We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”
Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Overview:
I am not sure where to start, but our vacation here was amazing!!! Villas Pico Bonito is located in a beautiful area and has a great view of the river valley with fantastic accommodations. What impressed me the most was the fantastic hospitality shown by Richard (the general manager) and all the staff in his employment. It is amazing how Villas Pico Bonito is able to meet that perfect balance between fine service, excellent value, and eco-friendliness.
When you get there you will barely have to lift a finger, because the management and staff will organize everything for you.
I was also pleasantly surprised at their cuisine. The food was excellent and of fantastic value. They had a wide variety of dishes on their menu, which were well prepared and the staff were happy to accommodate special requests.
In addition to this, the Villas are a multicultural hot spot. We met guests from the Caribbean, Canada, the US, Europe and Australia, who were all happy to find this hidden gem.

Personal Tips:
Remember Honduras is primarily Spanish speaking, so a general grasp of the language is good, but not essential. Exercising common sense is also important, as it is with anywhere you travel. Some people may need to adjust to the higher altitude, since the lodge is in the mountains. The hotel also provides purified water, which is good, because some people's stomachs might disagree with the local water quality.

Room Tip: If you want the best lodge, then choose La Ceiba tree lodge. We stayed there and it had the best vie...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stugo1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Villas Pico Bonito
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

I lived in Tegucigalpa for 10 years and went to many road trips with my family when I was young visiting beautiful places from north, south, west and east of Honduras. Staying at Villas Pico Bonito was wondrous. You really get a feel for nature and a feeling of being home with the great accommodations the Villas have to offer. The gardens are beautiful filled with exotic flowers and many plants. Many sitting areas to appreciate everything around you, from the sound of singing birds to seeing geckos on the trees. And most of all, the warm hospitality from Richard, his staff and his friendly pets who would greet us every morning. On behalf of my family, Thank you Richard!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDEscoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My family had a fantastic two night stay at Villas Pico Bonito. We drove there from Copan so were about 6 hours late ( Didn't leave on time and underestimated how long the drive would be) But Richard waited for us, gave us additional directions as we got lost and welcomed us when we finally got there. There were nine of us, we rented a villa with two rooms, two bathrooms and a shared kitchen and patio/sitting area. Each room had two queen or king size beds, ceiling fan, mosquito net, and was very comfortable.

The property is beautiful, very relaxing, a perfect place to lay low or soak up nature. We went on the four hour rain forest hike, what a HIKE! And yes, it does take 4 hours and it is TEDIOUS. Bring a lot of water and some snacks, you will need it.

Richard, thanks for your great hospitality, Bibi, Lucy and Ace kept us great company. I've uploaded a few pictures. Your property is definitely on our would go back list. THANKS!

Room Tip: It is a good 10 minutes off the main road, so be patient once you make that turn onto the dirt road
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabiamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Villas Pico Bonito far exceeded our expectations! We traveled as a family with two children, 10 years and 8 years old. They both said this was their best trip ever! The grounds are beautiful and well kept. All the lodges are nicer than my own home and have a family friendly feel. Grocery shopping was made easy by the manager, Ana, making the travel arrangements for us. Ground transportation was also easy and arranged by Richard, the owner.

The best part was the friendly atmosphere - my girls made friends with the manager's daughter. They played cards, ate ice cream and pizza together, played hide and seek and the grounds and it was so much fun for them. The two dogs on the property were playful and part of the family then too!

I would more than highly recommend Villas Pico Bonito!

Room Tip: The Ceiba Tree Lodge was great!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steener75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A group of friends and I visited the villas in 2011and although I'm a little late in posting this review it was such a marvellous place to stay, late or not I felt I had to share my experience. All the villas are uniquely different, are very comfortable and all have their own spectacular views. Peaceful? Well it was just so tranquil it was heaven. The grounds are beautifully and sympathetically maintained and echo the tropical rainforest in which the Villas are situated and being on the banks of the river Cangrejal you can have the idyll of peace and quiet lounging around the pool area listening to the sounds of the river and the jungle, or enjoy the thrill of white water rafting, hiking in the jungle, horse riding etc. So much or so little to do, its your choice. Richard was a wonderful host and only too happy to help make our stay an enjoyable one, the staff were so helpful and the food was terrific. It is definitely somewhere I will visit again and I'm more than happy to recommend a visit to the villas.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have been visiting Villas Pico Bonito for several years and have not been disappointed. As soon as you enter through the gates you feel as though you have stepped into a hidden oasis with the lush jungle all around you. It is the last place you would expect to find a Tucher Helles from Bavaria served with your burger and able to walk the lush grounds as the river runs past you.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank zonafade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripletango, Owner at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thanks very much for the review. My staff try very hard to keep our guests happy. I will pass on your comments to them. They will be very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself.
Regards Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We just had an amazing stay at the Villas. Richard, the general manager, was incredibly patient and gave great advice while helping us set up all of our day trips. The lodge itself is a jungle paradise flush with a huge variety of tropical plants, an amazing infinity pool, and a full stocked bar. The menu was good though mainly westernized, however the staff was more than happy to make us an incredible Honduran meal even on their off day!

If you are looking to stay in Pico Bonito this is absolutely your best option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
80 reviews
11.1 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range: £30 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing