We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel in Copan”
Review of Hotel Marina Copan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Copan
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in Copan”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Marina Copan in March of 2014 as my brother had his wedding reception here. Our family booked out nearly the whole hotel for 3 days for the event. I got to see many of the rooms while catching up with other wedding guests - all were beautiful - spotlessly clean with comfy beds and Wifi. The presidential suite and honeymoon suite are particularly beautiful and great value. The hotel staff could not be nicer and the food was great. The hotel is in a great location near the center square of Copan, making it easy to enjoy the town on foot. However - I think some of the rooms may get a bit of street noise but i did not experience this. But what really sets this hotel apart are the gardens - every little corner of this hotel has lovely, well established gardens - my toddler enjoyed running around playing in the fountains and chasing the turtles - it was just such a lovely space I would encourage anyone to stay here - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: splash out for one of the upstairs suites - they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    146
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
99
118
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
379 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast was generous and tasty, the staff very friendly. The hotel is located one block from the main plaza and the town is very pleasant. The internet was working properly. Our neighbors were kids and they were pretty noisy, we called downstairs and the staff managed to calm them down. The hotel is very elegant from the architectural point of view and it was a pleasure to be there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Marina Copan is a beautiful colonial style hotel close to the centre of this charming town. The rooms are collected around stunning gardens with a swimming pool and fountains. The public areas are spacious and the staff very attentive. This is particularly true of breakfast where there are almost as many staff in attendance as there are guests, serving an excellent meal. The rooms are a good size and well appointed but disappointingly sound does seem to carry easily from one room to another. We were particularly disturbed by the noise coming from the staff room which was just across the corridor but always seemed to have the door open.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is nicely located and marvelously kept as a boutique hotel. It is right of the central square of Copan. The town is colonial, I called a mini Antigua and near the historical Mayan Ruins. The rooms are clean, comfy and have cable and Wi-Fi. There is a good pool, gardens and a good restaurant service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGJCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour.

This is very pretty, with nice gardens and lots of courtyards and seating areas. The rooms are olde world , lots of space to hang clothes etc.
Didn't use pool as they were setting up patio area for a party. It looked good though.

Ate twice in the restaurant for dinner, tried " local" dishes both nights. Really reasonable prices for a meal and a bottle of wine. Staff were great and very friendly.
Breakfast was also good but was spoiled a bit yesterday morning by loads of local students making it feel like a rugby scrum!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
444 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a two week trip with Gate1 tours. The hotel was very charming, the grounds and the rooms were exceptional. You felt as if you were back in colonial times staying as a guest at a hacienda. Nice little bar, great pool and wonderful buffet breakfast. The hotel is very well located about a block from the main square. Just across the street and a few pace up the hill is a rooftop wonderful restaurant "La Terraza". At the corner and on the same side of the street as the hotel (towards the main square) is wonderful coffee shop (Café Welchez). Excellent cappuccino for only $1!

Room Tip: The higher the better for a view over the rooftops and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
726 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hotel Marina Copan is fantastically located right off of the main square of Copan, a charming colonial town with a lot to offer in its own right. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are comfortable. There is air conditioning, cable TV and a good wifi signal. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. There are little courtyards, some with waterfalls throughout the property. They have a generator, which is essential in a place with VERY unstable power. My only disappointment was the restaurant. The service was good and the breakfast is adequate. The other meals that we ate were OK but not as good as we had hoped. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby and we would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Copan

Property: Hotel Marina Copan
Address: Parque Central | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Copan 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, a modern hotel that jealously guards the town’s colonial architectural heritage, the Marina Copan is the most comfortable and convenient base for exploring the fascinating Maya World, as well as the diverse natural landscape, that the ancient ones left behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marina Copan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing