We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Bed & Breakfast”
Review of La Casa de Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Cafe
Ranked #1 of 21 Copan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you're heading to Copan, Honduras, this is the place to stay. This place offers luxury accommodation and service at budget backpacker prices. The beds are new, sheets soft, and the hot water heater means the showers are always hot and there's no risk of being electrocuted. The wifi is also remarkably fast. On top of this, you can ask for big cups of complimentary tea at any time. Breakfast consists of home made bread, jam, fruit, and eggs/pancakes, with a hot cup of coffee or delicious hot chocolate.

Even if you decide to stay at the dorms at Iguana Azul next door, which is probably the best option if you're really on a budget, you can always head over to Casa de Cafe to hang out in the garden or order their home made tamales for just 50 limpira.

I've been backpacking for the last 10 years and have stayed at hundreds of hotels/hostels, and I have to say that Casa de Cafe offers incredible value and simply a great and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRunawayGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

What a place ! We received a very warm welcome, we arrived late and they showed us our room which was lovely and they even cooked us a meal! The staff were friendly and the hotel is situated in a good location with beautiful views over the hills. We can recommend this without any problems .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank COLLINUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our venture to Copán Ruinas included treating ourselves to a three-night stay at the lovely La Casa De Cafe.

As more budget-oriented travelers, the room at La Casa De Cafe was a splurge for us, but after three weeks of "roughing it" in Guatemala, we decided to indulge in a retreat-like experience for a few bucks more than our usual nightly allowance.

As others who have reviewed this B&B with five stars have said, there are so many things to appreciate about this place. The setting and meticulously-maintained gardens throughout the common areas are particularly delightful. I spent a good bit of my time while here simply swaying in a hammock looking out at the surrounding hills -- and the views are, indeed, spectacular. It's quite easy to lose track of time here.

Our room (with private bath) was simple, balanced and artsy. One might even say "zen", which is appropriate for a place that caters to tranquility and relaxation. At the end of exploring around Copán each day, we returned to a spruced-up room and a full carafe of purified water -- a nice treat.

Probably the thing to rave most about though is the breakfast. Start your day off right with a healthy mixed fruit salad, huevos or pancakes, beautifully prepared and served in your chosen spot among the gardens and terraces. The coffee -- served throughout the day (by request) -- also ranked as some of the best that we've had in our Central American travels.

It's clear that the owners take great care to ensure a relaxing and rewarding experience here. Not only do the conscientious breakfasts, grounds and rooms suggest as much, but I have yet to experience the equal of such a friendly and dedicated staff. They make sure that you're happy, and if you require something, simply ask.

Our needs were not only met, but exceeded. It was a splurge well worth it, and a difficult one to match in terms of quality, no doubt, as we make our trek onward.

Gracias for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoggyNumNum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A very nice b&b at the end of town with a really lovely garden, nice staff and you can request free tea and coffee at any time which is great when you are travelling for a long time not only to save money but for comfort. Rooms are simple and the beds on the hard side. Free water is delivered to your room. My criticism of this is while it looks nice in an open top carafe it would be more hygienic if in a closed container. Being a health professional I am conscious of these things when travelling. We paid about 15usd more for this than for other places in its class and the differential between it and other places in town is quite large, but as it was the only place we stayed in Honduras perhaps this is not unusual.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madamjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Casa de Cafe was just lovely. While it was close to the center of town, it was also quiet and secluded, a perk of its design. The very clean and simple room I enjoyed had an excellent bed and all the amenities I required. The property also has a beautiful view of the mountains. The staff were wonderful and owner Howard was extremely helpful, from the moment I made the reservation. I highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family and I stayed at La Casa de Cafe for three nights. It's in a quiet part of town, within a short walk from the central square. The rooms are clean and pleasant, the garden is lovely with a fantastic sunset view, and the breakfast is outstanding. Most importantly, Howard and Angela and thier team of Miriam, Ondina, Teresa, and Fatima, are fantastic hosts. They are a wealth of knowledge about the local attractions and resources, and are well traveled in Guatemala and Honduras, providing a broad network and tips for travfeling in the region. Howard remained in email contact with us after we left, offering lodging, restaurant, and travel advice for Rio Dulce and Antigua. Among all of our travels in the region, Casa de Cafe was our favorite, and I woudl whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just spent 3 days at this perfect little jewel. Howard and his team took excellent care of us even after we left. He sent on immediately to Pedro Sula my camera charger and battery that I had forgotten in my room.I got items the very next day.Better than FedEx!! Lucia's massage was very relaxing and soothing -in keeping with the ancient spirit of Copan and their healthy ample breakfast with freshly baked bread could not have made for a better start to our days. With our very best wishes-Rita and Alberto- Belize , Grenada ,W.I.Italy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 229Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan
440 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iguana Azul
Iguana Azul
#1 of 10 in Copan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Cafe

Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range: £48 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1995, La Casa de Cafe is a colonial inspired B&B Inn and a charming and comfortable base from which to explore Copan. All rooms offer oversized windows, hand crafted furniture and open to a shady porch strung with hammocks. Full complimentary breakfast is served in our garden which boasts a spectacular view of the Copan River Valley and the distant mountains of Guatemala. Complimentary coffee (the best in town), herbal teas, iced tea & hot chocolate served any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Cafe Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing