We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Villa de Soledad B&B
Ranked #2 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were a group of 6 friends and spent two nights in this amazing house: Wonderful location and stunning scenery, remarkable hospitality of the owners of the house John and Soledad, DELICIOUS breakfast and dinner cooked by Soledad, big luminous comfortable and perfectly clean rooms. Plus, John made it really easy for us: he picked us up at la Ceiba and took us back to the station, he also explained in detail all the possibilities of activities in the area (walk to the waterfall, rafting, etc) and gave us good tips to continue our travel. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Hello Julia!

Thank you for your kind remarks. Soledad and myself thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests. Glad that you and your group had a great time and thank you for taking the time to put up your review. We value the comments that our guests make and and they keep us working hard to make of our property a unique experience that will be cherished by all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for La Villa de Soledad B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

My fiancé and I stayed there and it was the most fantastic getaway during this Holy week. We journeyed from San Pedro Sula and got there almost dusk. John and his wife greeted us like we known each other for a while. The grand view of the area was breathtaking surrounded by exotic plants, mountain with waterfall cascading down the river. At night, we can hear the serenity of cascading water flowing down the river. The entire staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was excellent. If anyone wants the best time of theif life,, this is one place that you want to spent away from hustling and bustling city life....Thank you John

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trauma14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Every time we plan a vacation it’s hard for us to decide were to stay so that my wife can have a good vegetarian meal, but being at john’s place was theeeeeeeeeeeeee best food she ever had in her travelling experiences. Our visit to villa de soledad was spectacular. Lovely food, Beautiful nature with a great view of Cangrejal River and Pico Bonito Mountains.
john and soledad are such a lovely people, who you would just love for what they are and how comfortable they make you at villa de soledad. We departed with an everlasting memories which would never fade.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sau306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you Saurabh!

Thank you for your nice review! I am blessed with a lovely wife who loves to cook and has a natural ability to cook really good food. Soledad was bit concerned when we learned that you are a cook yourself, so your raving about her food is especially flattering. We hope you and Palavi can come back and visit us some time soon.It was a real pleasure having you as our guests!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We spent 3 nights in paradise ! Even the rain did not matter ! Fantastic location, beautiful scenery and hospitality of exception . Johns knowledge is unsurpassable and Soledads food did nothing to assist the waist line ! Don't pass it by - worth every single dollar
Thank you Lucy and Nikki

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy888867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for your comments Lucy! We really enjoyed having you and Nikki with us. I apologize for the rain! But happy to hear you had a great time regardless of it! Hope your friends who stayed in Utila follow your advice next time and spend a couple of days on the lovely Cangrejal River Valley. So close and yet so different between them! Have a great Easter Week and send our regards to Nikki!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I would like to enthusiastically agree with all the other reviews. Villa Soledad is absolutely magic and by far the best place we stayed in our travels round Honduras. The views are stunning and we saw more beautiful birds in their lovely gardens than we had seen in the rest of Honduras. John and Soledad couldn't have been sweeter and more obliging. Soledad even changed all the furniture around in our huge and beautiful bedroom for me so that I could see the valley from the bed! The food (which included lunches and supper when requested) was absolutely wonderful too and Soledad had breakfast ready at 5am one morning when we had a particularly early bird-watching start. We were there for 3 nights and I would want to go back to Honduras simply to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcolindalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear Mark and Linda!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests! Soledad and myself are very flattered by your kind words and very happy that you felt your stay with us was the highlight of your trip to Honduras. We have put in a lot of effort into creating a little piece of paradise and are proud of it! Keep in touch. We would love to have you back someday!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

You find all three of them and more at this magnificent place! Soledad and John, this charming couple greet you at their place with arms wide open, kindness and a bunch of history facts and knowledge on the region! This is definitively a place to stay when around La Ceiba, its peculiar location makes you don't want to leave it!

Room Tip: Do not forget to close your door!!! You're in the middle of the mountains and mosquitoes can be...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gissela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

What a surprise! John picked us up, showed us the historical garden of the Standard Fruit Company downtown La Ceiba and drove of towards his place. John has been writing about Honduras for two decades and knows all the inns & outs of the country.
The amazing part was that within fifteen minutes you are surrounded by nature. Dense tropical rainforest on both sides of the fresh Cangrejal river. We arrived at La Villa de Soledad (named after his sweet wife Soledad, that also cooks very tastefully) and wanted to stay longer. The room are new, huge, clean and beautiful. The house is high, so cool breeze comes in and the view over the rivervalley and jungle is amazing! We did hiking to the waterfall and rafting with Jorge Salaverri from La Moskitia Ecoaventuras on the wild river Cangrejal. We stayed two nights but surely could spend a week. Thanks John also for your interesting stories!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomvanderleij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.5 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
80 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa de Soledad B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa de Soledad B&B

Address: Km.8 Carretera La Ceiba - Yaruca | Aldea El Naranjo, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range: £52 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Villa de Soledad B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding setting with breathtaking views of Pico Bonito National Park and Cangrejal River. Walking distance access to hiking trails, river rafting. Awesome birdwatching opportunities, unsurpassable Honduran hospitality provided on site by owners. Private rooms with terrace, lovely tropical gardens. Truly a setting that will generate pleasant memories you will cherish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Villa de Soledad B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing