We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real life garden of eden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Cascadas Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Cascadas Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a real life garden of eden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

las cascadas is too beautiful, too relaxing, too much paradise to be true. the surrounding waterfalls w pools to swim in that drown out all other non-organic noise lulling one to sleep, the tropical flowers dripping over every surface of one's room, the simple and delicious meals served on the guest's schedule, and the kindness and attention of every staff member at las cascadas is almost too much. we are a "bare bones" (read: cheap) kind of travel couple and decided to live it up at las cascadas for a few nights. i didn't want to leave. i would have stayed if we could. and stayed and stayed and stayed. we did a lot of nothing (hiking to the 60 foot waterfall nearby, climbing the 13 minutes another waterfall on the lodge property, climbing the 30 seconds to another waterfall on the property, laying in hammocks and reading, eating, eating, and eating, drinking yummy drinks, watching for birds, and enjoying the crashing of the waterfall right outside our room) and it was the best vacation ever. the hot water and yummy shower were amazing, the firm bed was perfect, the fresh juices and warm coconut dinner rolls were delightful and every other detail was just right on. i will splurge to go to las cascadas at any possible chance i get. thank you ryan, maggie, olvin, and all of the other wonderful staff. we really appreciate your role in helping us relax! and we appreciate your locally sourcing as much as you can at the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
79
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Wonderful property and great service from Ryan and Maggie. Only 2 rooms in main building and 1 bungalow so even "full" it will be quiet and we had it all to ourselves during our stay. Certainly one of the nicest places we've stayed. Aptly named the falls are the high light - the hike to upper falls a real delight. We also did the river trip (raft & kayak) and it was wonderful - clear green water dropping between granite boulders. The guides are excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Las Cascadas for 3 nights in mid-January to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary. I wish we could have stayed longer!

We arrived in La Ceiba on the morning ferry from Roatan. By the time we claimed our luggage (which in and of itself was an experience!), Ryan, the on-site manager, was there to greet us with a smile. Immediately upon introductions, Ryan pointed out Pico Bonito (the highest point in Honduras) and explained that we were lucky to have such a perfect view, as it is usually shrouded in clouds! We climbed into the Lodge’s van and headed up the mountain.

Along the (very bumpy) way and throughout our stay, Ryan filled us in on La Ceiba and Honduras. He is a wealth of information about the area and has some fabulous stories from his time as a river guide!

The hotel is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, much less stayed. Surrounded by trees, flowers, birds and waterfalls, it was a perfect place to unwind. On the hotel’s property are three waterfalls, Lower, Middle and Upper Falls. Lower and Middle Falls are right behind the main lodge and are visible from all of the rooms. To get to Upper Falls, there is a well-maintained, but steep, path (about a 20-30 minute hike). Though the hotel has a beautiful pool, we preferred to swim in the waterfalls, particularly Upper Falls!

The Bejuco Cabin is breathtaking, decorated with flowers upon arrival. The cabin has an open-air shower, as well as a screened in sitting area overlooking Lower and Middle Falls. It was amazing to curl up in the cozy, white robes, sip cocktails and

We were the only guests during our stay, and were treated like royalty. Olvin is a fabulous chef (definitely try his homemade hot sauce and Hondurean breakfast!) and Maggie makes wonderful drinks with fresh-squeezed, tropical juices. Each night, they arranged a beautiful, candlelit dinner for us in the main lodge overlooking the waterfall. At points, our stay here felt unreal!

We kept busy during the days whitewater rafting (see separate review) and zip-lining (see separate review), all easily arranged through the Lodge and put on your tab. Just remember to bring money to tip the guides (buying them a beer works too!). Both activities are within a 10 minute drive of the Lodge.

We also took Chef Olvin up on his offer to hike/climb up to the base of Bejuco Falls (a gorgeous 60m waterfall directly across the river from the Lodge). Again, we were lucky to be able to do the full waterfall hike, as the river level was “low” and able to be crossed. Be prepared, however, that even when “low,” crossing the river is no easy feat. It is a fast-moving river (in fact, it was the river we rafted down the day before) and at the time we crossed, up to my chest! Definitely bring Chacos or other sturdy hiking sandal and take Olvin up on his offer to hold your camera in case you “go swimming”!

All in all, we had a fabulous stay at Las Cascadas and will be returning again as soon as our boys are old enough to raft and zip-line!!

Note: There is wi-fi available at the Lodge but no cell service. However, Ryan was generous enough to allow us to use the Lodge's Skype account nightly to call home to our kids.

Room Tip: The Bejuco cabin is the only room that is not connected to the main lodge. For more privacy (and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveBabyWillTravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

From the pick up at the airport to the drop off there(included in stay ) this lodge is tops!! The 3 suites, the grounds and staff are first rate. This is the place for a romantic get away. No kids. Ryan perfectly attends to all your needs whether taking you up to the waterfall on the grounds, driving up through the villages or arranging for hikes,rafting on the white water or horseback riding. The 3 meals are prepared for you and are wonderful. Good bar drinks end the evening Early to bed here because nothing but rest etc in your room after 9

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingbonedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I've stayed all over Latin America and the Caribbean, and normally don't write reviews, but I had to make an exception in this case. Las Cascadas may just be the most remarkable place I've ever been to. It was literally like living in a fantasy world for several days.

The property is set in a lush jungle, and sits right next to a beautiful waterfall. Just a few steps away is another set of falls which empty into a large pool that's ideal for swimming. If that's not enough, there's an even larger cascade about a half hour walk further upstream, also complete with it's own swimming hole.

Ryan, the on-site manager, was an absolute joy to deal with while making travel arrangements...responsive, full of practical information, and he took care of all our transportation needs in getting from the airport to the lodge. Once we arrived, that top notch level of customer service never stopped. He and Maggie made sure all of our needs were met, and more often than not, anticipated them every step of the way. They were also great at answering any and all questions about the surrounding area.

At lodges like this, where the meals are included in the price, there tends to be a "fixed" menu every night. But not here. Olvin, the on site personnel chef, not only gave you several options with every meal, but would also cook your food to order. Olvin also doubled as our tour guide for the long day hike the lodge offers...about 5 hours round trip to an incredible 180 foot waterfall, as well as another great swimming hole. It was a bit of workout, but great, great fun. Olvin made sure we stayed out of trouble, provided loads of information about the local flora and fauna, and even knew the best spots for taking pictures.

One of the things that make this place so special is that the staff (Olvin and Ryan among others) seem genuinely interested in making sure you have a good time. You can laze around by the waterfalls, swim, relax, or go on more adventurous options. We chose white water rafting in addition to the day hike, and it too was just exceptional. The scenery alone made it so worthwhile. Ditto for the trip up the valley to visit some local villages. Did I mention there's a place offering Thai Massages right by the side of the river right near the lodge too?

I could go on, and you might think I'm exaggerating. But I'm not. This place is that good, and more than deserving of all the 5 star reviews it got before we visited. With a limited number of rooms, the atmosphere of seclusion and privacy in a protected setting is unmatched. If your idea of a vacation is sitting at a big fancy resort and getting drunk by the pool, this may not be the place for you. But otherwise, a stay here is a no-brainer.

Room Tip: A lot of the other reviewers talk up the private cabin on site. It's definitely nice, but the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lascascadaslodge, General Manager at Las Cascadas Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you very much for the review Chuck! I am very happy that you enjoyed your time here and were able to check out the river and trail with still plenty of opportunity to relax and enjoy Chef Olvin's great cooking! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and to have you here with us at the lodge. I hope you get the chance tocome back too! There is so much variety in things to do and see and of course the waterfalls and special pools will be here waiting! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

My wife and I were looking for a private getaway in the jungle, and thats exactly what we got. An immaculate, remote jungle bungalow as picturesque as you'd dream about. Walking into the Bejuco cabin took our breath away. This is by far the best room in the house! It's a private building off the main house which has a beautiful stone tub and outdoor shower. There were fresh flowers all over the bed, and tub making it a perfect romantic getaway. I gave the sleep quality a very good instead of excellent simply because of the moisture of the jungle- the linens were a little moist. Nothing that can be controlled -its nature.
There are waterfalls in every view from the room to the main house. Walk up a few steps to a watering hole to swim and sunbathe. The pool area is very nice too. The Lodge only has about 4 rooms, so it's very quiet and peaceful. There's never a crowd to contend with. If you're up for a longer hike, you can take a nature hike up to the upper falls which is thrilling and beautiful. There are tables there if you want a picnic.
Ryan and Maggie are the perfect hosts - accommodating to your every desire weather its relaxing, or up for adventure. We were concerned being a same sex couple - if we'd be safe, or welcome. They didn't even bat an eyelash. Ryan is the master of ceremonies, Maggie pours a delicious cocktail, and Olvins cooking is amazing. We took several of his recipes home with us. The tables were always decorated beautifully with flowers and candlelight. So many details - none left uncovered.
Ryan picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry. The party we were meeting had not arrived yet, and Ryan would not leave until we met. He made phone calls to help ensure we were safe with our party. He also was able to call a shop owner to open up the closed store in order for us to shop at that time. Truly - above and beyond.
The cost of the room would indicate that meals would be additional - yet you are served breakfast, lunch, and dinner- each day with your desired food preference and desired time to dine.
If you're on the fence about this place- don't be.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website are not staged. If the Bejuco Cabin is available- take it. Its only a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLock23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Absolutely stunning scenery!!! We stayed in the Bali room which was just beautiful. Separate from the main lodge, surrounded by the jungle and a view of the waterfall - sooooo peaceful. Ryan and Maggie were very attentive and made sure we had the most amazing experience while staying with them. Olvin is the private chef. The food he prepared, breakfast, lunch and dinner, was delish! He also look us on a 4.5 hour hike up to the main waterfall...pretty extreme hiking but worth it!!! Miss this place already and would reccommend this to anyone whose looking for some relaxation with a bit of adventure. Amazing experience and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandGirl127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.6 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
4.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cascadas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cascadas Lodge

Property: Las Cascadas Lodge
Address: Km. 6, Carretera de La Ceiba a Yaruca, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cascadas Lodge/Hotel at Pico Bonito is the only private lodge in the area and specializes in couples seeking romance and relaxation as well as friends visiting in Honduras/the Bay Islands and small groups. All of your meals, snacks, and desserts are included in the nightly rate. We have a private chef who specializes in great steaks, local seafood, curries, pastas, and Honduran cuisine! The food is fantastic and we use the freshest ingredients available and cater to our guests specific desires and to any of their dietary restrictions. Guests are set up below waterfalls and by candle light to wine and dine! The sound of falling water is always in the background and each suite/cabin has its own private veranda facing the lower waterfall! Las Cascadas Lodge has just a few rooms and therefore excellent individualized service. We plan activities for guests if desired like rafting, horseback riding, hiking, scenic tours, canopy/zipline tours and more. Our attention is focused on all of details of your stay The lodge is famous for the natural swimming pools below the 5 falls and having all amenities and comforts in an extremely exotic and beautiful place! If you are looking for a blend of adventure and relaxation or just some time in an incredible spot to unwind and be catered to the lodge is just the ticket!We would love to host your stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Cascadas Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing