We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Villa de Soledad B&B
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casa de Espana(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Estadio(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Hamacas(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Moskitia Ecoaventuras(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
131
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifepico bonito parkperfect hoststhe riveran amazing cookomega tourslovely homeowners johngenuine warmth and friendlinesswhite water raftingshort walkbreakfast was excellentfresh fruitdelicious dinnerexotic plantsquiet retreatday hiking
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We chose to stay here because we were traveling from Copan to Roatan and our bus schedule did not allow us to catch the ferry in time. The hotels in Las Ceiba didn't look great and staying in the hills outside of town seemed like a better option. This turned out to be a great decision. When our bus arrived the owner was there waiting on us. I had emailed him ahead of time and asked if they would mind preparing dinner for us. When we arrived they already had an amazing steak dinner prepared. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and after a long day of traveling sleep was great. The next morning we woke to the most amazing views of our trip. Breakfast was great and the grounds around the Villa are stunning. What really adds to the peaceful environment is the sound of the river that is down the hill. We went rafting on the river that morning and had blast. We used Omega which very close by to the Villa. After our rafting trip we had a few ours to come back and relax in the hammocks before we had to leave to catch the ferry. We were sad to leave. Neither words or pictures can describe/show how amazing this place is.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rankin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Good day John!
Soledad and myself are flattered by your comments. Our slogan is Relax in Nature, and we are pleased that you found our Bed and Breakfast peaceful! We chose our location because of the beauty surrounding it and have put our hearts into making our guests feel comfortable and as close to paradise as possible! It's a shame you could only spend a couple of nights with us, but thankful that you did squeeze a couple of days between Copan and the Bay Islands. Soledad and myself would love to see come by this way again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Thank you John, Soledad and your entire family for welcoming us into your beautiful home! A short walk from all jungle/rafting tour operators, the location was perfect. Villa de Soledad faces the Pico Bonito forest and you can hear the Rio Cangrejal rushing by below. John graciously picked us up from the ferry terminal and drove us to the resort. When you first walk into the large veranda, you are warmly welcomed by Nina (my favorite dog!) The rooms are located along a tiled courtyard (with a fountain). The rooms are impeccably decorated, very clean, have views of the grounds/jungle and en-suite bathrooms. Each meal is prepared by the vibrant Soledad and needless to say, the food was delicious and clearly made with love. We were so glad that we ended our time in Honduras here - we only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chewy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you Angie!
Soledad and myself really enjoyed having you as our guests! Glad that you liked her home cooking! Nina was sorry to see her new best friend leave so soon! You were lucky with the rafting, we had one heck of a storm a couple of days after you left and it was huge! It still is a bit to high to raft the same section you did! We appreciate your sharing your experience with us via tripadvisor and would love to see you back some time! Hope the weather did not interfere much with your trip back home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Located along side the Rio Cangrejal John and Soledad have created a peaceful paradise in the midst of breathtaking natural beauty. Whether you want the full on adventure of hiking, rafting and ziplining or to curl up in a hammock and listen to a book soothed by the sound of a rushing river, this is the place for you.

John speaks impeccable English and is happy to help you plan your time out and fill in your knowledge gaps on the politics and history of the region. Soledad is a fantastic cook and gracious host. My three friends and I couldn't have picked a better place to spend our last few days in Honduras. Only sad we didn't have longer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank dutchpancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi Scott! Hope you made it back home without to many delays to the weather conditions in the USA. Thank you for your comments. For Soledad and myself it was a real pleasure to have Mike, Jai, Angie and yourself at La Villa de Soledad. I hope that the transfer we arranged for you to get back to San Pedro Sula airport worked out fine. Good luck with your future wedding. Guests like you make it a pleasure to run this little B&B in the lush tropical mountains of Honduras!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Located in a beautiful area, between two protected forests and just few steps from River Cangrejal, La Villa de Soledad is the better place to stay if you go to La Ceiba.

Soledad and John made ​​me feel at home and they are always available to help with information about the area and what to do. The house is just beautiful, very comfortable rooms and corridors with hammocks invite you to stay longer. More than a hotel, for sure I will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you Freddy! Glad to hear you really enjoyed La Villa de Soledad and are planning to return soon! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We take pride o n our location, next to the Cangrejal River and between two national parks in Honduras. Besto of all, ony 5 miles from La Ceiba!
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We just had our general assembly meeting (Alianza Mesoamericana de Ecoturismo) on the Rio Cangrejal and divided our time between La Villa de Soledad and a friends nearby river house. While I've driven by La Villa de Soledad many times and have known John for several years, this was the first time I've spent several days there. John and Soledad are gracious hosts and make everyone feel relaxed and welcome. What impressed me the most was the more time I spent there, the attention to detail in all aspects is very impressive. Things as small as shower curtain hangers - custom brass with regional figures; high quality linens; beautiful regional art; etc. The views and location are world class - surrounded by two large protected areas with white water rafting and kayaking at your door step. John and Soledad have created a B&B that ranks with the world-class surroundings. Outstanding experience and one of the true gems of Mesoamerica!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you Mark! IT was an honor to have the AME at La Villa de Soledad for your general assembly! We take pride in making you feel at home when staying at La Villa de Soledad. In fact, it is OUR home and we want our guests to feel like they are truly welcome when staying with us. Each room is different, each one has its different touches, its original artwork by Honduran artists...
We also take pride in our internet connection. Its hard, and expensive to have high speed internet in the jungle setting where we are at, but we understand that the modern traveler demands the possibility of staying in touch with the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews