We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding comforts in the middle of rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa de Soledad B&B
Ranked #2 of 33 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
1 review
“Outstanding comforts in the middle of rainforest”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Absolutely one of my best hotel stays! It feels like i am a guest in my close friends' home. The owner, John, and the rest of his family members are so warm and accommodating. John aranged/coordinated with the tour agencies all our activities during our 3day/3night stay. Everything went well, from our river rafting, boating, snorkeling at Cayos Cochinos and up to our mineral hot spring bath. I wish i could have stayed at least a week so i can enjoy other activities like trekking and horse riding. Nevertheless, my vacation to Honduras was well worth spent. Awesome! Despite the tiring adeventures we had, i was able to relax with the very cozy and comfortable feel of our hotel room. I am so thankful i found this hotel, and not to mention the deliciously home-cooked meals prepared by John's wife, Soledad. They are perfect! When i go back to Honduras, i wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hello Neil!
Soledad and I are really happy you enjoyed yourself! We try to make out guests feel at home,so I am happy you felt like you where at your friends home. That is precisely the idea! Glad that you enjoyed both Cayos Cochinos and the Cangrejal River rafting, these are without doubt the most popular activities when around La Ceiba, however there is also great hiking in the rain forest, good kayaking in the mangrove canals along the coastal lagoons and horse back riding, so hopefully you will be back for some more adventure! Thanks for helping spread the word about La Villa de Soledad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
51
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I will try and rate my stay here as best as I can. John and Soledad were the perfect hosts picking us up from the airport and arranging all the trips we decided to do. Soledad is a great cook and we enjoyed the steak and chicken dinners along with some great company and some great stories. The rooms were better than most hotels and were prepared daily with fresh towels waiting on us when we returned from the days activities. As this was only a short stay (long weekend) we never got to do everything we planned so looks like I will just have to come back to finish off the tick boxes. Short and sweet. AMAZING!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi Ronnie!
Thank you for your comments! We are glad you are looking forward to coming back! Soledad loves to hear our guests rave about her food, and we both appreciate your taking time to share your experience with other potential travelers and guests. We are blessed with a unique surrounding with two national parks within site, plus the magnificent Cangrejal River offers the perfect setting for some adventure! What we do is to do our best to accommodate to what our guests need and provide some good old Honduran hospitality! Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The most beautiful place in Honduras and truly the best. The room is clean, the family is very approachable and they did their best to make us welcome. The ambience is out of this world. I would recommend this place to stay and the food was fantastic. From breakfast to dinner. To know that you can have at least two great meals in a day takes a lot of pressure off the holiday. John and Soledad, thank you for sharing with us your home and we will be back if not April, then soon. All I would like to add is keep doing what you are doing. FANTASTIC!!!!.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anderson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you Anderson!
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at home! I am really glad you enjoyed yourself and did the rafting trip. Soledad and I really enjoy having people stay with us and share the small piece of paradise that we call home. We would love to have you back soon and hope you fulfill the promise of coming back soon! There is much left for you to do in Honduras and now that you have discovered it you are sure to be back soon! Un abrazo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We visited La Villa de Soledad in December when we took a break from our holiday in Roatan to go rafting on the Rio Cangrejal. Following a short flight over to the mainland, we were greeted by John at the tiny airport in La Ceiba. A brief half hour drive from the airport to the villa transported us to paradise. It was an honor to stay as a guest of John, and Soledad (and little Nina too) in their magnificent home. We arrived at lunch time, and Soledad had a delicious lunch of chicken and rice prepared for us. We then took the afternoon to follow the sound of the rushing waters of the Rio Cangrejal located below the house. From there, we made the short walk down the road to the suspension bridge and crossed the river into Pico Bonito park for a hike to the waterfall.

Our room was beautiful and very spacious (room 3 is the corner room), but the hammocks along the outdoor living room were THE place to be! Following a peaceful night's rest with the sounds of the rain forest surrounding us, Soledad prepared us breakfast that was served in the outdoor dining room where we were fortunate to spot a Toucan! John then drove us down the road to Omega lodge where he had arranged a white water rafting trip for us. I truly appreciated John's knowledge of all there is wonderful about Honduras....including his recommendation to use Omega for our rafting trip (it was an amazing experience!!). We were dropped off on the road near the villa after rafting so that John could get us to the airport for an early flight back to Roatan. My only complaint is that I did not have enough time to enjoy the villa. I look forward to our next visit to La Villa de Soledad. We will stay for at least two nights next time!!

Room Tip: Room 3 is a large beautiful corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Diana:
Thank you for your comments! We really appreciate our guests taking the time to comment on their experience at La Villa de Soledad. We are honored by your plans of spending more time with us on your next visit! Glad you enjoyed your rafting trip with Omega Tours, they are really very professional and our guests love their tours. You must visit the hot springs at Sambo Creek and take a trip to Cayos Cochinos next time around! Looking forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendenhall, Ms
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We chose to stay here because we were traveling from Copan to Roatan and our bus schedule did not allow us to catch the ferry in time. The hotels in Las Ceiba didn't look great and staying in the hills outside of town seemed like a better option. This turned out to be a great decision. When our bus arrived the owner was there waiting on us. I had emailed him ahead of time and asked if they would mind preparing dinner for us. When we arrived they already had an amazing steak dinner prepared. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and after a long day of traveling sleep was great. The next morning we woke to the most amazing views of our trip. Breakfast was great and the grounds around the Villa are stunning. What really adds to the peaceful environment is the sound of the river that is down the hill. We went rafting on the river that morning and had blast. We used Omega which very close by to the Villa. After our rafting trip we had a few ours to come back and relax in the hammocks before we had to leave to catch the ferry. We were sad to leave. Neither words or pictures can describe/show how amazing this place is.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rankin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Good day John!
Soledad and myself are flattered by your comments. Our slogan is Relax in Nature, and we are pleased that you found our Bed and Breakfast peaceful! We chose our location because of the beauty surrounding it and have put our hearts into making our guests feel comfortable and as close to paradise as possible! It's a shame you could only spend a couple of nights with us, but thankful that you did squeeze a couple of days between Copan and the Bay Islands. Soledad and myself would love to see come by this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Thank you John, Soledad and your entire family for welcoming us into your beautiful home! A short walk from all jungle/rafting tour operators, the location was perfect. Villa de Soledad faces the Pico Bonito forest and you can hear the Rio Cangrejal rushing by below. John graciously picked us up from the ferry terminal and drove us to the resort. When you first walk into the large veranda, you are warmly welcomed by Nina (my favorite dog!) The rooms are located along a tiled courtyard (with a fountain). The rooms are impeccably decorated, very clean, have views of the grounds/jungle and en-suite bathrooms. Each meal is prepared by the vibrant Soledad and needless to say, the food was delicious and clearly made with love. We were so glad that we ended our time in Honduras here - we only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you Angie!
Soledad and myself really enjoyed having you as our guests! Glad that you liked her home cooking! Nina was sorry to see her new best friend leave so soon! You were lucky with the rafting, we had one heck of a storm a couple of days after you left and it was huge! It still is a bit to high to raft the same section you did! We appreciate your sharing your experience with us via tripadvisor and would love to see you back some time! Hope the weather did not interfere much with your trip back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Located along side the Rio Cangrejal John and Soledad have created a peaceful paradise in the midst of breathtaking natural beauty. Whether you want the full on adventure of hiking, rafting and ziplining or to curl up in a hammock and listen to a book soothed by the sound of a rushing river, this is the place for you.

John speaks impeccable English and is happy to help you plan your time out and fill in your knowledge gaps on the politics and history of the region. Soledad is a fantastic cook and gracious host. My three friends and I couldn't have picked a better place to spend our last few days in Honduras. Only sad we didn't have longer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchpancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi Scott! Hope you made it back home without to many delays to the weather conditions in the USA. Thank you for your comments. For Soledad and myself it was a real pleasure to have Mike, Jai, Angie and yourself at La Villa de Soledad. I hope that the transfer we arranged for you to get back to San Pedro Sula airport worked out fine. Good luck with your future wedding. Guests like you make it a pleasure to run this little B&B in the lush tropical mountains of Honduras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.5 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.8 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa de Soledad B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa de Soledad B&B

Property: La Villa de Soledad B&B
Address: Km.8 Carretera La Ceiba - Yaruca | Aldea El Naranjo, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Villa de Soledad B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding setting with breathtaking views of Pico Bonito National Park and Cangrejal River. Walking distance access to hiking trails, river rafting. Awesome birdwatching opportunities, unsurpassable Honduran hospitality provided on site by owners. Private rooms with terrace, lovely tropical gardens. Truly a setting that will generate pleasant memories you will cherish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Villa de Soledad B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing