We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We switched to the Graditas Mayas at the last minute to save money after having a reservation at another property that cost twice as much. Graditas Mayas is not the fanciest hotel around, but it is clean and quiet with a friendly staff. The rooms are a bit small, but it was worth it for the price. A couple of notes. First, they will pick you up and drop you off at the bus terminals - as long as you are not leaving on the 5am bus out of town. They were not helpful in arranging for a taxi for us to the terminal once we learned they would not drive us early in the morning. Another note, a couple of reviews refer to interior rooms at the hotel. This is and is not true. There are hallways that are open air. Many of the rooms open into the hallway. They still have windows that face the hallway. So, no you do not have a view outside, you look into the hallway, but it did not really make a difference to me. There is also a little-used rooftop area full of hammocks with a view of the area. It was nice to relax there for part of the day. The A/C in the room was nice and cool. The hot water is not via a hot-water heater, but an electric heater on the shower head. The water in the sink is cold only. Oh, and there is free high speed wifi in the rooms. It was up about 75% of the time.

If it is something important to you, be aware that while they try very hard to please, they do not speak English. This is not a complaint, I am traveling in a Spanish speaking country and can not expect everyone to speak my language.

If I travel to Copan again, I would definitely consider staying at Graditas Mayas.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdphx2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed in Copan for two nights before heading out to Pico Bonito and Roatan this month. They pre-arranged a driver to get us from San Pedro Sula airport to the hotel. Daniel was very soft spoken and polite. He picked us up in a Kia sedan and we ended up with a flat tire about 15 miles into the trip. You have got to understand travel in out of the way places to appreciate this. Help was all around and we did get up and running in under an hour. Not a problem. Daniel didn't speak English and I learned quickly that the only place you may hear English is at Twisted Tanyas in Copan proper.
Our hotel room was not big, but it was comfortable. A/C worked great, hot showers are a plus and the rooftop views were great. It is centerally located and after about a day you get the lay of the land.
We left to pickup the 5:15 Headman Alas bus from it's terminal at about 4:45 am and there was someone to let us out and carry down our luggage as soon as I walked out of the room.
They (the hotel staff) are very helpful but you really need to speak some Spanish to be understood here and elsewhere in Copan.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineptinmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

We are currently staying at the Graditas Maya and have enjoyed great service and comfortable room. The hotel is a short walk to Central Park and safe at night to walk to supper. There were 2 power outages yesterday and the hotel turned on generator immediately.
People complaining about noise should remember this is Central America where life starts early.
We have particularly enjoyed the rooftop patio for wifi and watching street life.Very clean and great rates.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank altarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Simply a very nice hotel, very charm since my arrival until my departure: every moment.

I like the comfortable room because have all the basic services and a very reasonable rate. I can mention services as hot water, cable tv, air conditioning, wi-fi, clock. I recommend everyone the amazing roof with the typical ranch, it is a gem....you can get a wonderfull panoramic view from the roof.

I love the staff, they are very friendly and helpful. The make their best effort to make us feel good.

In conclusion, a wonderfull lodged at graditas mayas.

greetings.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cholo_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that they picked us up from the bus station and recommended some good restaurants.

Our first night the power went out and the management didn't turn on the generator leaving us the option to keep the window open (we faced out on the street and the roosters start crowing at 4am) or sweat in our tiny little room.

On our second night the power stayed on the whole time, however so did the water coming out of our sink. We awoke at 4am to find our room, the hallway and the outside porch flooded. We woke up the security guard (with much difficulty) and he responded by getting a broom. After helping him clean up the water for over 30 minutes, he finally offered to move us to a new room. Once settled into our new room, we discovered that the air conditioning didn't work and we no longer had a window to open. We were then moved to a third room (it should have been a clue to us to run like hell given the numerous vacant rooms - indeed we were the only people staying at the hotel) with the smallest double bed we've ever seen. After falling back alseep around 6am, we were awakened by loud pounding from the workmen taking down a concrete wall across the hall at 7am.

Our third night was largely uneventful, unless you count having to shower in yet another room because the manager decided not to fix the water heater for our shower. The showerhead was shooting off green sparks and we thought we were going to die.

Looking at their website now, it is not clear to us where exactly the junior suite is located. We were able to see all of the rooms in the hotel (there are only 13) and there was nothing resembling a suite on the property. There was very little in the way of the AC, hot water and new generator installed April 2008 as advertised on their webpage. They also claim that the ruins are only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. This is a slight exaggeration. The central park is 5 minutes away and the ruins are another 20 minutes from the central park.

Although we paid only 35 USD per night, for another 25, we could have stayed in a boutique hotel with all the amenities that Graditas Mayas claims to have. Don't waste your precious vacation staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippygizzardface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

this is so low end the rooms have no windows!!!! very noisy. we tried to get out of this as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alonnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia_del_hotel, General Manager at Hotel Graditas Mayas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2008

Hello.

Graditas Mayas offers very confortable rooms with at least one window every room. Our rooms are quite and have complete services.

Our staff is trained to give very good services and help to our guests.

So, we are not agree with this review because it is not a real description of our rooms and hotel.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jorge Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#16 of 21 in Copan
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#10 of 21 in Copan
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mar Jenny
Hotel Mar Jenny
#12 of 21 in Copan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
156 reviews
0 mi away
La Posada
La Posada
#13 of 21 in Copan
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Graditas Mayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Graditas Mayas

Address: Main Street | Two blocks west from central park, Copan 504, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range: £28 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Graditas Mayas 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great hotel in the heart of the city. Its services are air conditioning, hot water, fans, cable tv, telephone, rest area, private parking, wireless internet. Very good prices! Great moments; a great hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Graditas Mayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graditas Mayas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing