We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wake Up at Mountain Paradise"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa de Soledad B&B
Ranked #2 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My friend and I visited La Villa de Soledad, and spend a great time here; it is located at a reasonable distance from downtown at the Mountain Paradise of Pico Bonito. The Breakfast was awesome, specially with the sounds of exotic birds, and a great view.

Comfortable rooms, an amazing B&B !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaxLainez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you Max!

It was nice having you and Gabriel stay at La Villa de Soledad. Early morning is indeed some of the nicest time at our B&B, especially during the summer months when the birds are up and singing early prior to sunrise! Hope that you can spend more time with us again in the future to do some of the activities that are available around us, such as hiking in the rain forest trails or rafting in the Cangrejal. Or course birdwatching is a fantastic activity to enjoy around the year. Happy you enjoyed our breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We first visited this magical spot in April 2012 when it had recently opened with two rooms. We returned Easter 2014 and I believe 5 rooms are now available. This place has lost none of its charm and beauty with John and Soledad as gracious and welcoming as ever. Overlooking the river and rain-forest, giddy with insect and bird life and spoiled by stunning hospitality and cooking at such a reasonable price. Lovely open house design and comfortable rooms and beds. You can choose to relax and read in strategically placed hammocks or just up or down the road is easy access to zip lining, white water rafting, horseback riding or tramping to the waterfall. We'll be back again! Best place to stay in La Ceiba!

Room Tip: Insect repellent is always a good idea anywhere in the rainforest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMorris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Roger and Sue:
There is no better expression of satisfaction than returning to a place you have visited before! IT was such a pleasure and honor to have Sue and you back after two years. It was especially nice for us, because it was like having a visit from old friends! Glad you enjoyed yourselves! We certainly enjoyed you two! Let us know when you are ready for a week long visit so that we can help you arrange a trip to Copan! Hope your return trip was uneventful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I initially planned to stay at La Villa de Soledad for 3 nights but were so happy with the accommodations, food, and friendliness of John and Soledad's family that we decided to stay again for another night on our return to La Ceiba. The rooms were beautiful and clean, the views were spectacular, and every meal was amazing. Soledad even made sure all my food was gluten-free. They helped us arrange a trip out to Cayos Cocinos and everyone was very knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. The villa is very close to the Rio Cangrejal and we enjoyed refreshing swims in the crystal clear water every afternoon. Our Spanish was very rudimentary but that was ok since Harry and John are fluent in English. We truly felt like part of the family.
We would surely stay here again if we're back in the area and would highly recommend La Villa de Soledad!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_SAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi Lisa!
Good to see you are back home! It was a real pleasure having you as guests at La Villa de Soledad. We were flaterred when you decided that you wanted to spend the last night in La Ceiba with us, after your trip to La Moskitia. By the way, we really enjoyed the fish you brought back with you! Fresh and delicious! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. We would love to have you back our way in some future adventure to Honduras!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My children and I stayed here last Month for five nightsfor the 1st leg of our trip; and wow, what a wonderful time! John and his family are very nice people. Their home is magical and serene. It its tucked away from "La Ceiba" which is great if you are looking to relax. They even have a great view of the El Bejuco Waterfall right on the front porch! And for the swimmer in you, private access to the Cangrejal River. I would be remised if I didn't mention their dog Nina, she was an added joy and purely lovable.
If you want to go into the town of LaCeiba you will need to hire transportation.

All the other reviews have told the story of this great place. Food was excellent and filling. Soledad made burritos for us one night they were so supreme! We ate here for all are meals which range from about $13-16 US.

Don't miss the rafting at Omega Tours, awesome experience. Rock Climbing (gigantic boulders) and rafting was so adrenaline pumping. All in all a great retreat. My kids were sad to leave I would definitely return to La Villa de Soledad.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We were really sad to see you leave, especially Nina, our dog that really misses your kids! Really glad you enjoyed the rafting! Let us know how your bus trip to Playa Paraiso in Omoa went! It is always good to have up to date information! Best regards and enjoy springtime in Michigan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent a week with my wife and daughter. John and Soledad were wonderful. The accomadations and meals were fantastic and the natural beauty of the scenary was amazing! The local hikes ,the day trips ,zip lining, rafting,the beach ,are all easily accesable. Dont forget the toucans

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopeanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Tony and Hopenaya!

Glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise on the Cangrejal River. It was a pleasure having you and River as our guests for several days. We are blessed with many fantastic activities close by and are happy to hear your family enjoyed several. Hope to have you back some time in the not so far future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

La Villa de Soledad is an incredible place! It's a family owned hotel, John and Soledad are perfect hosts! The food is exceptional and the rooms are beautifully done. The landscape and views are a perfect setting to relax and enjoy. This truly is a must place to visit and fun for all. Next to the Cangrejal River and Pico Bonito National Park there are plenty of activities, from the very adventurous river rafting, kayaking, hiking, zip-lining, swimming to the person who just wants to relax in the hammocks reading a book and watching nature. With John making sure all of your needs and comforts are taken care of and Soledad heading up the kitchen to prepare a 5 star meal, you will not want to leave. When you do…. you will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hi Rick!

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Its a shame you did not have more time to do more activities and have some time to relax and enjoy. Hope you can have a chance to come back some time in the future. We really enjoyed having your family as guests at La Villa de Soledad. Glad you had time to do white water rafting and the zip line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you are considering staying near Pico Bonito National Park, and want a peaceful, relaxing time, stay with John and Soledad at La Villa de Soledad. You will not regret your decision. My family of four stayed with them for 4 nights in February. Their facilities are beautiful and serene. The views of the surrounding mountains and waterfall from their beautiful gardens are amazing. Soledad's is an excellent cook who made us breakfasts and dinners that really tasted like home cooking. John picked us up at the bus station, offered excellent tour advice and drove us to the ferry when it was time to go. Everyone was very sweet with my young children, showing them the rooster and chicks and frogs and generally making all of us feel welcome. I highly recommend their establishment.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chrissy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Good morning Chrissy!
Glad you made it back home! Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you and your lovely family stay with us! Glad your kids enjoyed their stay and food with us! We try hard to make our guests feel at home and enjoy their stay and our surroundings! I must agree Soledad cooks a good meal! Hope it was not to cold back home! Here springs seems to be in the air, we are getting less and less rain and more and more sun! Even the birds are noisier in the mornings! Thanks for spreading the word about Honduras and your experience with others on Tripadvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
5.8 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
11.5 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
10.6 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa de Soledad B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa de Soledad B&B

Address: Km.8 Carretera La Ceiba - Yaruca | Aldea El Naranjo, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range: £52 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Villa de Soledad B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding setting with breathtaking views of Pico Bonito National Park and Cangrejal River. Walking distance access to hiking trails, river rafting. Awesome birdwatching opportunities, unsurpassable Honduran hospitality provided on site by owners. Private rooms with terrace, lovely tropical gardens. Truly a setting that will generate pleasant memories you will cherish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your La Villa de Soledad B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing