We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, wonderful service”
Review of La Casa de Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Cafe
Ranked #1 of 21 Copan Ruinas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I would 100% recommend this place over any other in all of Copan. The staff were incredible friendly, welcoming, and helpful, and the view is gorgeous! There is a small terrace that overlooks the mountains where the staff serves you breakfast every morning. The food is delicious and there is free coffee and tea. The tea is fresh lemongrass tea straight from their garden. The maid service was amazing as well. I was shocked to find my room cleaned two times in one day and little mints and notes left on my pillow! There's hot water and I felt incredibly safe there as well. It's in a good location: just a few minutes walk from the town center and all of the restaurants, and it is quiet at night. Stay here. You won't regret it! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

I showed up in Copan without much of an idea where to stay, but a helpful person pointed me in the direction of Casa Cafe. Quiet (yet a only a short walk from the center), clean, secure, great breakfasts and a comfortable atmosphere with some great views from the communal garden area. The hosts were helpful with various enquiries, and suggestions on what to do. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank invadedbyiceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Howard is simply the perfect host. We felt at home from the moment we stepped onto the beautiful property, just outside of the centre of Copan Ruinas. The staff are all very attentive, friendly and efficient. The breakfast was delicious and full of variety: eggs, fruits, juices and even waffles - all enjoyed in the gardens overlooking the mountains. They even provide small evening snacks and a cold beer after a long day of exploring.

To top it all off, Howard promised to e-mail me his suggestions for Antigua restaurants. When he found out he didn't have my e-mail address, he e-mailed our hotel in Antigua instead! What a guy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just stayed 3 nights at Casa de cafe in Copan, lovely gardens, clean room and a really filling, healthy breakfast which varies so you don't get bored of the same thing each morning! Staff and owners were lovely and free coffee, water and tea available all day was a lovely touch.

Views across the mountains to Guatemala were lovely especially at sunset and sunrise, not too far from the Central Park, and if you would like to improve your fitness it's a good walk to the Copan ruins (around half an hour) or 5 minutes by TukTuk (costs around 20 lempiras or 1USD).

Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit-on-the-move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Casa del Cafe is on the Southern edge of town, a mere 5 minutes walk to the village center. It has 10 rooms in 2 rows of 5 inside a perfectly landscaped garden. Each room has a double bed, a ceiling fan, and a nice bathroom with hot water shower, toilet and sink. Everything is spotlessly clean, and the atmosphere is serene. The price (we paid 55 USD/night + tax) includes a full breakfast with a nice fruit platter, omelet (or wafers) with bread, butter, marmalade, honey, coffee or tea - a full meal that allows you to skip lunch if you are not a huge eater. Coffee and tea (as well as bottled water) is available free of charge all day. The service staff is incredibly efficient, friendly,and helpful. Howard, the owner, is an American who used to be a teacher in Honduras, knows the country very well, and is very helpful. All in all, a great place to stay, even for people used to luxury (the fans are good enough as the temperature comes down nicely at night). Only problem (not specific to Casa del Cafe) is the dogs at night: they start barking at every opportunity and it can be quite a nuisance.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zecmanriodulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Perfect place for an exploration trip to the Copan ruins. Charming bilingual staff and fresh coffee always available. Tasty breakfast in the lovely tropical garden. Rooms and facilities are very basic but everything necessary is there, incl hammocks, wifi and a small library. Feel at home with your cup of coffee or a shot of rum and have a massage after an exhausting day. Roads in this town are a disaster, watch out when travelling by a rental car, or better take a tuk-tuk.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank kerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at Casa de Cafe for 3 nights last February and had a fantastic time. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming and helpful in sharing travel info and stories. The hotel was simple in a zen-like way, with colorful gardens and hammocks in the yard. Breakfasts were healthy and filling and tasty. My friend got a tummy bug, and Howard and Angela helped her with advice, and even sent an employee to the market to get pedialite for her to prevent dehydration. It really felt like they had your back, which was so comforting. When we moved on to Guatemala,they gave us a ride to the bus station and a list of their favorite spots in Antigua to explore. I would stay with Howard and Angela anytime I was in Copan and highly recommend their hotel, for friendliness,comfort, and relaxation. The massages given there are fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duenjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copan Ruinas
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
158 reviews
25 mi away
Grand Caporal Hotel
Grand Caporal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chiquimula
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Posada
La Posada
#14 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
454 reviews
0 mi away
Iguana Azul
Iguana Azul
#1 of 10 in Copan Ruinas
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Cafe

Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blks West of Central Park, Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan Ruinas
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan Ruinas
Price Range: £45 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1995, La Casa de Cafe is a colonial inspired B&B Inn and a charming and comfortable base from which to explore Copan. All rooms offer oversized windows, hand crafted furniture and open to a shady porch strung with hammocks. Full complimentary breakfast is served in our garden which boasts a spectacular view of the Copan River Valley and the distant mountains of Guatemala. Complimentary coffee (the best in town), herbal teas, iced tea & hot chocolate served any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Cafe Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing