We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!”
Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Villas Pico Bonito far exceeded our expectations! We traveled as a family with two children, 10 years and 8 years old. They both said this was their best trip ever! The grounds are beautiful and well kept. All the lodges are nicer than my own home and have a family friendly feel. Grocery shopping was made easy by the manager, Ana, making the travel arrangements for us. Ground transportation was also easy and arranged by Richard, the owner.

The best part was the friendly atmosphere - my girls made friends with the manager's daughter. They played cards, ate ice cream and pizza together, played hide and seek and the grounds and it was so much fun for them. The two dogs on the property were playful and part of the family then too!

I would more than highly recommend Villas Pico Bonito!

Room Tip: The Ceiba Tree Lodge was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steener75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
82
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A group of friends and I visited the villas in 2011and although I'm a little late in posting this review it was such a marvellous place to stay, late or not I felt I had to share my experience. All the villas are uniquely different, are very comfortable and all have their own spectacular views. Peaceful? Well it was just so tranquil it was heaven. The grounds are beautifully and sympathetically maintained and echo the tropical rainforest in which the Villas are situated and being on the banks of the river Cangrejal you can have the idyll of peace and quiet lounging around the pool area listening to the sounds of the river and the jungle, or enjoy the thrill of white water rafting, hiking in the jungle, horse riding etc. So much or so little to do, its your choice. Richard was a wonderful host and only too happy to help make our stay an enjoyable one, the staff were so helpful and the food was terrific. It is definitely somewhere I will visit again and I'm more than happy to recommend a visit to the villas.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have been visiting Villas Pico Bonito for several years and have not been disappointed. As soon as you enter through the gates you feel as though you have stepped into a hidden oasis with the lush jungle all around you. It is the last place you would expect to find a Tucher Helles from Bavaria served with your burger and able to walk the lush grounds as the river runs past you.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zonafade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripletango, Owner at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thanks very much for the review. My staff try very hard to keep our guests happy. I will pass on your comments to them. They will be very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself.
Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We just had an amazing stay at the Villas. Richard, the general manager, was incredibly patient and gave great advice while helping us set up all of our day trips. The lodge itself is a jungle paradise flush with a huge variety of tropical plants, an amazing infinity pool, and a full stocked bar. The menu was good though mainly westernized, however the staff was more than happy to make us an incredible Honduran meal even on their off day!

If you are looking to stay in Pico Bonito this is absolutely your best option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed for three nights. It is unbelievable that you can travel from the city of La Ceiba into the mountains for 20 minutes and you are in another world! More than one hundred species of birds on the premises alone. The mountains harbor much more wildlife. We have seen toucans and monkeys.

The food is superb and the facilities in general are excellent. The infinity pool is unique.

The staff and the owner are always around and always ready to assist you.

Elías

Make sure you bring insect repellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is an excellent place to stay! We originally stayed in the Del Rio Lodge, which is nice, but you get a lot of ants because it is on the ground level The trade off is that it has a screened in porch for night time to keep all the bugs away. After a couple of days we switched to the Tucano Lodge which was absolutely beautiful and much more accommodating for 5 people. Tucano is what we were more expecting as a "jungle hut". It is all wooden inside with a beautiful living room and deck that overlooks the river. It is worth paying a little more to get the Tucano.

Overall the grounds are just gorgeous. There are little waterfalls and paths made of stone and everything is well kept. People are constantly working on the property to make the gardens and pathways exceptionally groomed. The pool is not heated, but is nice and refreshing.

The meals are very simple and delicious and reasonably priced.

What we did was rented a car when we first got to La Ceiba because we could then drive to the grocery store (close to the airport and on the way) and get some supplies such as alcohol, mix, food and milk. We drove up to the villas and unloaded the groceries. You can also take a taxi for about 30-35 USD which is a good deal. We prepared out own breakfasts and lunches and then had dinner at the little restaurant they have there.

This place is beautiful and very relaxing. I recommend the rafting because the boats are small and you are actually paddling yourself through the rapids, unlike other rafting places where you kind of sit on a giant inflatable boat and gently go down the river.

Richard can also hook you up with renting dirt bikes, bicycles, tour groups and activities.

There are also two dogs on the property which is nice because they will bark at strangers or anything out of the ordinary, but they are quiet and gentle. Oh, and they are huge! (German Sheppard and British Mastiff) They are so friendly and docile, I just loved them.

Also, if you are flying into Roatan take another flight from Roatan to La Ceiba. It costs almost the same and it is worth the experience and saves time! The highlight of our trip was that plane ride from Roatan to La Ceiba...believe me its worth it!

Oh and the weather was nice. Very VERY humid so take a hair dryer with you if you EVER want your hair to dry. Towels, linens, dishes and TP are all provided. We had exceptionally good weather for when we went as it usually rains all Decemer but we had a few nice days with sunshine.

Room Tip: Tucano Lodge which was absolutely beautiful and much more accommodating for 5 people. Tucano is what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent a few nights there. We arrived at night so we did not quite appreciated the site for what it was, but we were in for a wonderful surprise the next day when we woke up! The place is amazing, the infinity pool, the trees and flowers, the paths linking the rooms and the restaurant to one another... Simply perfect. It is also very quiet. The only complaint I would have to make is that it was really humid in the rooms since there is no AC, so we did not sleep that well... I should add that the staff is really nice there. I forgot the name of the lady who is in charge of the place, Ana maybe?, but anyway she was really nice to us, making a nice breakfast to bring with us the next morning since we had to leave very early, not to say in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Betsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.5 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#18 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Property: Villas Pico Bonito
Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing