We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Dona Elena B & B
Ranked #3 of 21 Copan B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I love Casa Dona Elena! I have been here for three weeks and everything has been great here. Rooms are nice with hot showers! Food is excellent. But above all, this is a wonderful family. Always super nice and helpful. I have greatly enjoyed my time here and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at Casa Dona Elena for seven weeks while on a family visit. Our clean, bright, airy room overlooking the Copán Valley suited us perfectly as headquarters for forays into the countryside, visits to the archaeological sites, shopping and entertainment in the town. We met fine, hospitable people. It suited our need for a home away from home, and will return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for "La Tierra", it is spacious, private, the view fantastic and the bird sightings th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I'm nineteen and came to copan ruinas by myself to live for two months. The guacamaya Spanish school placed me in casa Dona Elena and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Elena cooks amazing food and always places high value on her customers, and her helpers are so sweet and so willing to help you with whatever you need. Nery made me feel so comfortable in copan and helped me find my way around here, they helped me practice Spanish but also understand English so when need be I could communicate. They not only met my physical needs but literally everything: being nineteen year old girl alone here is scary but they treated me like part of the family. It was am amazing bed and breakfast, but more so they were my family and truly cared about me, not my business.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Though I've been traveling to many places, I've never taken time to write a review before. However, a good impression that I had from Casa Dona Elena B&B and the hospitality of everyone there makes me want to write this review. The location of the hotel is great. Though it's not in the heart of the town, it's still in a walking distance. And since it's up on the hill, you have a great overlook view of the valley and mountains. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The food that Elena prepared was amazing. Her fried fish with salsa and veggie sounded so simple, but it was incredibly flavorful. Even a comfort food like french toast with homemade cream was so delicious. We also took a Copan Ruins tour with Nery. He was very knowledgable. He took time to show and answer our questions thoroughly. His English was perfect so we didn't have problem understand him at all though English is not our native language.
All that I've described wasn't the best part of this place. The best part was the warm welcome and hospitality from Elena, Nery, his wife and his lovely daughter. Stay here, you will feel like home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkk_gadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I wish we could have spent longer here. We were only her for 2 nights but it was the best stay on our whole vacation. The location was great. It was a walk into town but what a great walk! The street of Copan are wonderful and very safe. The hosts here were extremely accommodating. Nery, the owners son, gave us lots of tips and recommendations that we found very useful. He also served as our tour guide at the ruins and did a great job! Also, the breakfast here was wonderful. Way to much food but that's what vacation is all about. The only negative was the power went out a few times a day. But that happens everywhere in Copan. Stay here, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the house have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilly4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We spent 5 nights staying at Casa Dona Elena and it was a wonderful experience. It was really special because we felt like we were part of Dona Elena's family and it really enhanced our whole trip. The house and garden were beautiful, with amazing views of the Copan Valley. The rooms were comfortable with plenty of hot water in the showers. Every morning Dona Elena cooked something different (and delicious) for breakfast; we opted to eat dinner there every night (at an additional charge, but very reasonable price) and always had wonderful home-cooked comida tipica.

The best part, however, was getting to know Dona Elena and Nery and the family. They were so kind and thoughtful and made us feel so welcome. My 12 year old son became buddies with Dona Elena's grandson and the two of them hung out every day. Nery was so helpful and informative with information about Copan and suggestions for things to do in the area. Dona Elena was incredibly attentive and considerate. The vibe of the household was really great, and there was always company and conversation (and a wonderful cup of coffee) to be had in the communal eating area near the kitchen. After staying in Copan we moved on to a different part of Honduras and stayed in a regular hotel, which was nice but felt somewhat sterile and lonely after 5 days in Dona Elena's warm, friendly household. We definitely missed Casa Dona Elena after we left!

It was the rainy season when we were there, so it rained every night and we did experience short power outages (just an hour or two) on some evenings. Casa Dona Elena has every room prepared for this with candles, which was actually kind of cozy and fun, in a way. During power outages people would gather in the communal eating area and hang out by candlelight. I think it is important to emphasize that if you stay at Casa Dona Elena, you are staying with a normal Honduran family; they don't have backup generators like the expensive hotels. So it is important to have the right attitude about things like power outages and take things like that in stride. For me personally, I found the whole experience to be wonderful, power outages and all. It was our first time in Honduras and such a memorable trip, and I know that staying at Casa Dona Elena had a lot to do with it. I would not hesitate to go back there or recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank special_j25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

For the price you will not find a more beautiful, calm, and comfortable place to stay. The rooms are huge, beds are all full size and pleasantly comfortable, beautifully tiled bathrooms with hot water 24/7- unlike many showers Central America. A full jug of purified water was placed daily in our room. Fresh hot coffee and warmed milk was offered to us from early morning until evening each day. The dawn was truly something to look forward to, waking up to a stunning view right from my bed, or from our balcony just outside of our room door, was honestly the delight of this stay.
Breakfasts was served on arty mahogany wood tables in a tropical garden surrounded strip - starting with seasonal fruit each morning, to fresh scrambled eggs, French toast, pancakes or the typical Hondubreakfast. This serving can easily sustain you until an early evening dinner.
Doña Elena, Nery, and Lupita are an awesome family team, all wonderful hostesses and tremendously helpful with our many questions. We are all awfully thankful for their hospitality to our family. In comparison to our last stay in one of the downtown Hotels, Casa Doña Elena B&B is by far a better choice. For lesser money we had incomparable service, felt right at home, had a bigger and nicer room, and most definitely a BONUS view to the mountains that I will never forget. I would give them ten stars if I could!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.3 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#16 of 21 in Copan
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Berakah
Hostal Berakah
#4 of 21 in Copan
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dona Elena B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dona Elena B & B

Address: Avenida Centro America | Bo. El Calvario, Copan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range: £41 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Dona Elena B&B is owned and operated by a local family dedicated to hosting and care of travelers for more than 15 years. Our strategic location in the heights of Copan Ruinas is set away from the noises of the lively downtown, yet only a few minutes from all main points of interest. Besides, the best panoramic view of the valley and it's surrounding mountains right from your room's balcony also surrounded by open areas with tropical gardens that promise to make you feel relaxed and at peace. Each room is equipped with: - Full size beds with firm Pillow-top mattresses​- Bed-side table with night lamp​- Private Hot-water bathroom​- LCD Cable TV​- Breezy yet silent ceiling fan​- A/C Units​ - Panoramic windows viewing mountain and/or garden​- Private balcony or patio​- Fast speed Wi-Fi​- Lots of space and hygiene. Come stay with us, you'll be happy you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Dona Elena B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing