We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just too loud.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
642 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Just too loud.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A last minute desire to spend NYE in Copan lead me to a hunt for two rooms with two double beds for three nights. All Copán hotels were sold out or priced sky high, I was left with only this hotel as an option. I knew it was budget, so was parepared, but this place is unacceptably loud, too loud that I could not sleep, even with earplugs.

I was pleased because it is two blocks away from main square and close to plenty of shops and the market, it has free parking and free internet/wifi, AC.

Good
 Plenty of hot water, beware of suicide shower
 Beds are ok, AC is quiet and Fan is ok, TV with cable is mounted ceiling high.
 Free Parking, cars left in courtyard, you do have to move it around when parking tandem.
 Microwave in hallway.
 Generator, it was turned on once when power went out
 Great 3rd floor terrace, hammocks, great views
 We booked a double and a family room with 4 double beds and two baths, great, fridge included.
 Free internet, desktop in lobby, wifi never worked for me,

Not so good
 Noise, Noise, Noise. It is by far a noisy hotel, on a very busy street where truck and motor taxis speed by at all times.
 The hotel is built Alcatraz jail style, all windows and door face toward inner hallways. You can hear people in hallways and in other rooms.
 Cement/tile build magnify the noise.
 Front desk staff is not very helpful. They are willing to help, friendly, but not very effective even for minor requests.
 The doors creek and make all sounds when you move them. Too noisy.
 Tiny bathroom.
 No shelves, closet, and small furniture to place items. No shelves in bathroom

The Ugly
 Two cantinas are located the hotel, loud music, yelling drunks.
 A store with loud music at all times is located adjacent hotel. Kids yell at all times
 Although this place is cleaned daily, walls are stained, water damage on ceilings, stained tiles and walls make this place seem dirty.


Tips
 Negotiate rate. I went during peak season and was overcharged. The front desk confessed that during slow season you can get a 50% discount for multiday stays.


Budget hotel, so expect budget accommodations. Housekeeping is good, but this place is basic.

Overall the biggest turnoff is the noise, never had any decent sleep. Good location, can be cheap if you negotiate rate, great if you want hot water, generator and AC/FAN. But unfortunately I will not return because I like my sleep.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, try to get room as far away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Hotel Graditas Mayas is really on the low end of budget hotels in Copan. There are cheaper places to stay, but you would be hard-pressed to find anyplace more shabby. The rooms at Graditas come complete with chipped paint, holes in the plaster, and windows that don't latch completely. And it is noisy to boot. There is a huge discrepancy between the photographs on the hotel's website and what the place actually looks like. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copan hotels

Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Copan is a wonderful and a relatively safe town in Honduras. The Ruins are great but get a guide. Night life is very laid back. Hotel is a good value and close.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottmwoodsphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The main reason I love this hotel is because our flight got into San Pedro Sula at 3:45pm and there were no buses leaving that late to go to Copan. I did not want to stay in San Pedro Sula for a night, but Hotel Graditas Mayas came to get us for about $120, which was well worth the 3 hour ride. The ride back to San Pedro on the regular bus took about twice that amount of time. I was so grateful that they were available to pick us up.
I liked the hotel, too. The people were nice, and suggested good restaurants and attractions. I'd stay at this place again any time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We arrived at the Graditas Maya after a 6 hour drive. We had been warned by locals who were on our bus that the hotel was not good but as we had already booked online decided to have open minds and take it in our stride.
When we walked into the hotel we were greeted by 3 members of staff who knew no English and we stuggled in admittedly limited Spanish to advise them of our reservation. Eventually the manager called an English friend who translated for us...all the while his Wife was muttering '' no Espanol, ridiculous!'' We though this was rich seeing as this hotel was advertising on US websites and they hadn't bothered learning even basic English.
Anyway, the room wasn't as bad as we had expected. It was clean and although on the small side it was much better than some of the previous places we had stayed in.
However, we went out for drinks on the 2nd night and returned at 11pm to discover that the hotel doors were locked and there was no bell or side door in which to enter the building. After 15 minutes of knocking and shouting loudly we were eventually let in by a member of staff. For a hotel to bolt it's doors and give no warning in our opinion was completely out of order and this along with the lack of customer service has probably helped explain the reason why we saw no other guests staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnsleygal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I stayed here in April for 3 nights and was fully prepared for what $25 per night would get me. The young woman at the front desk was pleasant and even though she did not have change for a $100 bill at the time, I left the hundred and came back for my change later on in the day and it was readily presented to me. I had no issues with dishonesty or theft during my stay. If you cannot speak any Spanish you may have some difficulty but I was able to get by with my attempts. I had the room in the courtyard and I actually preferred it as the hotel keeps the front door of the main building locked at all times and with my comings and goings it was quite convenient. I felt no issues with security as during the night there is a guard that watches the property.
Now the room, it was VERY worn and dated but it was clean. Bring earplugs for the noisy A/C and ceiling fan. The young girl who cleaned my room did a great job with the tools that she had. Remember folks, this is a third world country so most times they do not have the equipment that a North American Hotel would have. No VIM or Magic Erasers here people.
I found both the young women who worked the front desk very amiable as well as the manager of the property whom I had seen on many occasions. The fridge in the lobby is stocked with water, pop and beer for about $1 a beer and .75 for a large bottle of water.
The roof top patio is excellent. You can see for miles and the hammocks made for a very relaxing afternoon.
I made some friends during my stay there. There is an old fellow in the building across the street who sits outside and says "Ola" to most everyone who walks by and I hosted an impromptu street party one night as I sat on the front steps of the hotel. Me and 5 other locals drank beer into the wee hours of the morning. I must have bought every beer in the lobby fridge during the course of the night. Remember folks, English is not readily spoken anywhere so try and learn some words and phrases before you go and your journey will be much more enjoyable.
The town is great! Many good restaurants and shops and I walked virtually every street during my stay in town and felt completely safe.
For the price, I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We stayed in Las Graditas Mayas in Wed April 21, paid 2 nights and we got the room outside, next to the parking lot, we were worried about the security and decided to leave, I asked to talk to the owner Sr. Daniel, but no where to find, I just want half of what a paid for the room, the girl in the desk lied many times about the owner being away, he was there but he did not want to talk to me, I "m really disappointed about loosing $40.23 . Later on I went to see and my room was already taken, this hotel is not clean, We will never go to a place like this again, we learned a lesson, not to pay in advance.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktracha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yaragua
Hotel Yaragua
#19 of 21 in Copan
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Real
Hotel Calle Real
#16 of 21 in Copan
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#9 of 21 in Copan
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#14 of 21 in Copan
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada
La Posada
#15 of 21 in Copan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Graditas Mayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Graditas Mayas

Property: Hotel Graditas Mayas
Address: Main Street | Two blocks west from central park, Copan 504, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Graditas Mayas 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great hotel in the heart of the city. Its services are air conditioning, hot water, fans, cable tv, telephone, rest area, private parking, wireless internet. Very good prices! Great moments; a great hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Graditas Mayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graditas Mayas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing