We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel In Copan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina Copan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Marina Copan
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel In Copan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

During a recent trip to Honduras we stayed at this lovely hotel in Copan Ruinas. Located in the center of town it was an ideal place for visiting many of the areas attractions. If you arrive by car there is secure parking provided by the hotel at no cost. As it turned out our waiter in the restaurant also provided guide services when not working or arranged for tours through friends when not available. The food and service was everything one would hope for and the small gift shop had a wide range of offerings of local items. The Copan ruins were within walking distance from the hotel but prices being as they are here a taxi ride was also very reasonable.

Room Tip: The suite was the pace to stay. Very reasonably priced and a great place to relax after a days tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbegley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to review us, we truly appreciate your comments and look forward having you again in Copan Ruinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    144
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
97
115
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We loved our room at Hotel Marina. The bathroom was amazing with a jacuzzi tub, stone tiles and huge shower. Our room was on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the garden, where we could enjoy a cup of coffee and our lunch. The pool and hot tub were very nice as well.
All the food were had there was great and the breakfast was incredible! I loved Copan and definitely hope to go back and visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a memorable experience in Copan Ruinas. We look forward having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Marina Copan is a cheerful, delightful place to stay. It is a few steps from the town square in what must be one of the nicest and certainly safest towns in Honduras. The property is a rambling structure that opens onto a series of little courtyards, each with its fountain and lush tropical foliage. My room had not only a front door facing such a courtyard, but also a back door facing another! The room was large and comfortable and the bathroom had the biggest shower I have ever seen in a hotel. The hotel restaurant is really good, with a great menu of mostly local specialities. The Mayan ruins are a few minutes drive away.

This hotel is in a small town in a very poor country, so don't expect the Ritz! The room TV is from a previous generation, there's no room safe or mini-bar, the furniture may look a bit worn at the edges, and chances are that you will wait longer than you'd like to get your coffee at breakfast. Overlook these minor inconveniences, and you will have a really enjoyable stay in this lovely hotel.

Tip: a few of the rooms look out over a noisy alley -- make sure you don't get one of those!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are considering adding a safe and a mini bar in our rooms after your suggestion. Despite minor inconveniences we hope that you had a wonderful experience in Copan Ruinas, Honduras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Wonderful hotel. Sorry we were only staying one night. Great location, gardens, pool, restaurant and rooms. Everything was beautiful. We loved sitting on our balcony looking out over the roofs to the church and mountains beyond.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljb2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to review us! We hope you can come back and stay longer. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice in December 2011 and each time had a wonderful experience. The rooms are spacious, the hotel grounds are beautiful, and the pool was very popular with the kids. One of the nicest things about the hotel are the hidden gardens and intimate feel, despite being a large hotel. It is centrally located, right off of the main square, and has secure parking. The front desk staff were extremely helpful in giving advice on where to have dinner in the town -- their advice was perfect.

Room Tip: When you reserve your room, make sure to ask for an interior room. During our first stay we had a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CISWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are currently working on changing the window to sound proof window, do you recall the room you stayed in where you experienced some noise inconviences?
Once again we hope you visit us again! Greetings from Copan Ruinas, Honduras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is a lovely little hotel right in the middle of the city of Copan, about 3 miles from the Mayan Ruins of Copan. Many of the rooms have windows opening to their beautiful gardens and fountains. We stayed here for 2 nights and never did need the air conditioning, just opened the windows and turned on the overhead fan. The rooms are large and clean (no bath tubs) and the pool and courtyard are very nice--a totally relaxing atmosphere. The food at the restaurant was good. We enjoyed walking around the town and visiting the shops--the hotel is right off the main town square in a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with windows opening to the courtyard or an upper level with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for helping us improve through your review, it is very much appreciated. We noticed that you were not completely sastisfied with some aspects, do you have any specific comment you would like to share with us to let us serve you better? Greetings from Copan Ruinas, Honduras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comayagua, Honduras
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Marina Hotel Copan is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Honduras. The grounds are beautiful, the restaurant is very good, and all of the staff are very helpful. Obviously, the owners of the hotel, a local Honduran family, treat their employees with respect, and it shows. The grounds are beautiful and filled with plants, with many small, hidden outdoor, areas where you can enjoy a cup of coffee or a good book. Likewise, the pool and spa area is surrounded with plants and beautiful landscaping. Our room was large, with vaulted ceilings, and a large bath with a jacuzzi tub and a very nice shower. The hotel is next to the main square, so there are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The family that owns the hotel also has a coffee finca and sells fresh coffee at the attached coffee shop, where I had one of the best cups of coffee in my life. I recommend this hotel to all of my friends who travel to Copan.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your review! For us your opinion is very important! We hope to see you in Copan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Copan

Property: Hotel Marina Copan
Address: Parque Central | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Copan 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, a modern hotel that jealously guards the town’s colonial architectural heritage, the Marina Copan is the most comfortable and convenient base for exploring the fascinating Maya World, as well as the diverse natural landscape, that the ancient ones left behind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing