We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Amazing place and hot like hell"”
Review of Copan Ruinas

Copan Ruinas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$147.50*
and up
Copán Archaeological Site Day Trip from San Salvador
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Panama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“"Amazing place and hot like hell"”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I went there, in the entrance, you will have a lots of "attacks" form guides, i choose an old man, without theets, he was nice, but i could not understand him...

Lot of nice pic possibilyties, you will like the place for sure...

You have to climb a lot, and take water with you for sure!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    991
    241
    46
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copán, Copan, Honduras
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only in Honduras”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The city is quaint, a little more simple than Antigua in Guatemala and much more affordable. Many 1. class Hotels at reasonable prices, and backpackers can stay here for as little as 10 Dollars per night....... may be less if they book for a longer time.
And the world famous ruins......... You better Goggle those and get a first hand impression. A dream for any archaeologist...... people come here from all places of the world. We live outside Copan Ruinas and visited the ruins...... what an experience!!
Combined with the friendliness of the local people, this visit is remarkable

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End, Roatan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Crown Jewel Of Honduras”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Mayan ruins. What else to needs to be said? The park is beautifully kept and ruins superb. One tip I can offer is come early and bring a pic-nic lunch. There are many spots to throw a blanket and enjoy the surreal setting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much when we made a trip to ruins - I went along because it is the only thing to do in Copan, and therefore somewhat obligatory. However I can say it was a truly enjoyable experience and far more interesting than I originally thought it would be. I think this was mainly due to the tour guide who took us round. He made the tour interactive and engaging, and since there is not a lot of information to read around the ruins it is well worth paying the extra to be accompanied so that you know what exactly you are looking at!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Level Contributor
529 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great ruins worth the travel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

As it was a big travel for us to come until here, but well worth the trouble.
Beautiful Museum and ruins, very well restored great park.
Go underground and see how this all was build.
Very well recommended

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterSilvainMooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copan Ruinas also viewed

 
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Copan Ruinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing