We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Udo-The perfect hotel in Copan.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 21 Copan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Don Udo-The perfect hotel in Copan.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our group, Washington Overseas Mission, stayed at Don Udo's after completing our mission work in Erendique, Copan. It was the perfect place to wrap up our trip. Don Udo met with our group upon arrival and talked to us about Copan and the surrounding attractions. He made arrangements for us and even had guides with 15 horses meet us right at the hotel for a trek to a Mayan village and to the mountain top for a beautiful view of the sunset over Copan. As a Rotarian, Don Udo took us to a Rotary supported EcoStove factory just minutes from his hotel.
We had a group meal and meeting right on sight with a special menu prepared just for our group.
The food at the hotel is amazing.
Thank you Don Udo for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others. All are clean and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoetteReidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udo v, Propietario at Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi there, glad to hear that your group enjoyed their R&R here in Copan. For us it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hopefully we see you again next year.
Regards to all.
Udo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    58
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
58
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Located minutes from the Mayan ruins of Copan and surrounded by mountains, this hotel is has one of the most beautiful views in Honduras. Walking through the town gives you a genuine insight into the Honduran culture via shops, markets, and restaurants. The owner is incredibly friendly and welcoming. Food, bar, and water are provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rimree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toluca
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had heard about Don Udo's place on a traveler's forum and decided to try and find it after a long motorcycle trip through Guatemala and Honduras. I asked a police officer in the town center if he knew it and he happily had me follow him on his little moto to Don Udo's front door, where we were met by the man himself.

We didn't have a reservation, but luckily he had a couple of options for us. After seeing the rooms, we decided on the suite and were even able to haggle the price a little bit.

The whole property is lovely, with hamacas everywhere and private secure parking next door.

The room was fantastic, with overhead fans and air conditioning, extremely spacious (this was a suite after all), wifi and breakfast included. The breakfast was delicious as well. I wish we had stayed a little longer so we could have eaten another meal there.

When we return to Copan, we will definitely stay at Don Udo's again, highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had a suite, but I think even the smaller rooms would probably be great. You're probably not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Copan Ruinas was our last stop in Honduras and Don Udo's ensured that we left on a high note. The room was large and very stylishly furnished, incorporating local touches, and I was thrilled to find a bath in the bathroom (a rare event) and a working, high speed hair dryer. We enjoyed cocktails at happy hour in the pretty garden courtyard and, whilst we did not eat dinner in the restaurant, breakfast and lunch were of a high standard. The room rate included breakfast and, unlike many other establishments, included three options that were complimentary and ample plus an a la carte menu for anything outside of those options. Don Udo's main advantage is it's location - away from the noisy bustle of the central part of town. It is nonetheless only a block or two away from the town square and a very easy tuk tuk ride to anything further afield, for those with an aversion to walking. The staff could get by in English, which also helped a great deal and the owner was completely fluent. He arranged for horses to be brought to the hotel for us to ride, and also recommended a number of other activities. The wi fi worked most of the time, but was rarely present in our room. All in all a charming, warm and welcoming place to stay, with everything we needed.

Room Tip: Please note - there is no fitness centre but good sauna and a massage facility, which looked nice al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This B & B has a nice central garden and the rooms surround the garden/courtyard. The room was small but spotless and nicely decorated, and the bathroom was large and the bed was very firm and comfortable. The breakfast was included and was ample. The hotel arranged a local "tuk-tuk" motor taxi to take me to the Copan Ruins, the Parrot Park and anywhere else I wanted to go. For multiple trips over two days it cost $35 USD. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: For bit more money you can ask for a room with AC if it is hot. I was there in rainy season so it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecotrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I came for the first time sevral years ago and always came back to stay here! the beds are super comfortable the staff very attentive and the food is delicious! I love the tipical breakfast, and the Brown sugar they serve ith the coffee is a nice alternative to the usual processed sugar or splenda. They have different activities offered such as hoarse back ridding, massages, and canopy. I enjoy the terrace for sunbathing during the mornings and the chill Reading lounge they have downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camiladms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udo v, Propietario at Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you.
All of us here at the hotel appreciate your comments and will always be working on giving the best we have.
Hope to see you back sometime again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at this great hotel during our visit to Copan. Staff was great , with breakfast included and also lunch & dinner to purchase with great food. Close to town to walk to but quiet, a great value. Owner arranged a guide for us to explore the ruins which was helpful explaining the history behind them. Would highly recommend this place to any one going to Copan.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#12 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hostal Berakah
Hostal Berakah
#4 of 21 in Copan
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Av. Mirador Barrio El Centro, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Don Udo's. Enjoy European style with a cozy and colonial ambience at our hotel in Copan Ruinas. We offer 14 comfortable rooms with a unique colonial decor, a gourmet restaurant with the best steaks in town, as well as a variety of home made dishes including vegetarian and seafood options. If you are planning a visit this charming town in western Honduras, we are the premier address in town. The Copan region boasts a diverse array of memorable attractions, including the world-famous Mayan ruins, and many exciting nature activities. We offer a variety of tours through and around Copan Ruinas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing