We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint and relaxing hacienda”
Review of Hacienda San Lucas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda San Lucas
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very quaint and relaxing hacienda”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hacienda is a real treat for travelers who are not looking to live in the center of touristy Copan. The hacienda is located on a hillside across the river from the town of Copan. From the hacienda grounds, guests can see the Copan ruins located below as well as the town of Copan . The staff is really polite and attentive. We ate two excellent breakfasts (which were included) and two tasty dinners at the hacienda. In the evening, they use numerous candles to illuminate the grounds. This is not the place where you will find bright lights and TVs. The staff speaks adequate English. We noticed they had a guard providing security for the hacienda at night, which gave us a sense of security.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    20
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
95
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

How to describe Hacienda San Lucas? It is so perfect!

The hacienda main building is 100 years old - we arrived a night - a 15 minute bumpy ride out of town - where are we going? - and then - a candel lit hacienda with the warmest welcome - truly beautiful.
The main building is where you will dine - in the cosy cucina by the fire if cool or outside with beautiful vistas or candel light. Flavia or Argi will be your host - full of information of the surrounding area, ruins and history. The staff speak a little English and were so helpful with our limited Spanish. The meals are fantastic - we ate all dinners there - why go anywhere else.
The rooms are built to resemble the old architecture - yes they are cande lit at night but you have lights in the bathroom and bedside and plugs for charging - lovely. They are large and linens in both the bedroom and bathroom are excellent.
We walked back and forth to town along the river several times - about a 40 minute walk - or they will drive you in and pick you up or arrange a tuktuk.

This is the only place to stay in Copan!

Room Tip: All rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I loved this place.
- The staff are super-nice and the managers make you feel very welcome and went beyond my expectations in making sure I made the most of my short stay in Copan ruinas. From picking me up in town when I arrived, to arranging a guide for me to enjoy my visit to the ruins, giving me tips on where to eat in town. Service was as quick or as relaxed as I needed it to be almost without havign to say anything - staff seem able to read what the customer wants or needs!
- My room was great. Very quiet, super clean. It had everything you might need.
- The food is excellent. Both for breakfast and dinner. For dinner they have a different set menu every night and I enjoyed every dish they served.
- The location is great. At first I thought that this being out of town would be difficult. But the reality was that this made it very quiet without feeling isolated, particularly as the hotel can easily shuttle guests back and forth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Hacienda San Lucas is welcoming and friendly, but also, due to price and the small number of rooms, an "exclusive" hotel that caters to wealthy foreigners and small tour groups (neither of which applies to us). Before staying here, we had coffee in the outdoor restaurant with local "Copaneco" friends. Despite living in Copan their entire lives, our friends had never been on the property, and joined us in ooh'ing and ahh'ing and snapping photos. When they later found out how much one night cost (2,800 lempiras, or $140), they were speechless and we were embarrassed. As it surely has always been, Hacienda San Lucas is a world away from most Hondurans, a jewel that has been in the wealthy Cueva family for generations. To transform the house into a hotel, beautiful cabanas were added in the back, and the main house modified -- all without sacrificing the hacienda's original rustic charm. The atmosphere throughout is one of Spanish colonial elegance. The wooden rooms are spacious with high ceilings, beds are firm and hammocks on the wrap-around deck are inviting. Our thanks and gratitude to the lovely staff who were attentive and gracious. Without our asking, the manager adjusted our room charge down based on a lower rate accidentally quoted to us when we reserved our room. The restaurant even prepared a special vegetarian meal on a night when the dinner menu featured beef and pork. In the evening, the gardens were gently lit, and we sat in comfortable chairs on the hillside in front of the hacienda to take in a glorious view of the Rio Copan valley and the lights of Copan below. The hotel arranges tours and there's a spa nearby as well. However, the view, the grounds and the hammocks are enough to make us want to return for a longer stay!

Room Tip: We had room 12, but it looked like all the rooms were equally wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetNicholle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Great ambience and views from this farm house. Warm service and good food. Hotel is slightly overpriced for what it is but a good base for seeing/ exploring the ruins.
They were particularly helpful in assisting a member of our party who was suffering from a stomach bug, for which many thanks.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank instantnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We only spent one night and we have huge regrets, the place is amazing, the service top notch and the food, the food is otherworldly. Rooms were clean and roomy, the only issue I had was the poor light output of the solar lamps. The grounds are made to be walk early in the morning, the amount of birds was incredible. The dogs are truly amazing they serve as guides and are very patient with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horacio_Portillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The only problem with a wonderful little hotel like The Hacienda San Lucas is where to begin to describe it. All I can say it that it far exceeded our expectations and we wish we had booked more time there and less time in Roatan.

The real reason I went to Hunduras was to see the ruins of Copan, but I was having a real hard time finding out how to get there. You’d think that Honduras was on a different planet or something because the travel agencies in the States didn’t have a clue how to arrange our vacation. My biggest problem was how to get there from Roatan since no airlines flew directly into Copan. I was really getting discouraged when I started corresponding with Flavia, the owner of the hotel. Not only was she able to give me all the information I needed, but she even helped me arrange transportation from San Pedro Sula to Copan as well as all the other activities we wanted to do while in Copan. She and her staff really went out of their way to ensure that we had a wonderful stay.

Now let me talk a little about the hotel. It’s an ecological hotel so it’s rustic, but that’s what we were looking for. The rooms are equipped with an electrical outlet for your iPhones, laptops, shavers, etc. in the bathrooms and there are two small electric reading lamps as well as an electric fan in the rooms. The bathrooms are clean and pleasant. There is hot water for showers. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. There are hammocks outside for your comfort. The made comes by at dusk and lights numerous candles in and outside your room. It’s very romantic.

The lobby, bar and kitchen are part of an old hacienda that has been in Flavia’s family for more than a century. All meals are cooked over wood stoves in the rustic kitchen. The tortillas and refried beans are to die for. They grind their own corn and make their tortillas fresh by hand every day. The same goes for the rest of the food. Everything is fresh and is cooked in the old traditional way.

You have several options to choose from for breakfast, but it always comes with fresh juice and fruit. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Dinner is extra, but it is well worth it. The food is always very fresh and delicious. They have a different twist on chicken fajitas that was absolutely fantastic.

The hacienda is located high up on a hill overlooking the town of Copan and the view is breathtaking. It’s the best place in town to view the sunset.

Although the hotel is a mile or so outside town, the hotel has a van that they use to shuttle the guests to and from town and the ruins. The service is free of charge. Or you can walk or take one of the mototaxis if you prefer.

I can’t really say enough about this hotel. It was one of the nicest places I’ve stayed in a long, long time. I’d go back in a flash.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
1.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
151 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Lucas

Property: Hacienda San Lucas
Address: Hacienda San Lucas, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Copan
#7 Family Hotel in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Hacienda San Lucas is a hundred year old family hacienda/lodge offering a unique and exclusive cultural experience. It is located directly across and above the archeological park of Copan Ruinas. San Lucas is renown by its five star individualized services, eg, culinary destination, small intimate weddings, yoga retreats and more. It is a magic space where visitors from around the world are able to stop time, feel and renew energy. Hacienda San Lucas combines century-old ambiance with first-class service, authentic Maya country cuisine and a spectacular view of the Valley and Ruins of Copan. Eight distinct rooms with solar lighting, comfortable hammocks, nature trails, ceremonial archaeological site and candlelit dinners allow you to relax and enjoy the healing energy of this unique hacienda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Lucas Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing