We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, close to town center.”
Review of Terramaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terramaya
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan Ruinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This place is only 2 years old and the rooms are very nice and clean. The breakfast is really good and the staff is great also. It's only a couple blocks from town center and an easy walk to the Copan ruins. They have TV's in the room but no english channels, they have DVD's you can just borrow and play in your room.

Only downside for me was the noise. I was in room #4, facing the street and did find it quite noisy with all the traffic. There's a dog somewhere nearby that keeps barking and the locals hang out just down the street and you can hear them talk very easily. But then again, I'm a light sleeper and I'm in bed by 10 so depends how late you stay up and how soundly you sleep.

I really wish it wasn't up that steep hill because then it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Get room 5 or 6, facing the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank French_Chick020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

I have been a member for some years and in my travels this is only the second time I have ever written in about an exceptional experience!
Last week I had one of those moments in the most unexpected places, Copan de Ruins in Honduras. My husband and I stayed at Terramaya (504) 2651 4623.
After being in nature all day what a wonderful place to come home to! From location, to service to cleanliness you will have a hard time beating this sancturay! I have stayed in many wonderful hotels (5 star) but this was simple and elegant at it's best! The attention to details have all been well thought out from the moment you walk into the entrance you are transformed. We were greeted as old friends and offered something to drink.
We lavished in the Jacuzzi tub and shower then took our drinks to our balcony to rest in the hammock and look at the perfect mountain views. If that is not enough there is a small beautiful garden below, that even has a private massage room.
Breakfast was serviced the next morning at our convenience on the downstrairs terrace while white curtains blew in the breeze, was wonderful in setting and simple great food. They also have two other property's which are also very clean and airy, although does not have the same setting but would still highly recommend!
THERE IS NO POOL BUT WOULD NOT CHANGE ON THE LIST FOR SOME REASON SORRY

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Once you stay one night, you won't want to leave (ever). My husband and I recently spent 6 nights at Terramaya in Room #5. The service was impeccable, always ready to please, but never intrusive. I have a high standard of cleanliness and Terramaya far exceeded that. The breakfast each morning was something different and always outstanding. You can walk from Terramaya to everything in town. If you need help with anything just ask Mariana the onsite Manager, she is knowledgable and wonderful. Thank you Angela and Howard for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra charge for Room #5 or Room #6 so you have the extra space with a private de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scruffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

I had an amazing time staying in this place, must say though that the price was more than i wanted to spent but definitely worth it! The service outstanding, great location from the central park and good restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sramaya06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We loved our stay here! Staff was super fabulous, every minute every day. Location perfect, close to town, we walked everywhere. Breakfast wonderful! Great birds and views from our balcony. Pygmy owl outside our room every morning...and yes barking dogs and crowing roosters... this is, after all, Honduras. We LOVED it. We'll stay here first choice next visit!

Room Tip: Balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I agonized over what hotel to book for our stay in Copan reading many Tripadvisor hotel reviews. Ultimately we chose the Terramaya and I am so glad we did. From the time we arrived until the moment we left we felt like guests in a friends home. Angela and Howard are gracious hosts, and both engaged us in conversation, as well as respected our privacy. Marianna the manager could not do enough to ensure our comfortable stay including providing us coffee and snacks for our 6 a.m. departure. The hotel is within easy walking distance down the hill to the main town square (where tuk tuks are available for the uphill return!) but far enough out of the bustle. We had room five for three nights which had a fantastic view of the mountains, and the terrific hammock to relax in. The hotel was immaculate, and our room was spacious with a large comfortable bed. Although the hotel does not have a bar, they do have beer and wine by the glass available for purchase. They assisted us with arranging for a guide for the ruins as well as a trip to the hot springs. We did not notice any dogs barking as other posters mentioned, but we did notice the roosters crowing, so light sleepers may want to run the air conditioner which covered up the noise. We noticed this at other hotels we stayed at during our trip to Central America and in no way detracted from our stay at Terramaya. We would return in a heartbeat. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

Room Tip: Room Five and Six are worth the extra cost due to the fantastic view over the hotel gardens and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaatravelgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I again arrived with no previous booking but was lucky enough to get Room 5 (I love the tiled numbers of the room fitted into the walls). The design and decor of the hotel fits in beautifully with its surroundings as it is light and airy but at the same time solid. It was perfect: the bedroom I had had very high ceilings which made it seem much larger, although it was already quite large and everything was sparkling clean. The bed was glorious, fab hot-water showers, the room had everything I needed but the best was the terrace. I would lay in my hammock of a late afternoon swaying in the minimal breeze and watching night fall across the countryside, the view was really magical. A plentiful and fresh breakfast on the terrace downstairs was a great way to start the day (after watching the world come to life from my hammock of course) and the staff were perfect - all smiles and as helpful as could be. The owners Angela and Howard were the perfect hosts and helped with me anything I needed - thank you both for everything - this really was a haven.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaghdadSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan Ruinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda San Lucas
Hotel Hacienda San Lucas
#3 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
#5 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
#15 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terramaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terramaya

Address: Ave Centroamerica, 2 1/2 blks North of Central Park | Copan Ruinas, Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan Ruinas
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan Ruinas
Price Range: £79 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terramaya is a charming six room property featuring superb panoramic views and the best in comfort, service and value. The architecture is a mix of contemporary and local design elements featuring exposed wood beams, 21 foot cathedral ceilings, granite counter tops, private gardens and terraces. A/C, ceiling fans, queen beds, free internet, library, hammocks, hand crafted hardwood furniture. Full complimentary breakfast. Lovely garden with massage pavilion, outdoor shower. Close to everything, on Copan's most picturesque street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Terramaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing