We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The place is overlooking the river and near most of the activities. I felt safe the entire time we were there. We were in the tree house lodge which has an open air kitchen and 2 closed off bedrooms. There are 2 king sized beds in each room with netting over the beds to help with bugs. Even though we really didn't need the netting, we used it anyway as I felt better with it. The tree house lodge overlooks the pool and river. The infinity pool is really clean and nice. They have wifi. There are a few trails to walk down to the river. I found a big boulder I could climb on top of and do a morning meditation. Most of the staff speak English and will sit and chat with you. They are all very nice and courteous. The food is really good especially the beef tipico and beef curry. They also use a purification system to filter the water there. I would not hesitate to go back and stay again. They will also arrange pick-up and drop-off at the airport. Only 2 things to keep in mind for your stay. 1. The food takes a bit of time to cook so make sure and order an hour before you need to go anywhere. 2. On Sunday the pool can get crowded as locals from La Ceiba drive in and eat lunch at the lodge. They are allowed to use the pool area so I would plan an activity on Sunday afternoon or at least not plan for a relaxing day at the pool that day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank britters32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Villas Pico Bonito
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are looking for a romantic and relaxing escape from everything this is the place. It is b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l, the gardens are fabulous, the girl that attended us explained that the owner brings flowers from all over and I can say he has done a great job, everything on here its amazing. The pool is, in my humble opinion, one of the best in the country, it is an infinity pool looking to a mountain and it is so relaxing to be swimming with the sound of all the animals around and the superb view, the food at the restaurant is exquisite, we had the pleasure to talk with the cook and it was a pretty good experience and it is worth to mention he is a very young man, I have had the sleep of my life in here because it is so uncommon to sleep with the sound of nature, loved everything of it and hopefully we will come back soon, highly recommend place

Room Tip: Cabins in front of the river
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Not our first visit and it won't be our last, this week we were able to enjoy 2 1/2 days of pure bliss at Villas Pico Bonito were you simply disappear into a jungle paradise.

We stayed in the Ceiba Tree House and it is the best of the best at the Villa. Two huge double king beds in each of the two bedrooms with a full kitchen and to baths plus a shaded patio with views of the magnificent vanishing edge swimming pool, the river and water fall on the other side.

A botanical paradise that beats almost anywhere we have traveled in tropical countries makes the environment extremely peaceful. The Villas are a must if you want to truly experience the rain forests outside La Ceiba.

Room Tip: The Ceiba Tree House gives you the best of the best
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent 4 days here with a group of friends last year and it was the perfect escape! After a long flight from the US, and a couple hours drive in the middle of the night from San Pedro Sula, arriving at this beautiful lodge was a welcome site. Every single member of the staff (including the dogs!) were friendly, and helpful. The grounds of the hotel were incredibly well looked after, lush, and colorful. If you are on your way to or from San Pedro Sula and/or Utila/Roatan, I highly recommend a stop at this gem of a place. There are lots of activities in the area, or you can simple enjoy some drinks by the pool and the rush of the river below. A real special treat was sitting outside of the villa and listening to a rain storm in the jungle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my 5 friends weren’t expecting all this infrastructure. WOW!

They have everything you need.
The bar offers food and drinks all day. The service is a bit slow but they are friendly and very caring.
The views are unbeatable.
We stayed at cangrejal and we had two floors. All beds were comfortable and bathroom clean. Bugs are unavoidable (they were everywhere!) but nothing too scary.
We had an issue with our transfer (was to be free but we paid $55 one way- way above any other transfer we paid in the country) but they were friendly enough and made it up to us by offering a free ride to the ferry.
The internet isn’t the best but there is so much to do that you won’t even miss it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Leticia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Beautiful location, beautiful accommodation. It's paradise on earth. We were there for a few nights, a family of 5 and the restaurant was supposed to be closed. We were in touch with the owner by email and when we got there, the chef was waiting to make food for us. You can hike down to the river and you can also continue up the road and take a trail to the waterfall.

Room Tip: La Ceiba tree is gorgeous but I looked at the other casitas and they seemed very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oria4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful!

My partner and I stayed here for the weekend and loved every minute of it! The grounds and Villas are amazing. The view is breathtaking. The food is delicious. The staff are also extremely helpful andso friendly! I would recommends Villa Pico Bonito to anyone! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the El Bejuco and the view from the balcony was beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
80 reviews
11.1 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range: £30 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing