We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will make my top ten places to stay in the world!”
Review of Hacienda San Lucas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda San Lucas
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro NC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This will make my top ten places to stay in the world!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We absolutely loved the Hacienda San Lucas. We felt right at home as Flavia (the owner) met us at the bus station. The hacienda is built around a 100 year old family farm house, beautifully simple and simply beautiful, overlooking the valley where Copan sits and the mountains that surround the city.

The hacienda will set up excursions for you or you can relax on the property, have a massage, take a yoga class from Leah, hike some of the trails to a local village or sit back in a chair and watch the Copan River meander through the valley. The yoga studio was open to nature and was sitting on the crest of the mountain in a beautiful spot.
Each night the hacienda cooks a wonderful four course meal of local fare and each morning a home cooked breakfast (breakfast is included). You feel like you are eating with family as you get to know the other guests, Flavia and her family.

As you head back to your room each night you are greeted by a room full of candles, in fact most of the hacienda is lit by candles each night. Very romantic, very cool and the Hacienda San Lucas will probably make my top ten list of places to stay in the world, five stars in my book.

For a full trip report go to my blog at www.mggreen.wordpress.com

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    20
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
95
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we came to Hacienda San Lucas with my boyfriend because we read some excellent reviews here on Trip Advisor. We didn't stay in the rooms, but I must say the food and the "experience" is over rated! Had the most expensive tamale, cheese, and carrott soup of my life. $30 for mediocre food... Never again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I've stayed here on two different occasions while visiting the area and have never had a single complaint. The owner, Flavia Cueva, is a very caring and sweet lady. She'll do all she can to help you have a wonderful time while staying at her lodge. The location of the lodge is magnificent and the hundreds of candles that are lit every night make for some romantic evenings! You can easily walk to town from the lodge or simply stay there and relax in a chair at the front of the lodge while looking out over the Copan Valley.

There are some amazing birds in the area and the lodge has some mountain trails to walk down for bird watching. Many people visit the nearby Maya village of La Pintada, but the locals there will try to sell you all sorts of souvenirs while you're there. I find it to be annoying, myself. The friendly dogs, Luna & Cook, are nice to hang out with and the gourmet dinners cooked by the local Chorti Maya women are absolutely amazing! Everyone should go there at least once in their lifetime. It's one of those places that shouldn't be missed!

Mayaruinsonly
Destination Expert - Guatemala

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaruinsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Loved the people and the location. This place is a bit off the beaten path, but it really is quite worth the distance. It is quiet and safe. That is something that is a bit of a problem in Copan. Many of the hotels are right in the downtown and it is quite chaotic. Here, there are breathtaking vistas and it is very secure. Copan is not a dangerous town, but there has been some violence in the past few years. This place takes you totally out of that. The owner, Flavia, is simply fabulous. We stayed both here and Don Udos and loved them both.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hacienda is a beautiful location for anyone wanting to get away from the "touristy" hotels... who longs for true relaxation. we planned our stay at the hacienda after our hike up the highest mountain in Honduras (Celaque National Forest) so the stay was nothing short of AMAZING! which called for extending our stay by an extra day.
The service is excellent to say the least, since my flight was out of San Pedro we had to leave very early morning, Flavia had the cooks pack us a breakfast bag for the road. Feels very much like family there. The candle lit rooms are enchanting and the rose petals on the bed.... very special touch...
thank you Flavia!!!
we will definately be coming back many more times!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moskitocoastdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had the pleasure of meeting Flavia the owner in town and she was happy to arrange a beautiful morning of yoga for Michelle and a delicious breakfast for the both of us.

She arranged a ride from our hotel in town up to the Hacienda where Michelle started the morning with a yoga class led by Leah who is a very gifted and beautiful yoga instructor, while Michael played with the friendly resident dogs and cats. The outdoor yoga studio is so tranquil and overlooks incredible views of the whole valley and the surrounding mountains.

Even for those not into yoga this is a wonderful place to relax and meditate, in addition to activities such as hiking trails (with amazing flora and birdwatching) and horseback riding.

What followed was a breakfast fit for royalty. The staff catered to our vegetarian/vegan diet requests and prepared wonderfully delicious (and huge!) feast which filled us up for the entire day. The meal included the freshest, tastiest fruits as well as fresh eggs and beans and cheese in addition to customized tamales and rich, delicious local coffee.

We were amazed at the hospitality provided by Flavia and her staff, especially considering we were only staying for a morning visit. Flavia is very gracious, and we were thrilled to learn about her family's history as some of the founding members of Copan Ruinas history. We look forward to visiting Hacienda San Lucas again next year and would recommend it to anyone looking for natural beauty and tranquility, as well as delicious food and top notch hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMichelleNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

June 2011
Finally, time to visit Hacienda San Lucas again!! After traveling around in Honduras and visiting old friends our last destination would be Hacienda San Lucas.
The only place we made reservations for and we knew we were going to stay. Why? you would wonder. Well... Its been my, I think, 5th time that I stayed there and I still adore it!! Every time even more and every time it's different. I love June, it's the beginning of the rainy season and everything turns lusciously green again. This you can experience from out of the garden and see over the whole valley.
In 2006 I was studying Spanish in Copan and during an afternoon walk I discovered this amazing place. The first time I got there up the hill I felt something special. Didn't know what but I keep discovering time after time.
This time in June was different, it was the first time that my partner and me came together. Actually it was our first vacation together. And well, of course she fell in love with San lucas!!
Why? she enjoyed the peacefulness, even in that way that she started writing again!! She stopped 3 years ago.
Entering the property of San Lucas feels like coming home, it even brings tears in my eyes.
Staying there, we've been treated as queens. We even got the room I like the most! We don't need to be treated as princesses, but the ladies who are working there are so polite, friendly and they carry around happiness.
All the rooms are build with love and everything what is in there is carefully chosen. You see and feel that when you enter.
At night they light your room with candles, there almost no light by electricity on the whole property, that creates the original atmosphere.
Argi the manager, or Flavia, the owner, are always willing to tell you the story of San Lucas. Where it all started, what it was before, etc... They have an original photo album to show.
And whenever you want to plan or know something you can ask Argi, one of the girls, or even when your downtown there is always someone in the office!
It's the perfect place to get away and still enjoy the cobblestone streets of Copan.
If you want to go somewhere Pilo, the truck driver, brings you everywhere with a big smile. He tries to communicate with everyone. My partner doesn't speak any spanish and he doesn't speak Eglish but in an amazing way they could make conversations!!
The same thing happened with Carlos, the night watch. He is always there if you need anything. If your awake early he'll give you a cup of coffee and he will show you around. Every morning and evening Kathy had a little or long :-) chat with him. He know so much about the country, nature and people and he loves to share his knowledge. And yes also here they were able to communicate! Wonderful isn't it!
People who work at San Lucas are very patient and they know how to make 'real' contact with others. That is something rare to find in Honduras.
Visiting there is not just staying somewhere, its a journey for yourself, it brings you closer to your own essence. And all this without doing anything special, just being. Although everything you do, feel and experience there is special. Staying there brought us closer together.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisderycker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
153 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
421 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#12 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Lucas

Property: Hacienda San Lucas
Address: Hacienda San Lucas, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Copan
#7 Family Hotel in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Hacienda San Lucas is a hundred year old family hacienda/lodge offering a unique and exclusive cultural experience. It is located directly across and above the archeological park of Copan Ruinas. San Lucas is renown by its five star individualized services, eg, culinary destination, small intimate weddings, yoga retreats and more. It is a magic space where visitors from around the world are able to stop time, feel and renew energy. Hacienda San Lucas combines century-old ambiance with first-class service, authentic Maya country cuisine and a spectacular view of the Valley and Ruins of Copan. Eight distinct rooms with solar lighting, comfortable hammocks, nature trails, ceremonial archaeological site and candlelit dinners allow you to relax and enjoy the healing energy of this unique hacienda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Lucas Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing