We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great voyage voyage!”
Review of Hotel Mar Jenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mar Jenny
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Copan
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
“Great voyage voyage!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was the first time that went to this place Copan Honduras that for me was a new place and I really liked stay in this hotel, it was in a centric area and it was very economic hotel and it worth the price... I really liked it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
11
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is run by a such a kind and generous family. I was recently traveling through Honduras and did not have enough money left to pay the fee at customs when trying to return to the US. Though I was a complete stranger to them they gave me the $40 I needed along with their business card, which has fortunately allowed me to repay them the money and share my experience. They greeted me with nothing but smiles and friendly conversation and I feel so fortunate to have met them at the airport.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocoa, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and whilst we have no issue with the hotel itself, we do have an issue with Mar Jenny Tours who are advertised on big banners in the reception. We booked a three hour horse riding tour (as advertised on the afore-mentioned banners and confirmed by the owner) which turned out to be only 2 hours long. The guide and the owner of the horses were great and it was is no way their fault, but when we complained about the length of the tour at the hotel they told us that it was not their problem and that we were lying about the length of the tour. When we pursued the issue, they summoned the tour guide and the owner of the horses which was unacceptable and embarrassing for everyone because as Mar Jenny arranged the tour and took our money, the responsibility lies squarely with them. We also discovered that the commission that Mar Jenny makes on this tour is a whopping 9 dollars per person, so the guides are getting very little. In the end, Mar Jenny refused to do anything to help us, or give us any kind of refund (even though we were only asking for the hour we did not have to be refunded) or even an apology. In fact, the owner was downright rude and aggressive which was actually we prompted me to write this review. The hotel is good value, but the tours are not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Airdrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We arrived in Copan without accomodations, and our first couple of choices were booked. There was a fellow with a sign at the shuttle van drop point, and he advised rooms were $US15 (300 L). We checked out the facility, and it was decent. The first room was not clean, but the second one was, so we elected to stay. We spent the afternoon at Macaw Mountain - it was far better than I thought that it would be, and went to the ruins the next day (the owner's son gave us a ride out, and introduced us to a good guide named Mauricio).

Not a four-star :) Met expectations.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have more airflow - our AC unit was not functional, but we didn't mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Our shuttle driver recommended this for its price and location.

For the area - an international destination - it seemed fair enough.

The village that serves the Copan ruins is so tiny and tidy you could stay anywhere and be close to the World Heritage site. It is built like an M.C. Escher palace.. With stairs going every which way and a small swimming pool on the second floor. It has a nice terrace and clean rooms.. The only minus was the shower was in bad repair and the water did not drain out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank didreyfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we got stuck in copan and had to stay there for 4 nights. the owner just tried to rip us off all the time,the room was tiny and the smell was terrible,the water in the shower took ages (around 14 h) to rinse down,they never cleaned our room during that time (not even the toilet basket!!) and they just gave us the feeling that we're not welcome,everything seemed to be to much to do for us...so never ever again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Bed bugs BEWARE! This place seemed well run during our first visit... family business and clean. Maybe they ran out of money during a slow season but when we returned a year later, it was awful. The whole family got bed bugs and the room was miserably HOT. The A/C and fan were worthless and the TV was the size of my hand.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzyPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calle Real
Hotel Calle Real
#18 of 21 in Copan
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#12 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yaragua
Hotel Yaragua
#19 of 21 in Copan
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Jenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Jenny

Property: Hotel Mar Jenny
Address: Near Central Square, Copan 00011, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar Jenny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mar Jenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing