We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of La Casa de Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Cafe
Ranked #1 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

La Casa de Cafe is a beautiful property with excellent service and a convenient location just a few blocks from the central park. The town and surrounding area have lots to offer and this is a great place to return from excursions and relax at the end of the day in one of the many hammocks overlooking the beautiful countryside. A delicious breakfast is included, and light snacks are also available for purchase throughout the day.
The rooms have ceiling fans, private bath with plenty of hot water, wireless service, and the welcoming staff is always on hand to answer questions or assist as needed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhbowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    44
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
164
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to spend the night with a splendid view and a very nice garden with lots of beautiful flowers and nice green grass. I wish we had stayed there for more than one night! The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was nice and the towels were very soft and clean. The hotel was not too far from the center of the town and yet very quiet. The breakfast was good with freshly pressed orange juice and good coffe. The staff was very nice and helpful. In the garden just in front of our room we could sit and enjoy our breakfast. There was also a hamac to lay down and rest. A nice place to spend one or several nights!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Josselyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Reunion, Guatemala
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A visit to Copan is a must....the ruins, the restaurants and the local cheeses made for a great weekend and Casa de Cafe was a good home base. Close enough to walk to town easily but out of the noise and congestion. Very nice folks who clearly wanted your stay to be a good one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillLaReunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If your'e on the fence about a trip to Copan, or where to stay, I fully recommend staying at Casa de Cafe. It was one of the best places I have ever stayed at, when considering atmosphere, service, location, and quality of the rooms. The view from the gardens outside the private rooms with private baths are breathtaking. Within the garden itself, there are many different palms and beautiful flowers, which attract great colorful birds and little geckos. Each morning you will be served a wonderful fresh, delicious breakfast by staff who could not be more kind and generous! They really take care of their guests. There is free coffee and lemon grass tea available all day long (and I don't mean you can make coffee in a little pot in your room, it's the full service set up with all the best accouterments!) If you have not traveled in Latin America before, another major benefit is the free drinkable water and ice available all day. It's a nice touch so that you do not have to purchase several bottles of water on your trip.

The rooms are comfortable, and simple, but very clean and inviting. The outdoor patio is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the peaceful view. It is close enough to walk to the city in about 4 or 5 minutes, and you are in a safe area, so walking (even at night) is the way to go. If you are going to the Ruins, then you will be about a 25 minute walk, but there are sidewalks and walking paths along the way. Or if you prefer, you can take local transportation for about $1 per person each way.

If you are looking for a place to get away, and really relax and enjoy the beauty of Copan, and you want to be treated very well, this is definitely the hotel you should stay at! It was well worth the money, and I will definitely do it again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. Perfect location - a two minute walk to downtown. We loved it! Service is great, wonderful breakfast in the morning, nice garden, hammocks for hanging out and relaxing and a wonderful host. Ask Howard anything about the area and he has the answer. If you find yourself in Copan this is the place to stay!!! Again, great location, service, staff and host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angpickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I would 100% recommend this place over any other in all of Copan. The staff were incredible friendly, welcoming, and helpful, and the view is gorgeous! There is a small terrace that overlooks the mountains where the staff serves you breakfast every morning. The food is delicious and there is free coffee and tea. The tea is fresh lemongrass tea straight from their garden. The maid service was amazing as well. I was shocked to find my room cleaned two times in one day and little mints and notes left on my pillow! There's hot water and I felt incredibly safe there as well. It's in a good location: just a few minutes walk from the town center and all of the restaurants, and it is quiet at night. Stay here. You won't regret it! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I showed up in Copan without much of an idea where to stay, but a helpful person pointed me in the direction of Casa Cafe. Quiet (yet a only a short walk from the center), clean, secure, great breakfasts and a comfortable atmosphere with some great views from the communal garden area. The hosts were helpful with various enquiries, and suggestions on what to do. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invadedbyiceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Cafe

Property: La Casa de Cafe
Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1995, La Casa de Cafe is a colonial inspired B&B Inn and a charming and comfortable base from which to explore Copan. All rooms offer oversized windows, hand crafted furniture and open to a shady porch strung with hammocks. Full complimentary breakfast is served in our garden which boasts a spectacular view of the Copan River Valley and the distant mountains of Guatemala. Complimentary coffee (the best in town), herbal teas, iced tea & hot chocolate served any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Cafe Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing