We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B with flare for the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa de Soledad B&B
Ranked #2 of 33 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“B&B with flare for the best.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

John and Soledad treat guest royally, Soledad's cooking is fantastic! The photos of the house and property do not do justice to the place. There is friendship and warmth all around. Close to lots of activities, and John can arrange drivers, guides and expeditions to meet any interest. Just leave beach front options for other days and stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom56Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you stay with us! I hope your stay in Trujillo was a nice experience and that you found that Honduras is truly an interesting location to retire in! For Soledad and myself having guests like you makes it a real treat to be in the business! If you happen to have a picture that does do justice to our B&B please share it with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
51
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A stay at La Villa de Soledad B&B is a must for all travelers to Honduras, especially to those who desire to experience the most beautiful places Honduras has to offer. John and Soledad Dupuis make your stay most accommodating from day 1...with 4**** accommodations and service. Activities are unlimited and scenery will keep you enchanted and make you wanting to return.
Staying La Villa and experiencing the jungle and the steep mountains surrounding it is a must...along with visiting Copan-Maya Ruins and the Bay Islands.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaglobal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Wow! Staying at this place was a welcomed change from hostel life for my girlfriend and I. We knew that it had good reviews on tripadvisor, but not much else. We arrived to a warm greeting and the most incredible steak dinners. The owner, John, was a delight to talk to and very informative. His wife Soledad is a wonderful and warm woman as well. She even gave us the inside scoop on where to get great, Honduran hammocks! All in all, our stay here left us in awe. For what you get, the price is next to nothing! The breakfast was fantastic, views outside the house breathtaking, and the rooms are amazing. Thanks so much John and Soledad!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I spent wonderful days there last week. The villa is beautiful, a haven of peace in the middle of the rain forest, located just a few miles away from La Ceiba.

John and Soledad were very friendly, knowledgable and hospitable. John speaks English and can help you with planning your activities all around. Soledad is a great chef and we really enjoyed her cuisine! Our bedroom was tasteful and had ample space.

We'd like to thank both of them and their nephew Yanny again for making our stay so pleasant and we highly recommend travelers to go there and experience it by themselves!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hello Rozzen! It was a pleasure having Cesar and you as our guests! Best of all of for us was the fact that you felt safe during your stay with us and during the tours you took. Happy to hear that you were satisfied and pleased with our little piece of heaven! Soledad enjoyed your company. Thanks for helping us get the word out about the Cangrejal River and La Ceiba in general! Hope to see you back with friends or family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay with John and Soledad, the most gracious B&B hosts we could ever hope to meet. Even before we began our vacation, John recommended and helped arrange activities for our stay, contacting guides and making reservations. He personally met us at the ferry upon our arrival in La Ceiba, provided transportation as needed during our stay, and took us to the airport when it was time to leave. Completely fluent in English, John was always available to answer our questions or provide translation when we needed it. His wife, Soledad, was extremely welcoming and cooked delicious meals for us every day. Every time we arrived at the house after a day's outing, she would meet us at the door with a cool glass of juice, freshly squeezed from an exotic local fruit. What a luxury!

We enjoyed many pleasant hours of conversation with John and Soledad during our stay. John is extremely knowledgeable about tourism in Honduras, as well as the country's history and current affairs, and is quite willing to share his knowledge and opinions.

Their house was, for us, a truly unique experience. Almost all of the living area is outdoors. The living room, dining room, and breakfast area are all part of a spacious, roofed patio -- open to the fresh air and bird song. The furniture is set back far enough from the roof line, so that you can sit in comfort during major rain storms. Tile floors shed moisture of any rains. Though the house was so open to the weather, we were never found it uncomfortably hot or humid during our stay. Breezes and trees helped to keep thing quite pleasant. The house was tastefully decorated with a variety of local artwork. The garden was a delight, full of tropical plants and flowers.

Our bedroom and bath were large, clean, and very well-maintained. Shutters on the outside wall of the bedroom could be opened to allow exposure to the beautiful garden, cooling breezes, and the very-early-morning chorus of tropical birds. We slept well in a very comfortable bed.

The place is remote, some nine kilometers off the nearest paved road, but within easy walking distance of the the Cangrejal River and one entrance to the Pico Bonito National Park. For some travelers, this remoteness might be the only drawback to La Villa de Soledad. Anyone planning to use the B&B as a base from which to explore the area or visit La Ceiba, might want to consider renting a car -- preferably one with four-wheel drive -- from the San Pedro Sula airport. John can certainly give you full advice on transportation before you come.

Do spend some time at La Villa de Soledad. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Della and Bill:
It was a pleasure having you as our guests! Soledad and myself enjoyed your company and conversation. We trust you were happy with the bird sightings in both the Cuero y Salado Wildlife Refuge and Pico Bonito National Park. We love having birdwatchers staying at La Villa de Soledad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

After a week of diving in Utila, my boyfriend and I wanted to experience the Honduran jungle. We’re so glad we found the beautiful hideaway of La Villa de Soledad! John and Soledad made the picturesque home and location feel like home.

The comfortable house (only 5 miles from La Ceiba, though it feels worlds away in the peaceful Pico Bonito national park) came to feel like an idyllic oasis, where we could relax (and shower comfortably!) after a day hike to a local waterfall or zip lining! John helped organize all our activities—connecting us with local guides and the canopy tours company. He also picked us up from the Utila ferry in La Ceiba and dropped us off at Sambo Creek at the end of our stay.

He not only gave us great travel advice, John is extremely knowledgeable about Honduran history. His wife Soledad was equally welcoming. She is also the best cook I have ever experienced! She cooks traditional Honduran food, often using ingredients from their beautiful garden. This was seriously the best food we had in Honduras, and quite possibly ever. It was so delicious!

Honestly, staying here was the highlight of our trip. We didn’t want to leave! La Villa de Soledad is a great place to explore the jungle in an elegant and relaxed setting.

Thanks for your hospitality, John and Soledad! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Kathleen and Chris: It was a pleasure having you as our guests! Hope your trip back home was uneventful. Chris how did it go for you in Nicaragua? Would love to hear how you got there and back to provide tips to future guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stumbled upon this place online, while resting from our afternoon dive in the nearby Island of Utila...We had no idea what to expect of the area surrounding La Ceiba or the B&B, but were delighted to meet the owner John, on time, at the fairy dock. We thoroughly enjoyed the brief ride toward the property, amazed by how lush and expansive the scenery quickly became. We pulled up the valley hill into the custom built house that is La Villa de Soledad. Instantly, we knew we had made the right choice and had really lucked out. No sooner did we meet his wife Soledad, who greeted us with fresh smoothies in hand...a lovely, genuine, and beautiful person whose culinary expertise made us excited for each and every meal. Her sweet singing voice could be heard throughout the day; her happiness was almost tangible and contagious - one can tell she lives live to the fullest! We were amazed and captivated with this place, from the jungle valley backdrop, birds, flowers, to the beautiful landscaping and architecture...so much so, that we stayed an extra 2 nights! John is very well connected in the area and helped us arrange for our hike through Pico Bonito park (minutes away) and even called late at night to fit us into a Yoga session early the next morning just down the road. The rooms were well appointed, beds were comfortable, and the attention to detail was more than apparent...from the great water pressure and heat of the showers to the beautiful custom furniture and artwork on display, each with their own little story! The place quickly became our "vacation from our vacation," spending several hours rejuvenating ourselves with great food, company and rest, walking down to the Rio Cangrejal each day to play in the river...jumping off boulders into the water, laying in the sun, enjoying the jungle surround, steady breeze, and tranquil river sounds...one day we even played with the locals and watched them hunt for small fish swimming in the rapids! The hospitality afforded to us by John, Soledad, and family went way beyond our expectations, and we were quite sad when it was time to have to leave. Some day, we will be back!!! J&S, thanks again for everything. Our stay with you was in no small way the highlight of our trip to Honduras.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hello Mike!
It was a pleasure having you and Syd with us this month. I hope your trip to Pullhapansak Waterfalls was up to your expectations! Thank you for the pictures you sent us. Soledad sends her warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.5 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.8 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa de Soledad B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa de Soledad B&B

Property: La Villa de Soledad B&B
Address: Km.8 Carretera La Ceiba - Yaruca | Aldea El Naranjo, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Villa de Soledad B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding setting with breathtaking views of Pico Bonito National Park and Cangrejal River. Walking distance access to hiking trails, river rafting. Awesome birdwatching opportunities, unsurpassable Honduran hospitality provided on site by owners. Private rooms with terrace, lovely tropical gardens. Truly a setting that will generate pleasant memories you will cherish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Villa de Soledad B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing