We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa de Soledad B&B
Ranked #2 of 33 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

La Villa de Soledad is an amazing place. My family of five spent 6 nights in La Ceiba at La Villa de Soledad in mid July, and we felt totally taken care of. John and Soledad are great hosts, from Soledad's great cooking, John's amazing connections and knowledge of La Ceiba and Honduras travel, to the friendliness of the staff. La Ceiba and its environs is a great destination with many different things to do, including white water rafting, swimming and rock jumping in the WARM Cangrejal River, hiking at the Pico Bonito park, or trips to Cacao Lagoon or Cuero y Salado parks, where we saw lots of howler monkeys. John was able to arrange a fantastic guide, Mino, who took us on the hike to Pico Bonito and pointed out all kinds of birds and wildlife. One great short hike that John recommended was on a private property about 1 mile north of La Villa de Soledad at "el turco's place," where they have a great fig tree to climb and we saw white faced monkeys. When we wanted to go to Cayos Cochinos, John put me in contact with the owner of Honduras Tourist Options, with whom I was able to arrange a private tour for our family. We ate almost every meal at the hotel. Soledad is a great cook - everything is homemade and delicious, and the juices are unbelievable. I can't review La Villa de Soledad without mentioning Nina, their adorable dog who my kids loved and followed us down to the river to swim with us! On the hotel property, there is even a tree with a toucan's nest in it. We can't wait to go back to La Ceiba and stay again at La Villa de Soledad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Carlos and Mona:
Thank you for your kind words about La Villa de Soledad! It was a real pleasure having you and your family stay with us! The fact that after three days in Roatan, three days in La Ceiba and three days in Guanaja you decided to come back to La Villa de Soledad to spend the last 3 nights of your vacation is a great honor to us! We like to think of out B&B as very family oriented, and love to have families staying with us! ITs a great opportunity for our kids to meet kids from around the world and share their lifestyle with them. I must confess that Nina, our dog felt quite lonely after you left! Soledad loves it when her guests rave about her food, so thank you very much for doing so! Hope to have you back in our neck of the woods some time in the future. Oh, and I truly hope that in 4 years Argentina makes it to the finals again and wins the World Cup! Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
51
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came here for a couple days and this was easily the nicest place we stayed in Honduras. The rooms are beautiful, well laid out, and surprisingly cool even without air conditioning. Who knew high ceilings and fans could do so much? John and his wife were wonderful hosts, very helpful and full of good advice. We ate dinner there every night, which was an additional $15 each, but I think those meals may have been some of the best cooked meals we had in Honduras. In addition, the hammocks were perfectly hung, the landscaping was impeccable (trust me, once you realize how fast everything grows in the jungle, this will seem amazing), and wild toucans nest in the tree behind the villa. The river was a short walk down the hill, and though we never did more than put our feet in, it was very inviting. I want to go back to Honduras just so I can go stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasaine1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Glad you enjoyed your stay and our location, but Soledad is mostly flaterred by your comments about her food! We would love to have you back our way in the future! Let us know! Nothing like having repeat business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My friend and I visited La Villa de Soledad, and spend a great time here; it is located at a reasonable distance from downtown at the Mountain Paradise of Pico Bonito. The Breakfast was awesome, specially with the sounds of exotic birds, and a great view.

Comfortable rooms, an amazing B&B !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaxLainez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you Max!

It was nice having you and Gabriel stay at La Villa de Soledad. Early morning is indeed some of the nicest time at our B&B, especially during the summer months when the birds are up and singing early prior to sunrise! Hope that you can spend more time with us again in the future to do some of the activities that are available around us, such as hiking in the rain forest trails or rafting in the Cangrejal. Or course birdwatching is a fantastic activity to enjoy around the year. Happy you enjoyed our breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We first visited this magical spot in April 2012 when it had recently opened with two rooms. We returned Easter 2014 and I believe 5 rooms are now available. This place has lost none of its charm and beauty with John and Soledad as gracious and welcoming as ever. Overlooking the river and rain-forest, giddy with insect and bird life and spoiled by stunning hospitality and cooking at such a reasonable price. Lovely open house design and comfortable rooms and beds. You can choose to relax and read in strategically placed hammocks or just up or down the road is easy access to zip lining, white water rafting, horseback riding or tramping to the waterfall. We'll be back again! Best place to stay in La Ceiba!

Room Tip: Insect repellent is always a good idea anywhere in the rainforest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMorris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Roger and Sue:
There is no better expression of satisfaction than returning to a place you have visited before! IT was such a pleasure and honor to have Sue and you back after two years. It was especially nice for us, because it was like having a visit from old friends! Glad you enjoyed yourselves! We certainly enjoyed you two! Let us know when you are ready for a week long visit so that we can help you arrange a trip to Copan! Hope your return trip was uneventful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I initially planned to stay at La Villa de Soledad for 3 nights but were so happy with the accommodations, food, and friendliness of John and Soledad's family that we decided to stay again for another night on our return to La Ceiba. The rooms were beautiful and clean, the views were spectacular, and every meal was amazing. Soledad even made sure all my food was gluten-free. They helped us arrange a trip out to Cayos Cocinos and everyone was very knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. The villa is very close to the Rio Cangrejal and we enjoyed refreshing swims in the crystal clear water every afternoon. Our Spanish was very rudimentary but that was ok since Harry and John are fluent in English. We truly felt like part of the family.
We would surely stay here again if we're back in the area and would highly recommend La Villa de Soledad!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_SAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi Lisa!
Good to see you are back home! It was a real pleasure having you as guests at La Villa de Soledad. We were flaterred when you decided that you wanted to spend the last night in La Ceiba with us, after your trip to La Moskitia. By the way, we really enjoyed the fish you brought back with you! Fresh and delicious! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. We would love to have you back our way in some future adventure to Honduras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My children and I stayed here last Month for five nightsfor the 1st leg of our trip; and wow, what a wonderful time! John and his family are very nice people. Their home is magical and serene. It its tucked away from "La Ceiba" which is great if you are looking to relax. They even have a great view of the El Bejuco Waterfall right on the front porch! And for the swimmer in you, private access to the Cangrejal River. I would be remised if I didn't mention their dog Nina, she was an added joy and purely lovable.
If you want to go into the town of LaCeiba you will need to hire transportation.

All the other reviews have told the story of this great place. Food was excellent and filling. Soledad made burritos for us one night they were so supreme! We ate here for all are meals which range from about $13-16 US.

Don't miss the rafting at Omega Tours, awesome experience. Rock Climbing (gigantic boulders) and rafting was so adrenaline pumping. All in all a great retreat. My kids were sad to leave I would definitely return to La Villa de Soledad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We were really sad to see you leave, especially Nina, our dog that really misses your kids! Really glad you enjoyed the rafting! Let us know how your bus trip to Playa Paraiso in Omoa went! It is always good to have up to date information! Best regards and enjoy springtime in Michigan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent a week with my wife and daughter. John and Soledad were wonderful. The accomadations and meals were fantastic and the natural beauty of the scenary was amazing! The local hikes ,the day trips ,zip lining, rafting,the beach ,are all easily accesable. Dont forget the toucans

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Tony and Hopenaya!

Glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise on the Cangrejal River. It was a pleasure having you and River as our guests for several days. We are blessed with many fantastic activities close by and are happy to hear your family enjoyed several. Hope to have you back some time in the not so far future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.5 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.8 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa de Soledad B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa de Soledad B&B

Property: La Villa de Soledad B&B
Address: Km.8 Carretera La Ceiba - Yaruca | Aldea El Naranjo, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Villa de Soledad B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding setting with breathtaking views of Pico Bonito National Park and Cangrejal River. Walking distance access to hiking trails, river rafting. Awesome birdwatching opportunities, unsurpassable Honduran hospitality provided on site by owners. Private rooms with terrace, lovely tropical gardens. Truly a setting that will generate pleasant memories you will cherish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Villa de Soledad B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing