
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed in a room with a double bed and a single bed. I sprang for the AC, and I recommend that you do as well if you're in Copan during the summer, because it's really hot. The room had TV with cable. There are plenty of electical outlets for charging your gadgets. The hotel also has wifi, though it was not always reliable; they are trying to change their provider. There is drinking water and coffee gratis for guests. The room has deep shelves for clothes, though one bed is pushed up against them, so they are hard to access. I was sleeping OK here, until they changed all the mattresses. The new ones were too soft for my taste. They are also so high that you can't sit on them to put on your shoes. The bathroom is on the small side, and you get a liquid soap dispenser in the shower, but not a washcloth, instead of bar soap. And while hot water comes via electric showerhead, it was the best that I've ever come across, you get good pressure at a comfortable temperature. As another reviewer noted, the towels are rather thin. The roof top is a nice place to hang out, read, surf the web, or use the kitchen to make a light meal or coffee. The pool is a great option just to dunk yourself and get some relief from the heat, though there was one afternoon when one of the kids of the family owning the hotel was up there with his friends, running around all over the roof area and disrupting an otherwise tranquil spot. Overall, the Posada is a good option if you're looking for something that's much more than a hostel but you don't want to pay western-style hotel prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_in_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    42
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
36
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have stayed here twice and have booked again to go this weekend. It's perfect for us. Cheap, simple comfortable rooms, nice staff and the bonus of the rooftop pool! The weather in Cópan is hot so it's great to be able to cool off after a day of walking or visiting the ruins and the view from the roof is pretty good. It's located one block away from the Parque Central so very handy for all the lovely cafes and restaurants in town and it's on the road that heads out towards the ruins.

Some reviewers have complained that the basement rooms are dark. However they are also nice and cool so we recommend the basement for a good night's sleep! There's plenty sun outside all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is recommended in the Lonely Planet, one of the few that are for Copan but there are more hotels in town that aren't in the book. We originally were going to stay one night in Copan, see the Ruins then leave but due to our shuttle not leaving for two more days we had to stay longer so stayed three nights in total at Belssy hotel. The family that run it are friendly, not a lot of English is spoken though. The private room was a good size with a double bed and single bed, fan, air conditioner (that you could pay extra to use), tv and a good sized bathroom. The hot water is not very hot in the shower. The rooftop area is lovely with two hammocks and a kitchen area. There's a pool on the rooftop too but that wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this family-run place very much. There's a sparsely equipped kitchen on the rooftop terrace. A tiny pool (just for cooling down), free drinking water (you can even refill your bottles), they did our laundry (cheap) and the room facing the street was nice and big with a closet, shelf, table and private bath. Best place we could find in town, worth every dollar. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaWeHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We arrived late at night and the room we were shown was dingy, loud, and way more expensive than the quoted price. There are better options in town not listed in the book or on Trip Advisor. I am working on listing them now....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TannerPuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Not the best hotel in town but it worked. It was clean and calm. I stayed on room 34 and my only complain would be the bed. It seem to be old, you can't get a good nigh on it, but hey, it was an emergency night. If you are going solo is ok, if you are a couple look for other option since bed is not so comfortable. The front desk is always empty, you have to search for the staff around the hotel hahaha, but it just cost $30.00 for a double. It has a parking lot on the back for your car, that is a plus.

Room Tip: I stayed on room 34, it was not noisy. Bathroom worked well and the water pressure on the shower was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We were on the lower level in a cold, damp room that had poor lighting, very noisy location. Small room with limited walking area. We only spent two nights here but recommend only spending one night. After you visit the Mayan Ruins you can get a bus out of Copan Ruinas as there is nothing else to do. Make sure you confirm the price of hotel on arrival as we were told one price and charged differently on check out.

Room Tip: There are better choices in Copan Ruinas, shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhecardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#10 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada
La Posada
#11 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yaragua
Hotel Yaragua
#18 of 21 in Copan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Jenny
Hotel Mar Jenny
#13 of 21 in Copan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Belssy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Belssy

Property: La Posada de Belssy
Address: Barrio El Centro | Calle Acropolis, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing