We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number One Hidden Wonder of Honduras”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Number One Hidden Wonder of Honduras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I lived in Tegucigalpa for 10 years and went to many road trips with my family when I was young visiting beautiful places from north, south, west and east of Honduras. Staying at Villas Pico Bonito was wondrous. You really get a feel for nature and a feeling of being home with the great accommodations the Villas have to offer. The gardens are beautiful filled with exotic flowers and many plants. Many sitting areas to appreciate everything around you, from the sound of singing birds to seeing geckos on the trees. And most of all, the warm hospitality from Richard, his staff and his friendly pets who would greet us every morning. On behalf of my family, Thank you Richard!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDEscoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
82
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alexandria
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

My family had a fantastic two night stay at Villas Pico Bonito. We drove there from Copan so were about 6 hours late ( Didn't leave on time and underestimated how long the drive would be) But Richard waited for us, gave us additional directions as we got lost and welcomed us when we finally got there. There were nine of us, we rented a villa with two rooms, two bathrooms and a shared kitchen and patio/sitting area. Each room had two queen or king size beds, ceiling fan, mosquito net, and was very comfortable.

The property is beautiful, very relaxing, a perfect place to lay low or soak up nature. We went on the four hour rain forest hike, what a HIKE! And yes, it does take 4 hours and it is TEDIOUS. Bring a lot of water and some snacks, you will need it.

Richard, thanks for your great hospitality, Bibi, Lucy and Ace kept us great company. I've uploaded a few pictures. Your property is definitely on our would go back list. THANKS!

Room Tip: It is a good 10 minutes off the main road, so be patient once you make that turn onto the dirt road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabiamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Villas Pico Bonito far exceeded our expectations! We traveled as a family with two children, 10 years and 8 years old. They both said this was their best trip ever! The grounds are beautiful and well kept. All the lodges are nicer than my own home and have a family friendly feel. Grocery shopping was made easy by the manager, Ana, making the travel arrangements for us. Ground transportation was also easy and arranged by Richard, the owner.

The best part was the friendly atmosphere - my girls made friends with the manager's daughter. They played cards, ate ice cream and pizza together, played hide and seek and the grounds and it was so much fun for them. The two dogs on the property were playful and part of the family then too!

I would more than highly recommend Villas Pico Bonito!

Room Tip: The Ceiba Tree Lodge was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steener75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A group of friends and I visited the villas in 2011and although I'm a little late in posting this review it was such a marvellous place to stay, late or not I felt I had to share my experience. All the villas are uniquely different, are very comfortable and all have their own spectacular views. Peaceful? Well it was just so tranquil it was heaven. The grounds are beautifully and sympathetically maintained and echo the tropical rainforest in which the Villas are situated and being on the banks of the river Cangrejal you can have the idyll of peace and quiet lounging around the pool area listening to the sounds of the river and the jungle, or enjoy the thrill of white water rafting, hiking in the jungle, horse riding etc. So much or so little to do, its your choice. Richard was a wonderful host and only too happy to help make our stay an enjoyable one, the staff were so helpful and the food was terrific. It is definitely somewhere I will visit again and I'm more than happy to recommend a visit to the villas.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have been visiting Villas Pico Bonito for several years and have not been disappointed. As soon as you enter through the gates you feel as though you have stepped into a hidden oasis with the lush jungle all around you. It is the last place you would expect to find a Tucher Helles from Bavaria served with your burger and able to walk the lush grounds as the river runs past you.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zonafade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripletango, Owner at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thanks very much for the review. My staff try very hard to keep our guests happy. I will pass on your comments to them. They will be very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself.
Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We just had an amazing stay at the Villas. Richard, the general manager, was incredibly patient and gave great advice while helping us set up all of our day trips. The lodge itself is a jungle paradise flush with a huge variety of tropical plants, an amazing infinity pool, and a full stocked bar. The menu was good though mainly westernized, however the staff was more than happy to make us an incredible Honduran meal even on their off day!

If you are looking to stay in Pico Bonito this is absolutely your best option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed for three nights. It is unbelievable that you can travel from the city of La Ceiba into the mountains for 20 minutes and you are in another world! More than one hundred species of birds on the premises alone. The mountains harbor much more wildlife. We have seen toucans and monkeys.

The food is superb and the facilities in general are excellent. The infinity pool is unique.

The staff and the owner are always around and always ready to assist you.

Elías

Make sure you bring insect repellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.5 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#17 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Property: Villas Pico Bonito
Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing