We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Barbara saved us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rainbow Village
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Barbara saved us!”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Rainbow Inn is conveniently located at few minutes away from La Ceiba Airport. Even though we landed in the middle of the night coming from Canada, Barbara, the owner, kindly picked us up at the airport to ensure we safely get to the hotel. The day after, after some good, secure and quiet sleep, we had a filling and delicious breakfast, included in room price. As Barbara understood we needed some rest after that first night, she kindly accepted to serve a late breakfast which was highly appreciated by all the family.
For those connecting to Roatan or Utila, Rainbow Inn is a perfect venue before to get on board. As it happens once in a while, the ferry to Utila was cancelled the day of our departure. Barbara, kindly made phone calls to make flight arrangements so that we can get to Utila as soon as possible.
Barbara has only four rooms to rent so she provides personal services much appreciated by us and by all customers. She is always eager to help her clients to ensure they enjoy their stay.
Rainbow Inn also has a restaurant that offers local and “European” foods at reasonable prices. We enjoyed delicious meals during our two short stays.
Rooms are so great for family since there are 2 closed rooms in some (or all 4?) units, great bathroom, and a very pleasant "salon-semi-kitchen" room. Little terrace with hammock-chairs, nice small swimming pool (a little bit cold in December but still swimmable!)... All perfect for our family who is not keen on luxury, packed and resort-kind lodging!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sofrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
48
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Rainbow Village for a total of three days on our way to and from Roatan. Barbara, the owner, is an extremely efficient and welcoming host. La Ceiba is not the most "settled" area I have ever visited, but with Barbara's guidance I felt safe with my family (my wife, stepdaughter{15}, and best friend.) For a reasonable fee Barbara supplied transport to and from the airport in San Pedro Sula, to and from the ferry to Roatan, and arranged for a tour of Pico Bonito National Park nearby. Being extremely close to the airport in La Cieba, I believe transport to and from that airport is free. These arrangements helped us to avoid many pitfalls and some possibly dangerous situations and I highly reccomend you making the same arrangements with Barbara. As a Chef, one of the most important things in accomodations is the food. La Ceiba is a large and bustling town, with a lot of character and plenty of diversions for the intrepid traveler; but after nightfall, we felt safer in the walls of the hotel. The convenience of this cannot be understated as Barbara and her staff run a full service restaurant and bar that is very good inside of the walls of the hotel. I was a little saddened when Barbara (originally from Germany) said we would just be missing the sunday buffet when she made things like Sauerbraten and Braise Cabbage! Barbara also arranged a FANTASTIC tour of Pico Bonito with tour guide Melvin who not only was an amazing guide with infinite help in the traverseing of ground (hand in hand leading my stepdaughter off the mountain after she fell down a couple times), but also knowing details that blew my scientist wife away (when asked about many plants we saw he knew the latin for its linnean name, and could relate very intricate concepts about the biology). I highly reccomend Barbara and Hotel Rainbow village if you are in La Ceiba. In a land of bustling and vibrant chaos it is an oasis of comfort run with an eye toward your pleasure.

Room Tip: We loved the Lilac apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yakov16ru
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed with Barbara for 2 nights on our way to and from Utila. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are huge. Barbara is a very attentive host and takes care of every single need a guest might have. We also enjoyed a couple of meals at the hotel restaurant. Overall, I think this is by far the best option in La Ceiba for an overnight stay on your way to Utila / Roatan.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yakov16ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Transport to airport is free. Good variety on menu. I recommend the schnitzel with mushroom sauce. Very safe, microwave and refrigerators, cable. As secure as you can get (10' high block walls with another 4' of electric fence and a very nice german shepherd named Rex). Barbara the owner is fluent in German, English and Spanish. La Ceiba is not my favorite city, but I travel frequently to the Bay islands and sometimes you have to stay in La Ceiba. When you do this is a GREAT place to be.

Room Tip: I think all cabins are probably comparable.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Monteoverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Unfortunately I wasn't too pleased with the room - clumps of hair in shower and room had a odd smell. Just seemed the place needed a bit more tlc. Also thought the price was a bit high for what we got.

On a positive note, Barbara was very friendly, convenient for a night, safe location and close to airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandGirl127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed several nights over a period of 2 weeks and Barbara and staff could not have been more helpful and nice.
This hotel is within easy walking distance of the airport.
So easy, I walked once ,even thought free transportation is available, and quick.
It's also a $1.25 taxi ride to the center of town and super safe.
AT the price you couldn't ask for more, enjoy.

Room Tip: I stayed in the yellow house but, didn't see any reason to think there would any preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlayeroCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Rainbow village was the perfect place for my husband and I while we were in La Ceiba visiting family. We felt very safe and were warmly welcomed. The breakfasts were fantastic as we're the dinners and bar service. The apartment was very comfortable and spacious. We felt very relaxed and really enjoyed our time at Rainbow Village.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahv172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
75 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
58 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rainbow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rainbow Village

Property: Hotel Rainbow Village
Address: Sector 1, El Confite | Col. El Confite, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rainbow Village is situated close to the La Ceiba Airport; only about 2 minutes from the entrance but without aircraft noise and is the gateway to The Bay Islands. Each of our five distinctive cabins is sure to please the quietly discriminating traveler. The cabins boast two bedrooms, each containing an upgraded queen sized bed, and a built in wardrobe complete with full length mirror for your comfort. Whisper quiet air conditioners have been installed in each of the bedrooms for your sleeping comfort. Duvets are available for chilly nights!A customized, fully tiled bathroom separates the two bedrooms. These bathrooms were designed to accommodate short or long term visitors, where you’ll find all the comforts of home, wherever that might be. Hot water is standard, of course.Upon entering the cabin via the private terrace facing the grounds, you will be delighted to see amenities galore; your comfort is important to us! A fully found kitchen awaits only your provisions should you choose to prepare your own meals to enjoy within, or on your terrace. Electric cook top, refrigerator, custom cabinets and ample counter space is sure to please , as are fully stocked cupboards containing dish ware, cutlery, and all of the necessary utensils you might have need of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rainbow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing