We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetest spot in Copan”
Review of Terramaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terramaya
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweetest spot in Copan”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Friendliest staff and lovely accommodation. We stayed in room 5 and the balcony has a gorgeous view. Great value. Highly recommended. They even emailed my sister about hotel tips in Nicaragua when we spoke about our travel plans!

Room Tip: Number 5 is the room to pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Findinglauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
117
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked here for the $80 room and was upgraded to the top $100 room for free. The staff here is quite helpful, grounds and views are amazing. Breakfast and coffee were above expectations. Copan is an amazingly sleepy town with friendly people. Planned on staying here for only two days and extended it to 5; in large part due to the amazing accommodation at Terramaya.

Room Tip: Get the $100 rooms on the top floor. Well worth the added money for the views and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

WOW, I really can not say enough about how great our visit to this hotel was! I can not think of one single bad thing to say about the hotel, the service, the breakfast, the rooms and the ambiance! The town was also incredible and the hotel was very close to everything.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms have a nice hammock on the balcony with a great view of the forest (only 2). The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

An absolutely charming hotel. Located 2.5 blocks up the hill from the central plaza. Exceedingly helpful staff - especially Mariana, who always greeted us with a smile and was very helpful in providing advice. The hotel does have an emergency generator, which is a plus! Good wifi signal. We arranged for massages at the hotel, which were conducted on a private outdoor patio on the property (that also had an outdoor shower for showering off afterwards). Excellent breakfast - it differed every day we were there, and when we had an early pickup to go to Ceiba, the staff packed up fruit and sandwiches to go. The hotel also helped us arrange for rides from San Pedro Sula and to Ceiba. Definitely worth the extra money to stay in one of the larger suites on the top floor with the garden view. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Not many 5.0s should be awarded, but this place is exceptional There are possibly only about 8 rooms, but each is special. Mine on the second floor looked out onto the gorgeous gardens below and was embellished by a 180 degree view of the quaint town and mountains beyond. From the moment you step inside and are greeted by the manager, you see wood work of remarkable quality; high ceilings; whitewashed walls; and excellent taste in furnishings and artwork. The French doors invite one to relax outside in the garden meticulously maintained. The drinks, hors d' oeuvres, and especially the breakfasts are hard to beat in Honduras. The lovely staff makes you wish you could take them home with you. Do not miss the opportunity to visit one of Honduras' finest small hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in Copan a few months ago at Terramaya and it was like being in paradise. I have
never seen a place kept so clean!!!!!!!!! I couldnt find not one cobweb or spot of anything on the floor. The breakfast was served on a heavenly patio overlooking a tropical garden and the food
was delicious. The hostess and the rest of the staff were on target and always where they were supposed to be and very very helpful. There was a doorman to greet you at the gate when arriving. Just a perfect place!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honduras
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent two nights here this past week with a two-room booking. Our companions loved the room with a terrace which included a very classy Jacuzzi-tub as well as a large terrace with postcard-esque views.

This was my second stay at Terramaya and while I'd always been impressed with the location and service, this time the staff simply outdid themselves with multiple out-of-the-ordinary requests for help.

After driving on the road to Copan which I will only describe as "unique," with a few over-friendly kisses by speed bumps, we discovered that the brake light to our car would not turn off. At 7:30pm, in the rain, Fatima managed to find an electrical mechanic and had him fix the small problem for us for less than $10--all by herself while we were out eating. Incredible. Saved me the hassle of having to hunt around all over town and allowed me to truly enjoy my evening with my friends.

Secondly, I asked the girls at the front desk to help me arrange some flowers for a gift and really, the staff went above-and-beyond anything I could have expected.

All around, I am very happy to see such a wonderful business thriving in Copan and providing jobs to numerous locals who, as was obvious, love their work!

Thank you to everyone at Terramaya for the outstanding stay.

Room Tip: Treat yourself and ask for the Jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitHonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.2 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terramaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terramaya

Property: Terramaya
Address: Ave Centroamerica, 2 1/2 blks North of Central Park | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terramaya is a charming six room property featuring superb panoramic views and the best in comfort, service and value. The architecture is a mix of contemporary and local design elements featuring exposed wood beams, 21 foot cathedral ceilings, granite counter tops, private gardens and terraces. A/C, ceiling fans, queen beds, free internet, library, hammocks, hand crafted hardwood furniture. Full complimentary breakfast. Lovely garden with massage pavilion, outdoor shower. Close to everything, on Copan's most picturesque street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Terramaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing