We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Comfortable Stay, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marina Copan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Copan
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
716 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Comfortable Stay, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hotel Marina Copan is fantastically located right off of the main square of Copan, a charming colonial town with a lot to offer in its own right. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are comfortable. There is air conditioning, cable TV and a good wifi signal. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. There are little courtyards, some with waterfalls throughout the property. They have a generator, which is essential in a place with VERY unstable power. My only disappointment was the restaurant. The service was good and the breakfast is adequate. The other meals that we ate were OK but not as good as we had hoped. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby and we would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    146
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
99
117
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a multilevel hotel set in beautiful gardens with spashing fountains. It is on the site of a former mansion, which is hard to detect in the current hotel. It has a pool and spa and a small excercise room. The rooms are large and comfortable, with quiet A/C. Service was gracious. Internet was free and reasonably fast. It is close to the central park of the small town and lots of restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. Part of the deal is a very complete breakfast with homemade tortillas and a welcome cocktail. The restaurant bills itself as authentic Honduran but we found the food to pretty ordinary for the one dinner we ate there. This would be a good base for a several day stay to explore the Mayan ruins.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs and levels. Few rooms don't involves steps for access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We visited at the end of January 2014 & found the hotel perfect for our needs. Lovely pool, nice rooms, OK food, & helpful staff. Very convenient for the Myan site of Copan nearby, and the hotel had a nice relaxed atmosphere. Lovely gardens, well tended added ambiance. Good bar.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
199 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is well situated in the tourist section of town, a short stroll from the center of tourist activity and a brief ride to the ruins. There are many dining and imbibing options available within a few square blocks. The hotel provides for guest parking. The interior is well- appointed with pool, fitness center, dinning room and bar. The open air common around the pool gives the interior a bit of a resort feel.The rooms have A/C and wifi reception is good closest to reception. One can serve himself from the extensive breakfast buffet. Diner options are sufficient to satisfy most tastes. I would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: An Interior room, sheltered from street noise, is, as usual, a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We had a thoroughly pleasant meal here today. The atmosphere was relaxed and charming and the food excellent. We has a gin chicken, which came with a huge piece papaya and pineapple and was delicious.
The Chilean Sauvignon washed it down a treat, and all for $50. Great value and thoroughly recommended

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

What a nice hotel! The rooms are spacious and modern, with pretty garden, terrace and courtyard areas which make it feel like you have your own little apartment.

Breakfast is a nice buffet.

The pool was freezing but we enjoyed the female only sauna and there's even a little gym there too.

Great location just down from the main square.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel in Copan, with beautiful courtyards/gardens. It was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good (included with the room) and staff attentive. It is very close to the center square and it provides easy access to everything. It is worth the extra few dollars to book into one of the suites - it provides a lot of space with both a living room & bedroom, and ours had a lovely view over the property & valley.

The Mayan Ruins as well as the McCaw museum is only a short drive away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdninasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Copan

Property: Hotel Marina Copan
Address: Parque Central | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Copan 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, a modern hotel that jealously guards the town’s colonial architectural heritage, the Marina Copan is the most comfortable and convenient base for exploring the fascinating Maya World, as well as the diverse natural landscape, that the ancient ones left behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marina Copan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing