We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bang for your buck”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #19 of 21 Copan B&B and Inns
Ottawa OntARIO
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best bang for your buck”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you go to Copan there is one hotel which stands out more than the others for price quality and good service. When I travel to a new city or village I always check into a moderately priced hotel for one night or two and from there I check out all the hotels that cater to my needs such as price TV wifi maid service quiet swimming pool and close to central park where the "action" is. I then move to the hotel of my choosing for a long stay. I spend the winter months south because I rather hug and/or sit under a palm tree than shovel snow. This hotel is in my opinion luxurious and secure. The name of the hotel says it all. It's high up on the most elevated area of Copan and the view is breathtaking. You are only three blocks from "parque central" the central park which is basically the centre of town where all the action is. There is no restaurant or bar there however there are many fine restaurants in Copan which serve delicious food at very reasonable prices. In fact just one block below the hotel there is the Sol de Copan restaurant and brewery which I frequent often. Thomas the German owner whom is married to Elsa a local woman for over 15 years now and has two boys whom speak perfect German as well as Elsa,is a brew master and brews his own beer with no additives. His German and local cuisine is excellent at a very reasonable price. You can see my write up on trip advisor on this restaurant. The administrator for the Buena Vista hotel Gustavo is a distinguished gentlemen whom will give you good service and cater to your every need.. He does not speak much English however his young son and daughter do. Two years ago I spent seven months there and last year three months which says a lot. You can rent one of the hotel rooms for $20.00 a day and if it's for two it's another $15.00. Should you stay say one week or two you will get a reduced rate. The same applies for on a monthly basis. There is security at the hotel the door being locked at night .Having stayed in Copan for several months on two occasions I can tell you that it is safe there ,Even walking the streets at night is safe. If you want to see how the locals live go to the Expresso American coffee shop at the corner facing the park. There you can sit outside smoke a cigarette sip on a coffee and watch the locals and tourists go by. There is also the 'Macaw Mountains' bird park about six km away. You can get there by tuk tuk taxi . You pay 30 lempiras $1;50 US to get there. There is a $10.00 entrance fee. and a coffee shop and restaurant. There are many parrots and other species of birds to see. A guide can accommodate you. All you pay is a tip. Worthwhile to go. There is also the Agua Caliente "Hot Springs: and you can go to the Via Via restaurant near the park to book a mini bus to go there. It's $10.00 fot the bus return and $10.00 for the hot springs.
Should you decide to go to Copan to see the Mayan ruins,[there are two of them] which are awesome, I strongly recommend the Buena Vista Hotel. Should you decide to go there,give my regards to my friend Gustavo Just say "Guy [pronounced Guee] dija hola. or "Guy says hello" In passing I might mention that you have good sunny weather in October on whereas in the rest of the country including the Bay Islands it is rain till January.
Guy from Ottawa Canada

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

If it happens that you land in Buena Vista Hotel in Copan (Honduras), you will probably try to extend your Copan visit for a couple of extra days. The place is very relaxing and friendly and has a perfect location close to the centre (10 min walk), side street, on the hill. The owner and his family live at the hotel premises, so you see them almost all day and feel very safe. The rooms have decently sized and nice private baths. There was a TV and A/C in the rooms. Having the corner room at the upper level, on the evening we felt a very fresh breeze from the mountain. The big court area full of flowers has a nice swimming pool and outdoor furniture where you can relax at evening-time and have a good breakfast at request.
The only small thing that you have to accept is the evening gathering of the owner's family, their friends and neighbours at the front door of the hotel which may be very noisy till the late hours but is a part of their culture. During the day there are always friends visiting the owner's family but we felt that it was not affecting the level of security at the hotel. The fridge at the lobby offers only bottled water and some local beer would be welcome option for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latawiec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We were traveling with our children and wanted to make sure we had a pool at the hotel. Hotel Buena Vista was the perfect choice for our family. The room was clean. Air conditioning worked. There was a television in our room. But, most importantly, we could sit by the pool all afternoon in the extremely hot temperatures. There's no food service available at the hotel. But, the reception desk was very helpful and called out for food to be delivered. We LOVED the baleadas in Honduras!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is a lovely hotel just outside of town. Very popular with Hondurans. We stayed in a triple room which was very clean and comfortable. No breakfast but we got free tea and coffee. The swimming pool was FAB and the people were very friendly. Great hotel in a great town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I stayed here for two nights in early May. I wanted a place with a pool that wasn't too expensive. This place was wonderful. The pool area, surrounded by cozy (covered) seating areas and leafy plants, was beautiful and relaxing, with tables and lounge chairs. I spent time there every day. My room was extremely clean, and the mattress seemed brand new, and was perfect. The bathroom was a little small, but the shower was big, and the water was hot. A/C worked great, and it was also nice to have a standing, rotating fan to circulate breezes from the windows. They also had cable TV, but I actually never even turned it on. No restaurant on site, but free water bottle refills, which was really nice.

The view was beautiful, like the name implies. The family who run it were incredibly friendly and helpful. The father used to work at Marina Copan and said this is his dream. I stayed Friday and Saturday night, but my bus Sunday wasn't until 6pm, and they had no problems with me hanging out by the pool for the afternoon. It's three blocks up a steep hill from the central park, but I would usually walk down to town and then take a moto-taxi back for less than $0.50 per ride (10 lempira) . They will also call a moto-taxi for you. It was actually nice not being right on the square because it was quieter at night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Arrived in Copan to find our other choices full, but was able to get a room here.
The hotel was recently sold and the new owners have done extensive work to the building, adding a swimming pool and a beautiful veranda, (to what was a parking area.) And they are talking about doing further renovations, (enlarging the bathrooms.) The Hotel sits on a high hill within the town, offering great views of the town, the valley and the surrounding hills.
The rooms are nice, not luxurious. Each has A/C, TV and free WiFi. Beds were very comfortable, 2 of the rooms on the second floor have small balconies that really made the rooms feel much more spacious. They also have a private, enclosed parking lot attached to the hotel, that was very secure.
My Spanish is poor, as was the manager's English, but we were able to communicate and they were very gracious. Anything we needed, they were willing to help with. The service we received was impeccable. Later thru their 10 year old son (who spoke excellent English), we found that the hotel was bought by his grandparents, and that his parents were managing it for them.
The price we paid was roughly half of what the popular hotels in Copan charge, and we used the swimming pool each day. The price alone makes the Buena Vista worth checking out, the views and the people who will take care of you, should clinch the deal.
If we would return to Copan in the near future, I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yucatan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yaragua
Hotel Yaragua
#19 of 21 in Copan
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#13 of 21 in Copan
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Calle El Escribano and Avenida Mirador, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing