We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Response, No Signage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rainbow Village
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I sent an email requesting a reservation a week before traveling to La Ceiba; I got no reply. I tried to find the place at night, with no luck-- there is no signage visible from the main highway, the road approaching the hotel is pitted and wrecked, and the turn itself (I came back in daylight to see if I could find it) is likewise not marked.

I rang the bell to the gate, and was greeted through a security panel in the door. Two conversations through the panel; never even got invited inside. Very rude. When I mentioned the email, I was told there was no such email-- as if accusing me of lying.

I went back to my (good) hotel, checked my Sent folder, found the email, and re-sent it. Still no response, to this day.

Very rude. Very difficult. Won't try again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ben_Malisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was expecting more of a hotel room so when my friends and I (5 of us) entered the Hotel Rainbow Village B&B we were incredibly surprised to find out we were in a small "casita" complete with 2 bedrooms with A/C, a full bathroom with HOT water, a shared living room/eating space and a small kitchen. It was more than what we had expected and it fit more than we were even wanting.

Barbara is a wonderful ex-pat lady who is relaxed and on top of the game. We had tour plans but due to the bad weather, we had to replan. She was more than helpful in recommending us new places to visit and tour. She was full of information - directions, contacts, tour ideas, hospitality - so our stay wasn't short of awesome. The food was great, drinks (mixed and German/Honduran beer!) were tasty and the rooms were so comfortable. We definitely enjoyed our little porch area with a sitting hammock while we woke up with our coffee.

There are so many things to do in La Ceiba or Sambo Creek so we definitely recommend staying at Hotel Rainbow Village even if it is a little distance from both. It's worth the drive plus you get to see the gorgeous views of Honduras!

Tour recommendations: Cayos Cochinos Islands, Canopy (Ziplining) Tour in Sambo Creek, and paintball right around the corner from the hotel in a field with abandonded airplanes. So cool!

Room Tip: Pick a color of a house, they're all great rooms! We stayed in Casa Azul :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

When traveling to the Bay Islands, I always stay at Rainbow Village Hotel. I stayed there again last week and it did not disappoint. The rooms are clean and AC works great. Barbara cooks incredible German food and is always available around your schedule. The neighborhood looks a little rough but I have walked there from the airport numerous times with no issues. The Hotel, bar area/restaurant and pool are inside a high wall and you feel completely secure and can get a great night sleep. The stay includes a ride back to the airport so you dont have to deal with taxi cabs or worrying about catching your flight. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveS1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I live in the Bay Islands and have to travel to La Ceiba for merchandise I can't find on the island & also for medical. I always stay at Rainbow Village, if they have room. I have stayed at many hotels in La Ceiba, but I prefer staying at Rainbow Village. I hate feeling claustrophobic in a hotel room. Here you have your own little apartment and just as important, you have your own private porch. I love sitting outside and not being confined to a room. The apartments are comfortable, clean and cute. They have everything you need. I also like the that there is a nice restaurant right at the hotel. The food is good & they give you nice portions. When I had dental work done, the cook prepared a special meal for me. The owners are very nice and anxious to see that you have everything you need. I have always felt very safe at Rainbow Village. I like the atmosphere and colorful rooms. The prices are very fair. I highly recommend this hotel.
- Kay Bonds

Room Tip: All rooms are private and exactly alike. Any room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank florida29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

La ceiba as a whole seemed like a bit of a rough area, but this hostel was very nice. The lady who runs it is very friendly, the rooms are clean and have air conditioning, as well as kitchens and bathrooms. We only stayed for one night on our way to Roatan, but was a good place to stop. There was also a friendly German shepherd there!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cdndoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is adorable! We stayed in the green room. Barbara, who is the manager & cook, is incredibly helpful & sweet. She called all our cabs for us and made our reservation for the canopy tours. She's also a great cook. The hotel is about a $5 cab ride from downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

La Ceiba is a rough area, but Rainbow Village is a little paradise in the middle of it. The rooms are clean, cute and spacious. Barbara is super sweet and extremely helpful. There is a bar and food available, as well as a small pool. We hung out here for a day on our way to Utila; it was a way cool place to just chill out for a bit. Also Rex, Barbara's dog, is really cute and really well behaved.

Room Tip: Pick your favorite color :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nate86red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
84 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
5.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#14 of 22 in La Ceiba
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rainbow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rainbow Village

Address: Sector 1, El Confite | Col. El Confite, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: £53 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rainbow Village is situated close to the La Ceiba Airport; only about 2 minutes from the entrance but without aircraft noise and is the gateway to The Bay Islands. Each of our five distinctive cabins is sure to please the quietly discriminating traveler. The cabins boast two bedrooms, each containing an upgraded queen sized bed, and a built in wardrobe complete with full length mirror for your comfort. Whisper quiet air conditioners have been installed in each of the bedrooms for your sleeping comfort. Duvets are available for chilly nights!A customized, fully tiled bathroom separates the two bedrooms. These bathrooms were designed to accommodate short or long term visitors, where you’ll find all the comforts of home, wherever that might be. Hot water is standard, of course.Upon entering the cabin via the private terrace facing the grounds, you will be delighted to see amenities galore; your comfort is important to us! A fully found kitchen awaits only your provisions should you choose to prepare your own meals to enjoy within, or on your terrace. Electric cook top, refrigerator, custom cabinets and ample counter space is sure to please , as are fully stocked cupboards containing dish ware, cutlery, and all of the necessary utensils you might have need of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rainbow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing