We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations, great staff and owner”
Review of La Casa de Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Cafe
Ranked #1 of 21 Copan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My family and I rented the Casa Jaguar vacation rental home provided by La Casa de Cafe. We were there all last week, everything was awesome. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, utensils all in great condition, purified water. The hot water was HOT!

When we would get back each day, the place was immaculately cleaned: even my clothes that had been sitting on top of the suitcase were folded and properly placed on top of my suitcase! Kitchen cleaned up and tidy.

It's a nice 4 or 5 block walk to the town center, in a very safe, quiet, neighborhood. The rate for a week was very reasonable, even better when you add in the $$$ you can save by preparing your own meals (especially for a family).

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casa Jaguar vacation rental. It's a house with 2 bedrooms, single bathroom, ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisZ-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

After backpacking in Guatemala for 4 weeks the bright, clean and colourful bedroom in Casa de Cafe was a real luxury, not to mention the comfortable bed and shower with plenty of hot water. The staff was delightful and the breakfast superb.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I brought my two children here to see the Ruins and McCaw Mountain. On the way in we were convinced by some smooth talkers to go horseback riding but it was expensive...and the owners found out about it and were able to help us retract our prior obligation and renegotiate a much more reasonable trustworthy Horseback ride. It was more than reasonably priced and it was SO much fun. The rooms were perfect. there were 3 of us and we had 3 separate beds. Everything was exceptionally clean and homey. location was great. far enough away that it was quiet but close enough that we walked everywhere. would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: definitely tell them exactly how many people. they are able to accommodate your bed sizes and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyPhotomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I'm just on my way home from yet another unforgetable stay at the Casa de Cafe. A great location from where to enjoy the beautiful sunsets, and the exceptional service and friendliness of everybody makes this my all time #1 B&B to stay at in Copan Ruinas. Also do they now offer a snack menu, and great traditional tamales. Hope to be back soon!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Rumm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

What impressed me most about Casa de Cafe was the personal service provided by the owner. He responded to my e mails within minutes, was always there to answer questions, had helpful suggestions for trips in the area and drivers who could take me. The B&B is run by an amazing team of staff who provide every service almost before you know you need it: breakfast in the garden-with-a-view, hot and cold drinks on demand all day, delicious banana bread and carrot cake, and tamales with a glass of wine in the evening with an incredible sunset view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were at La Casa de Cafe for 3 nights between Christmas and the New Year. Wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds are very peaceful, conducive to a relaxing time with a book, along with coffee or wine. Convenient, short walk into town, or a little longer walk to the ruins. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. A wonderful breakfast, outside or in the dining area, was a great way to start the day. Howard and Angela were very helpful. You want to stay here!
Paul - Kalamazoo, Mi.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have the wonderful view right outside with sufficient tables/chairs for all to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you're heading to Copan, Honduras, this is the place to stay. This place offers luxury accommodation and service at budget backpacker prices. The beds are new, sheets soft, and the hot water heater means the showers are always hot and there's no risk of being electrocuted. The wifi is also remarkably fast. On top of this, you can ask for big cups of complimentary tea at any time. Breakfast consists of home made bread, jam, fruit, and eggs/pancakes, with a hot cup of coffee or delicious hot chocolate.

Even if you decide to stay at the dorms at Iguana Azul next door, which is probably the best option if you're really on a budget, you can always head over to Casa de Cafe to hang out in the garden or order their home made tamales for just 50 limpira.

I've been backpacking for the last 10 years and have stayed at hundreds of hotels/hostels, and I have to say that Casa de Cafe offers incredible value and simply a great and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRunawayGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
0.0 mi away
Iguana Azul
Iguana Azul
#1 of 10 in Copan
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayan Hills Hotel
Mayan Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Copan
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Cafe

Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range: £47 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1995, La Casa de Cafe is a colonial inspired B&B Inn and a charming and comfortable base from which to explore Copan. All rooms offer oversized windows, hand crafted furniture and open to a shady porch strung with hammocks. Full complimentary breakfast is served in our garden which boasts a spectacular view of the Copan River Valley and the distant mountains of Guatemala. Complimentary coffee (the best in town), herbal teas, iced tea & hot chocolate served any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Cafe Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing