We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service and Accomadations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Terramaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terramaya
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
“Excellent Service and Accomadations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were very happy with our stay at Terramaya. The beds were comfortable, the showers spacious, and the service excellent. Even when the town lost electricity, the hotel ensured our comfort by starting up an on-site generator. Each time we had a little extra time, we relaxed on the outdoor patio, and Mariana, the receptionist, or one of the other help brought us coffee and iced tea.

Room Tip: Room 5 was awesome....big back balcony with a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
115
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The comfort and hospitality of Terramaya is beyond comparison in the Copan Ruinas region.
One word can fully describe this beautiful boutique hotel - ambiance! The breakfast is something to remember - fresh, hot and delicious. We met and talked to one of the owners - Angela - delightful and informative. Definitely the place when visiting Copan Ruinas. An outstanding value.
Ask to stay in room #6 - a few dollars more - worth every cent.

Room Tip: Room #6 views, ambiance, value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelizeMon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel. Making our reservation via email was simple and Howard replied immediately to all my queries and confirmed our reservation quickly and efficiently. On arrival, we were greeted by the receptionist, Mariana, who was just wonderful on every occasion we met here. Our room was spacious and comfortable and Angela, the charming owner, was waiting to chat with us each morning at breakfast on the terrace.
Many thanks to all the staff for making our brief visit to Honduras ( just two nights in Copan to visit the Maya site) so enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
Just an aside, we visited Copan during a trip driving a rental car around Guatemala and had no problems whatsoever crossing the border or anytime during the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angloitalotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our stay at Terramaya while visiting Copan Ruinas. Owners Howard and Angela are gracious hosts with exquisite attention to detail. Rooms are spacious, spotless and very tasteful with custom furniture, crisp linens and bright baths with granite counters. The main areas are lovely as well. Walking into their beautiful entry is a quiet respite from a busy street, with unlimited purified water, tea or coffee offered at all times of day. Breakfast in the beautiful garden is hearty and delicious, with varying menus including great local coffee and fresh fruit. This is served with linens and china: no buffet here! All of the staff, from Howard and Angela to the front desk clerk Fatima and our waitress Maria were so kind and extremely helpful. They were very helpful in guiding us to activities, including visitation of the amazing ruins and hot springs, as well as recommending restaurants. Copan is a must-do on your visit to Honduras, and you should definitely stay at Terramaya or it's sister propery, Casa de Cafe. They are the best in town!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have lived and traveled throughout South America my whole life. I enjoy ruinas, people and a relaxing atmosphere. Howard and Angela showed a fabulous time, even taking us to a party in honor of the Peruvian ambassador. Having lived in Lima, Peru this was quite a treat. The hotel is wonderful and the staff bends over backwards to ensure that all your needs are met. I cannot express how wonderful our stay was. Thank you Howard and Angela. Art and Sharon

Room Tip: Go for rooms 5 or r
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Howard & Angela (and their team) were the most welcoming hosts that made our group feel very pampered. If you want a bit of space from the backpackers and raging party-goers then you'll find your space of tranquility in this white-walled and timber framed villa. This boutique hotel is less than 150m from the town's central park up a small hill paved with a quaint cobblestoned road.

Room Tip: first-in best-dressed to grab one of two mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Entrada, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Lovely place. It looks brand new and is sparkling clean. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Breakfast is delicious every morning. The room was beautiful and exactly as described on the website. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma5552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.2 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terramaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terramaya

Property: Terramaya
Address: Ave Centroamerica, 2 1/2 blks North of Central Park | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terramaya is a charming six room property featuring superb panoramic views and the best in comfort, service and value. The architecture is a mix of contemporary and local design elements featuring exposed wood beams, 21 foot cathedral ceilings, granite counter tops, private gardens and terraces. A/C, ceiling fans, queen beds, free internet, library, hammocks, hand crafted hardwood furniture. Full complimentary breakfast. Lovely garden with massage pavilion, outdoor shower. Close to everything, on Copan's most picturesque street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terramaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing