We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marina Copan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Copan
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
san jose, california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Will be back”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

A beautiful charming hotel. clean. beautiful rooms with spanish tile. beautiful views on upper floor. Lower floors have lovely fountains.
We traveled with our then 5 1/2 year old son who was a great little traveler. This hotel made it very easy for us. It has this lovely old world charm with modern conveniences.
The hotel area around the pool was very quaint and tropical. I fell completely at ease staying here. The food was yummy and fantastic. Our son loved the breakfast smoothies and loved to end the night with their varieties of yummy dessert. It was a quiet hotel, though they did play music until 9pm. Our son loved to dance in the hot tub. After that, things closed up, but you can swtill minger around outside the hotel around the plaza.
Staff was very pleasant.
If you need a little "taxi" driver, make sure you ask for CESAR. He is fantastic, he will take you wherever you want to go. We visited the butterfly farm and the Parrot Sanctuary. I highly recommend the parrot sanctuary, very beautiful. He also took us to a ride up th the Hacienda San Lucas. This is a unique piece of property that is more along the line of specialty lodging. A Spanish woman named Flavia runs the place and I have heard her food is especially good and that the Hacienda is beautiful, esepcially at night. Cesar took us to the hill looking over Copan and the Copan River, its a beautiful spot. We also followed him where he took us to the famous Fertility Stones which are on the Hacienda property. I suggest you go if you are interested in the indigenious culture.

Great place. Hope to come back soon. We arrived via Guatemala side, the border crossing was pretty easy as long as they got their money.

Enjoy the Copan Ruinas, probably one of the most magical and spiritual mayan ruins I have been throughout all of Mexico and Central America. They are not large, just magnificent in their artistic abilities. just lovely

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catalinamarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    146
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
99
117
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orcas Island, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

My 2 friends and I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel in the heart of the quaint cobblestone street town of Copan Ruinas. Hotel Marina Copan is a wonderfully rambling assemblage of multilevel buildings and courtyards with fountains and tropical flowers everywhere. Our room had a small balcony with a view down into a quiet garden then out over the red tile roofs to the green, green hills surrounding the town. We were only steps from the parque central which was full of locals talking and shopping, and the ruins of Copan are only a pleasant 10 or 15 minute walk on a dedicated walking path from town. The pool surrounded with tropical vegitation and equipped with a swim up bar was especially nice after a day out walking around the ruins in the heat. We had one meal and some snacks at the hotel, and the food was quite good. The service was excellent from the front desk to the bell man to the cleaning staff, and all made us feel welcome and at ease. We would absolutely stay here again if we return to explore this lovely town and area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2009

I thought the hotel was very well put together with different levels and the pool is the gem in the center. Had only breakfast there but food and service was great.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jperryjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unlved1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I found this place on Trip Advisors and booked it based on the positive recommendations. The room had AC which is great after a day of touring the Copan Mayan ruins. The pool was also a good refresher. The place is located right night to small town square and the main drag with the souvenir shops, bars and restaurants. And it is a 10 minute walk to the ruins. We felt very safe and there was always an English speaker working.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unlved1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

This hotel was a charming place to stay and very close to everything in Copan. The hotel has lovely courtyards with gardens that are beautiful. The staff were also very friendly and helpful with our questions. This hotel is in easy walking distance to downtown, where there are excellent restaurants and good bars.

One nice feature of the hotel is the Marimba band that plays outside the restaurant on weekend evenings. After a long day on the bus from San Pedro Sula and some walking around the city, we were able to indulge in a nice soak in the hot tub with the marimba band playing in the background.

The hotel's restaurant was also quite good. The service was a little slow at lunchtime, but that is to be expected pretty much everywhere in Copan. Breakfasts were very good and served quickly.

The only drawback we saw was that the hotel bar was somewhat dingy and closed very early. This was not really a problem for us, as it encouraged us to get out and see more in the city. I highly recommend the Barcito, which is downtown near the tourist marketplaces and is cozy and inviting. It's the only place I've ever been involved in a conversation with two Hondurans, two Spaniards, one Belgian, one Canadian, and one Colombian.

If you're planning on staying at this hotel, you may also want to ask for a room that is not directly on the street. Our room was on ground level, with windows facing toward downtown. We didn't end up having any noise problems, but there was a street party with loud music one night that we were briefly worried about. It turned out to end early, but would have definitely kept us awake had it not.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for location and atmosphere.

  • Liked — Great gardens, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Rooms on street level
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank land_shark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

This is our fourth stay in this hotel and we have stayed in a variety of rooms over the past three years. All the rooms have been fine but we most like the ones high up in the newer section where there are spectacular views over the surrounding village and countryside and less street (or rooster noise). A real treat is the elegant presidential suite with a wonderful balcony.

The charm of this hotel is in the wonderful, well tended gardens and the little nooks and crannies with waterfalls, stepping stones and bridges. There is a nicely landscaped pool and jacuzzi, an excellent restaurant with super nice wait staff, and a great coffee shop on the corner overlooking the plaza. Upstairs tables allow for great people watching. The hotel is family owned and operated and this shows in the tremendous concern for details. Try and be there for a weekend night when a marimba band plays just outside the dining room. We have been there with our small granddaughter who has been treated with great love. We will be back many more times and absolutely love it.

  • Liked — lovely landscaping, excellent location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank daphnestephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

My husband and I (from Florida) spent 8 nights in Copan and stayed at Hotel Marina Copan the entire time. Perfect location; I kept walking by other hotels saying, for one reason or the other, "I'm glad we didn't stay there"... Check-in and Check-out were very easy; no surprises, no extras - it was exactly the amount quoted on the confirmation. They were quick to reply to our emails before we arrived to confirm our reservations. Honestly, I was most impressed with the pillows... They were very nice fluffy, better than my own at home, or at any hotel I've stayed in the states! I've heard time and time again that Hotel Marina is the best hotel in Copan and I would have to agree. Cafe Welchez had good and inexpensive breakfast & excellent coffee & cappuccino, of course. Sauna was under construction as was 1 section of the hotel, but it was of no inconvenience; our room was no where close to that section and they're only making it better afterall. (Ask for a room w/ a balcony - the view is nice overlooking the gardens/courtyard). Very clean, overall very comfortable (central american mattresses are not going be soft, no matter how nice the hotel - you just have to accept that)... It was a really good experience; I highly recommend HMC!

  • Disliked — I wish they had a computer for guests to access internet & email.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank linda-linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
284 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Copan

Property: Hotel Marina Copan
Address: Parque Central | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Copan 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, a modern hotel that jealously guards the town’s colonial architectural heritage, the Marina Copan is the most comfortable and convenient base for exploring the fascinating Maya World, as well as the diverse natural landscape, that the ancient ones left behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marina Copan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing